We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seyyida Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed two nights in room 202. The hotel is pretty but located in a very busy and rowdy alley which is hard to get to - taxi may not be able to give you door to door service. Speaking of service, the front desk staff are very kind and courteous, the restaurant staff a little confused, and Fatima in the spa gives a terrific massage but the worst manicure I've ever experienced! Skip it and stick to massage. The room was lovely, large bathroom, spacious room, oddly no hanging space for clothes except in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    66
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
51
88
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

As a single female, chose this hotel for security and location. I will admit it may be hard to find the first time but there is a wide walkway straight to the Foordham gardens.
When I returned early evening the turn down service revealed a most inviting and lovely lit room.
Woe is me - all alone in such a romantic room - What a waste!!
The terrace is higher than all the neighboring hotels and there is a lovely entry way, a spa for massages Ooh lala!! Come here with someone you love!

The shower, toilet and AC worked perfectly. There is WIFI but no business centre for those wishing to use the hotel computer.

The drawback I found was the front desk who didn't seem to be able to provide recommendations, transit information or names of fair guides. When I requested a recommended tour to the Spice Farm they called a fellow who charged me a hefty price (entry fee included I was assured) Somehow the communication broke down as I understood the price included a guide - but it only covered the driver. I picked up a very nice, informative guide who deserved a big tip. The driver, I learned was minimally paid by the "company". Either do not go with someone called "Babu" or "Bobo" or bargain him down to 10US dollars for the trip and tip both the driver and guides.

Room Tip: I was shown several rooms and I chose the "coziest".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I travel to Zanzbar for business and have stayed here before twice in the same room and loved it. The rooms are beautifully decorated and they have a very nice rooftop for breakfast. The location is great- right in the heart of stone town. The downside which I accepted is the creepy ally leading to the hotel (so might not be the best place for a female traveling alone).

Other than that....... I could not understand the prior negative reviews and then I realized it really depends on which room you get! This trip I was assigned to a different room and asked to move my room twice. The first room was very hot and smelly, big and stale, and the second one the bed was very hard and air conditioner didn't work so the room was very hot. The staff were very accommodating - they prepared two other rooms for to me to check and luckily one was my original room with a nice bed and working air con. So whether this place is "poor" or "excellent" depends on where you end up.

Room Tip: Make sure to check whether the air con is working and if the bed is comfortable in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laketahoe_homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, the first hotel of our 3 hotel vacation. The first room we stayed in had a poor A/C which failed to cool the room effectively, but there were many baby cockroaches in the bathroom and on the bed. The cleaning of the bathroom was poor. The second morning there was no hot water, we complained, but by 5 pm, the heater had not been fixed, there were no towels (still being laundered) and the bathroom had not been cleaned properly. They moved us to a double room with 2 A/C, which only one worked effectively. We then waited 2 hours for a shower as there were no towels (the reason provided-hotel was full). The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor, because of blocked drain. The breakfast was poor, the first morning we waited for 30 minutes just for coffee, the second morning waited 45 minutes for an omelet. The fruit plate provided was poor (small banana, tiny slice of water melon, two small segments of orange, tiny slice of pineapple, one piece of papaya), no cereals had been available for 1 month. The breakfast menu is limited, only western options, no local dishes. Service is exceptionally slow. Overall, the hotel offers very poor value for money, with serious management failings, in staff supervision, maintenance and food delivery

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe-Paris-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Here is where I really felt at home even when I was only on holiday. With the most comfortable and warm feeling of relaxation I thought I couldn't have picked a more perfect place. The view from the patio is where I lost my heart such a breathtaking picture. The food tasted like heaven and every meal was a delight. The fact that it is in town makes it THE hotel worth staying at since if you ever need something you can quickly just pop into the shops. What a bonus!!!. I would recommend anyone to go kick their shoes under the beds of this hotel and enjoy a holiday you will want to tell everybody about!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 24melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at the seyyida and it was a wonderful warm and relaxing experience. the staff were friendly and well trained . The food was good and filling, the views from the restaurant stunning and reallz made me feel like i was in a different world. it was an enchanting staz and highly reccommend this hotel, it was wirth every penny

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is pure luxury , rooms well decorated clean, huge and spacious. Professional staff always ready to help. The rooftop terrace was unbelievable, could see beautiful sunsets and enjoyed the food thoroughly , we stayed for two nights wish we could stay longer. Very nice place .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Botique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asmini Palace Hotel
Asmini Palace Hotel
#25 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seyyida Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seyyida Hotel & Spa

Property: The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
Address: Nyumba Ya Moto St | Next to House of Wonder And Palace Museum, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Seyyida Hotel & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Jovago.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Seyyida Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seyyida Hotel Stone Town
The Seyyida Hotel And Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing