We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, safe and friendly! Kept returning!”
Review of Warere Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warere Town House
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Amazing service, safe and friendly! Kept returning!”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Very good service. Staff happy to help with absolutely anything.felt very safe and very comfortable nicely decorated rooms. A definite stay if looking for a nice affordable place in stone town. Easy walk to restaurants and shops. Staff can organise trips at good prices. Well spoken English. We stayed there, travelled to the beaches and returned to warere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francescalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Hi Francescalong, thank you for your lovely review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Karibu Tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    147
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
159
72
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed at Warere for 4 days and it really was excellent. The rooms are really good; very spacious, clean and comfy beds (the photos don't do it justice!),It's in a great location too and the breakfast is a nice bonus. The staff however were definitely the highlight;always cheerful and incredibly helpful. A big Thanks to Charlo who was a massive help when my friend was ill!
Amazing value for money!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Hi Linsey, thanks for the lovely review! I'm glad we could help when your friend was ill. Karibu Tena Warere!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Slightly out of the old town but only a 5 minute walk from the main attractions, Warere offers excellent value for money and some of the best reception staff I have ever encountered. We had all of our tours booked for us with plenty of local knowledge and our shuttle to Kendwa organised without a hitch.
Breakfast each morning was great, the room was cleaned daily and staff could not do enough for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muggles79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Hi Muggles79, thanks for your lovely review! I'm glad your transport worked out well, and I'm sure Charlo will be thrilled to be called the "best reception staff ever"! Karibu Tena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

warere is mid range option like some other places in town, but offers much more. staff is friendly, rooms are clean, beds are great and comfy. good custom made mosquito nets matching the curtains. generally, it is quite usual type of accommodation but with very good price. few weeks back i stayed in Zenji and, as proved later Zenji was totally overpaid with 65usd for single room with bathroom, while Warere is only 30usd which is reasonable price. there is free wi-fi as well. location is same like Zenji and some other GH around, good, few minutes walk from the park and close to ferry terminal.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljubica1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Thank you ljubica1975 for taking the time to write a review about the Warere! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in offering high quality accommodation at a reasonable price, as your review emphasises And we now have free wifi in every room! Karibu Tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

stayed here for just 2 nights - rooms are spacious and clean, but as other reviewers have pointed out the staff (Charlo,Shauna) were the highlight: extremely helpful and friendly - they even continued to help us even after we checked out and went to another hotel on the coast.

The other hotel was going to charge us USD$90 for a taxi to return to stone town (a total rip-off) - I called Warere and they promptly sent a taxi to pick us up for just $40.
On top of that Charlo kindly offered us a free place to shower and change upon our return to stone town before going to Dar.

Thanks for a great time and excellent service.

Maal

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Hi Maal,

Thanks for taking the time to review Warere! Glad Mohamed managed to sort you out with transport from Nungwi! Karibuni tena next time you are in Stone Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed a night here and was really impressed by the great, helpful staff (especially Shauna the owner, Chichi and Charlo), clean rooms and excellent service. The place is central to Stone Town, there's a great breakfast on a terrace overlooking the city, and the price can't be beat!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Hi John C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Warere! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay! I'll pass it on to Chi Chi and Charlo.

Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed here for just the one night, after having to stay in Dar the previous night.
Staff was accommodating and the room was fairly spacious with some character and not dull like other budget hotels around.
Spice market is only a 10min walk away and the hotel is right near the port, so no need for taxi!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We do try to give a unique character to each of our rooms. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#17 of 34 in Stone Town
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 34 in Stone Town
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 34 in Stone Town
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
0.7 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 34 in Stone Town
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Property: Warere Town House
Address: Mizingani Rd, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 00100, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone Town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over 30 years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself on making your stay on our spice island memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing