We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place....near the ferry stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zenji Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zenji Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place....near the ferry stop!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

I stayed at the Zenji hotel for 2 nights at the end of a 2 week tour of Kenya and Tanzania.
It is a lovely relaxing hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the coffee is scrumptious. You should try the cappucinos!!
I stayed in the room called 'Spice corner' and really liked the individual touches....
The rom had A/C and a lovely 4 poster bed.
It is an authentic hotel with a lot of character.
The main advantage of this hotel is it's proximity to the port, so if you are getting the ferry, it's ideal.
The only disadvantage is if you are a sinlge traveller, the area down by the ferry port leaves you feeling a bit uneasy, especially if you are walking back from the centre of Stone Town at night.
It is only a short walk to the main part of stone town, so this is only a small point.
You feel completely at home in the hotel, the minute you walk in, especially on the rooftop terrace, where they have free internet.
They don't sell alcohol, and the kitchen closes in the evening sometime, but you will want to eat in one of the restaurants in Stone Town anyway, so this is not a problem.
This is overall a great hotel, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estherm2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    144
    44
    5
    7
See reviews for
44
202
53
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Conveniently located a few blocks from the ferry and a two minute walk to the main street bordering the ocean this hotel was my group's choice place to stay! Sixteen of us stayed there for 4 nights and they were very willing to help us find ferry tickets and transportation to the other side of the island. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and spiced fruit jams. Everything was VERY CLEAN all the time and SMELLED GREAT. One of our rooms had a balcony view of the busy street and the roof had a tremendous VIEW of the town. Close to museums, eateries, and shopping. Next to currency exchange company. 30 of us lived in TZ for 3 months and the 16 that went to Zanizibar found this place to be relaxing. We bought local fruit and food and ate together at night or played cards. We felt very safe and were very happy to stay there. AFFORDABLE, relaxing, comfortable- just what a vacation should be. We had so much fun walking the back streets and finding the coolest curio shop. I HIGHLY recommend this place to stay- I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skichilipepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Arriving to Zanzibar we were picked form the airport by Azan, the very friendly driver of the hotel's own minibus.
Coming to Zenji Hotel we were surprised by the freshness of the hotel, the nice clean rooms, furnished with Zanzibari made furniture in east-african/arabian style. Every room is different and has it's own name. They put flowers on the bed to say "welcome" to you.
The Zanzibari staff of the hotel is very, very nice and made us feel at home instantly. They offer two very nice family-rooms in wich we both slept with the four of us, during our stay in Zanzibar.
We went to the North- and Eastcoast (nice beaches) for 4 nights and were glad to be back in Zenji. Nowhere else we experieced the samed service and nowhere we had equally clean rooms and toilets (and free internet access on our minilaptop).
Not to speak of the breakfast and lunch on the roofterrace of Zenji: the home made bread, toasted with home made jams are teriffic (pineapple is the best; take some with you!). The food in generally is very good: everything fresh and homemade, cheap compared to what we experienced elsewhere and the coffee is the best in Stonetown.
Mani and Anneloes (the owners) helped us plan our two weeks on the island perfectly and made our stay so much more worthwile.
And last but not least; they have a nice espresso/souvenirshop where you can buy worthwile presents for good prizes and where they will not put any pressure on you to buy anything (unlike Stonetown touristshops). With only fair-trade Zanzibar made products for which the makers get a fair price,

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WENK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

We only stayed at this place for one night, but would go back if in Stone Town again. We stayed in the 1001 nights room and loved it. The little touches on the bed were great, spices, flowers and it was set a little further out of the stress of the main streets.
The staff were nice as was the breakfast and roof top bar. It was near enough to walk to Mercury's for food and drinks, which is somewhere I would recommend also.
This isn't a big fancy hotel, but a nice small place with no pretense and perfect for a night or to.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank justi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

Traffic and mosque noise levels are really really bad. Most other visitors I talked to felt teh same. Otherwise rooms are nice enough, staff are ok, and there is a small chill cafe upstairs but only open during the day and menu didn't change in the week we were there.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruairi3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

A colleague and I stayed here during our holiday time from working with an NGO. We stayed in the "Taste of Culture" room - the least expensive. Thanks to prior arrangement, they were gracious enough to add an extra bed without an extra charge. We were graciously welcomed with tea/coffee/juice in their top-floor restaurant.

The room itself was sufficient and the separate bathroom was clean, although the hot water seemed to be sporadic. It was clean and even came equipped with an air conditioner, which worked perfectly except for the window which didn't close & seal the room properly. There is also a nearby mosque which can be a minor bother as far as noice is concerned, and don't be too "alarmed" by the alarm occassionally ringing from the port. One of the best features of the hotel was the free wireless Internet!

We booked a spice tour and a trip to Jozani Forest through the hotel. The spice tour was standard but the Jozani Forest trip was fantastic, thanks in no small part to our driver (Hassan) who happens to be the father of the owner of Zenji. If you're going anywhere with the hotel, request him - he's hilarious!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgtribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

After travelling around east africa for some weeks we looked forward coming to Zanzibar and relaxing.

Zenji was the perfect place in Stonetown! It's close to the ferry and the mercurys's restaurant, so it's only a short walking distance. And there even was a guy from the hotel at the ferry showing us to the hotel. When we came to the hotel we got a warm welcome. We stayed in the largest room, 1001 nights, it had it's own balcony. The details as towels folded in to swans and flowers on the bed is a beautiful touch. The place is clean and has really nice people working there. The manager helped us buy planetickets off the island and the people in the front desk could always answer our questions. The staff were always smiling! The atmosfere was great!

The breakfast is served on the rooftop, it's simple but good, maybe the best I had in east africa. Eggs, toast, fruit and super homemade jams. After breakfast, the kitchen serves pizza, sambosas and cakes. Recomend the sambosas and the brownie!!! It's a grate place too relax, read, eat or check your email on the laptiop avalible for the guests.

On the groundfloor there is a souvenirshop with really beautifull things; beaded perls, kangas and spices.

Eventhoug the hotels isn't smakdown in the middel of stonetown, everything in stonetown is walking distance!!!

I would recommed this hotel to anyone! Travelling around east africa this was the best hotel we stayed at!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mastine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zenji Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zenji Hotel

Property: Zenji Hotel
Address: Malawi St, opp Cine Afrique | P.O. Box 661, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of bustling Stone Town, Zenji Hotel welcomes guests for a relaxing stay on the rooftop or in one of the 9 authentic rooms. The rooms have a ceiling fan and air conditioning, some rooms have balcony. All rooms have a different atmosphere referring to the rich Zanzibar heritage and culture. The breakfast, including homemade bread and jams, fruit juice, fresh fruit, different types of tea and real espresso coffee, is served on the rooftop from which you have a beautiful view over Stone Town and the harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Zenji Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenji Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing