We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-round amazing!”
Review of Warere Town House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warere Town House
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Warere Town House was amazing! Warere was our first experience after being in Arusha and it was excellent! Staff were so easy to get along with and organised everything for us! When we first arrived off the ferry someone from Warere came to meet us and walked us to Warere while carrying our bags! It is close to the ferry which is an excellent feature! The staff organised a Stonetown tour, Prison Island tour and Spice tour which were all amazing and very reasonable prices! A special mention to the Stonetown tour guide who was great!! The staff easily accommodated us when we changed our booking from 2 to 3 people at the last minute and gave us an excellent room. Rooms were clean and well maintained, the pictures on here do not do it justice! Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Breanna092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi breanna092,

Wow, thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Warere Town House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Warere Town House is located right near the port/ferry terminal, a 5-10 minute walk from the markets and bars and the middle of Stone Town. It's a little hard to find initially as it's tucked away behind some buildings but because it's off the main road, it's very quiet and peaceful.

Accommodation was cheap, new air con, friendly staff, rooftop bar, breakfast, wi fi - couldn't ask for much more.

Pick up/drop off from the airport is available for $10 and tours can be organised directly with the staff.

I would definitely recommend trying this place out!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narice77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Narice77

Thank you for reviewing the Warere. We especially appreciate your description of our location, which is indeed peaceful and quite in a tucked away garden away from the hustle and bustle of Stone Town.

Karibuni tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Warere Town house is located near the ferry terminal in Stone Town, and is in a slightly quiet part of the city, but still only a 5-10 minute walk from all the main attractions. It has great character, all the rooms are slightly unique and it is a good place to stay to experience the spirit of Zanzibar - friendly and helpful service with some uniqueness. The room was clean, beds were comfortable and we had a little balcony which we used to dry our clothes. The upstairs "restaurant/bar" where breakfast is held also serves as a nice place to relax in the evenings - there is even a little honestly bar and you can enjoy a beer or 2 without having to leave the hotel. The service was great, everyone was so helpful and we felt very welcome and safe.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi PatrickT

Asante sana for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Cheap, very clean, great rooms and a+ service. Seemed too good to be true, but it wasn't. We had the cheapest room and it was still really nice. Brand new air conditioning a dream. Organised a trip to prison island for us and also a tour of stone town. Both were good and good value

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi RyanC,

Thank you for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I had the best time at this guest house. When we first arrived we were greeted by friendly lovely stuff, the breakfast was amazing on the roof top and our room was big and spacious. I am so grateful from the bottom of heart for the hospitality we received while staying at Warere:)

Will definatly be going back!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ketiwe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi KetiweH

We hope to see you for Sauti za Busara next year! Karibuni tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From the moment of making enquries and bookings I had a good feeling about Warere town house. We were in Stone Town for 'Sauti za Busara'. From the moment we arrived myself and my three friends fell instantly in love. This place is simple yet adequate, the rooms are spacious and clean with air conditioning. The proximity to the beach, ferry terminal and city centre is so convenient. We felt right at home in this clean, safe and wonderful town house. They gave us a lot of vital tips that made our holiday perfect. We will definitely be returning again and again. Thank you Shauna, Patrick, Chichi, Ali and all the amazing staff at this special place. Asante sana!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are closer to the breakfast terrace, also you get a view of the ocean from top floor...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bwalya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi BwalyaS,

Great to have you at the Warere! Hope to see you at Sauti za Busara next year, and hopefully all your friends will make it in 2015! Karibuni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Bottom line: A nice budget place in stone town, within walking distance of most attractions. Good value for money. Tall people will have an issue with size of beds, height of doors, etc.

The good: The place has lots of old world charm (as do many of the buildings in stone town). Internet worked reasonably well (was down for a couple of hours though), should not be an issue for those on holiday. Our room was clean and spacious, with very nice views. Lots of singing birds at your window (for some this might be a noise issue, but we loved it). At $70/night with breakfast, was good value.

The bad: The bed was really short. It was wide enough for two, but at 1.83cm I was much longer than the bed. Seriously. Since they have a (lovely) 4 poster bed with which is closed on both head and feet (see attached photo), I had to sleep sideways with both feet out. I actually asked the reception about this and was told our room was the largest, and had the largest bed. If so, this is not going to be comfortable for anyone about 165cm (i.e. most men). Similarly, when going back from the rooftop breakfast down to the room, watch your head! There's no sign, you might be watching your feet to make sure you do not fall over the half-step, and bump your head - the top of the door is less than 175cm !

Also, lots of flies in the breakfast area. We didn't mind this too much, and the area was clean and food prepared fresh, so not a real food safety issue, but not everyone's cup of tea.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 - nice & spacious with a partial view to the ocean
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi Ddiddo,

Thank you for reviewing the Warere. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and found the staff helpful.

We have taken onboard your comment regarding the bed. Unfortunately the bed size is a standard in East Africa, a 5ftx6ft mattress and bed frame. Following your review we have purchased two new beds and special ordered mattresses for them.

If any future guests are particularly tall please let us know and we will try our best to accommodate you in one of these new beds!

We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#17 of 33 in Stone Town
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.7 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Address: Mizingani Rd, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 00100, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £35 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Warere Town House is one of the oldest hotels in Stone Town providing authentic, affordable accommodation for over 30 years. We are a small, family run hotel that prides itself on making your stay on our spice island memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing