We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place and service”
Review of Warere Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warere Town House
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We are a family of 6 persons, who stayed at Warere 3 nights from 31st. December 2013. We can highly recommend the place, with nice rooms, a good location and excellent service from the staff, and affordable prices.

Niels Andersen and family

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Hi Niels,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing us. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Karibuni tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Warere was such a great place to stay. We arrived at the ferry terminal and there was someone there to meet us and walk us back to the town house. We got there and were given cool towels and a lemon and ginger drink to refresh us (which we needed given how hot it is in Zanzibar!!). The rooms all have air conditioning, and so does the reception area, and boy is it nice to come home after walking around all day to a lovely cool room. The rooms are also ridiculously big and spacious, with a safe for valuables, a mini fridge and a balcony!! The beds are enormous and incredibly comfortable and the bathroom is equally fantastic. Needless to say I loved staying at Warere!!

The staff are fabulous - friendly, helpful, always around, and very knowledgeable about the best places to eat/visit in town and how to get there. We booked a trip to prison island through Warere and we got picked up and dropped off right at the front door. The location is really good, a short walk from everything you want to see or do. And the town house has a roof top area on the fourth floor where you can relax and have some drinks or use the wifi, and its a really chilled out area.

Getting our clothes washed through the town house was pretty expensive, but Warere was so awesome and we were so happy to be staying there that it didn't even bother us!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sturner92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Hi Sturner92, your review put a smile on our face for the whole day! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I almost don't want to write a good review of this place because I don't want it to get too busy but Warere Town House is a lovely place to stay. Close to the port (convenient if you arrive by ferry), it is walking distance to the main attractions of Stone Town. Clean, comfortable and well maintained, I was really very happy to stay here. The staff were welcoming, hospitable and provided welcome guidance upon arrival. I would love to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParksideMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Hi Parksidemac! Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate it! Welcome again any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Warere was helpful from the beginning, arranging pick up from the airport in the middle of the night and telling me about a cheaper room than I had reserved, which turned our to be great and also save me some money. Very good breakfast, beautiful interior, helpful and friendly staff that didn't turn down anything, plus the comfort of wifi and a small library with books. I would choose this over any 5 star hotel in Stone town.

Jenny

Room Tip: The 25 dollars a night room was small but really great with their own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Hi Jenny,

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I just wanted to point out that the $25 room is a single room, which is only bookable through our website, it is not available through any of our online partners.

We look forward to having you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Really lovely hotel with lovely staff and excellent value for money. Stayed for 4 nights in 2 different rooms, both clean and attractive. Although close to the port, it is set back from the main road and is peaceful. There is a place used by the locals nearby which offers a good biryani for a cheap price and it is only a short walk into town. I would definitely recommend Warere to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Hi Christy71, thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and discovered Passing Show, a real Zanzibar institution. Karibu Tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

When we arrived we first got a wet towel and a nice juice. After showing us the room we got a map of Stone Town and some useful tips. Breakfast variates every day with 3 different kind of fruit. Hotel is near the port and also the city. We really enjoyed our stay at Warere! We would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElisaP0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Hi Elisap0504, asante sana for your lovely review, it made our day! See you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This very clean B & B was very quaint and ideally located to the port from which we had arrived from on the ferry. We were offered a "walking" pick up - yes a staff member arrived to walk us back to the guest house amongst the mayhem of the arriving ferry. Thank goodness.
From the guesthouse we had lovely views from the top floor across the bay out to Prison Island. Don't be fooled - none of the rooms have views other than beautiful flora and calling birds.
The breakfasts were minimal but sufficient when on the run to get out and tour the island. It was a safe walk into town but be mindful and careful in doing so.
The staff here could not have been more courteous or helpful - I had missing luggage which they assisted in locating, thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leomac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear leomac52, thank you for reviewing the Warere. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the walking pickup.

I am sorry you didn't find the breakfast more than sufficient, we offer a buffet with three types of traditional Zanzibari bread, freshly squeezed juice, fresh fruits, eggs of your choice and tea or coffee. We also offer fresh homemade jams.

We look forward to having you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.5 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Address: Mizingani Rd, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 00100, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £36 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone Town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over 30 years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself on making your stay on our spice island memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing