We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel with helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warere Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warere Town House
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Hotel with helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

When we arrived we first got a wet towel and a nice juice. After showing us the room we got a map of Stone Town and some useful tips. Breakfast variates every day with 3 different kind of fruit. Hotel is near the port and also the city. We really enjoyed our stay at Warere! We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisaP0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Elisap0504, asante sana for your lovely review, it made our day! See you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    145
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
158
71
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surfers paradise gold coast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This very clean B & B was very quaint and ideally located to the port from which we had arrived from on the ferry. We were offered a "walking" pick up - yes a staff member arrived to walk us back to the guest house amongst the mayhem of the arriving ferry. Thank goodness.
From the guesthouse we had lovely views from the top floor across the bay out to Prison Island. Don't be fooled - none of the rooms have views other than beautiful flora and calling birds.
The breakfasts were minimal but sufficient when on the run to get out and tour the island. It was a safe walk into town but be mindful and careful in doing so.
The staff here could not have been more courteous or helpful - I had missing luggage which they assisted in locating, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leomac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear leomac52, thank you for reviewing the Warere. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the walking pickup.

I am sorry you didn't find the breakfast more than sufficient, we offer a buffet with three types of traditional Zanzibari bread, freshly squeezed juice, fresh fruits, eggs of your choice and tea or coffee. We also offer fresh homemade jams.

We look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Yes, Warere offers lovely rooms, a well appointed guesthouse with lots of atmosphere. It is much finer than the neighboring budget hotels. Yes it is convenient to the ferry however it is in a grubby part of town and if you like to partake in any activities in the city centre it is a sketchy walk back - especially alone. I moved the second day and felt much more comfortable.
For couples or groups, however, you will love it here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Maria-Enrique,

Thank you for reviewing the Warere! We are glad you liked our rooms and the ambiance of the Warere. I am sorry you did not like the location. About 35% of our guests are solo travellers, and many of these enjoy being away from the more chaotic and touristy streets of the center. I also wanted to point out that a taxi from Forodhani to the Warere is only TZS3,000 and there are plenty of them! I am glad you found a hotel that better suited your needs and enjoyed the rest of your stay in Stone Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The B&B is located very close to the Zanzibar port - where the ferry from Tanzania mainland and Pemba Island and all sorts of other cargo ships dock. It is about 10 min walk to the central area of Stone Town (e.g., Forodhani Gardens area). I find it safe to walk back and forth during the mornings and early evenings, as a solo female.
Staff is good and can do airport pickup/dropoff anytime. Breakfast is taken at the topmost floor of the building, so one can see the seaview from there. Guest house is typical Zanzibar style and architecture: 4-5 stories with many stairs and no elevators - so you probably dont want to pack too much into your suitcase.
Wifi can be spotty sometimes, but as I was out most of the time, this does not really bother me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Hi Mishyq, thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our location. Apologies for the spotty wifi we are working on improving the connection.

Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Shauna and the staff at Warere are super helpful. They arranged us to pickup from the airport really early in the morning. Welcome drinks were refreshing. And, the breakfast was delicious and the view from the rooftop is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nepali_Kancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Hi Nepali_Kancha, thank you for writing a lovely review of the Warere! We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel is very good as a B&B. View from the top (eating area) is very nice. Hotel is just a walking distance from the port so we should not have hired a cab to go there, however, u should ask someone where to go in as the building is off main road, u can't see from the main road. Room was ok, but no TV or wifi. The breakfast was OK but no lunch / no dinner. Tidiness was good and the hotel has a local feeling as it is old but kept in a good shape. At the entrance those flowers and trees are beautiful, staff was nice. Would have gone back this time again but they were full. I spent there 5 days with my g/f in April 2013. Only annoying thing was the horn from the docks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haranghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Haranghy,

Thank you for reviewing the Warere. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and sorry we couldn't accommodate you at the end of your journey.

For future guests: we offer a free walking pickup from the ferry port so guests do not get lost or hassled on arrival. Please text, call or email us with your boat arrival time to arrange this.

None of our rooms have TVs, but we do offer wifi in the reception and terrace areas. The wifi signal also works in some of the rooms.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

we stayed in this hotel (I think it was only b&b) for two nights . our room was in second floor but there didn't have an elevator. room was small but really clean . as we arrived the air conditioner didn't work good ,that they fixed that in some hours . the breakfast was good and fresh but a little choices and same both days .not TV in room and wifi was slow in room .actually every thing was moderate but according to the money we paid (55$/day) it was a good choice for budget travel to a clean place in zanzibar

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pesare-parsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Pesare_Parsi, Thank you for reviewing the Warere, we really appreciate it. We are glad you found our rooms clean and that we offer good value for money. Next time please book ahead so you can have one of our larger balcony rooms! Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
28.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Property: Warere Town House
Address: Mizingani Rd, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 00100, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone Town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over 30 years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself on making your stay on our spice island memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing