We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast and Lunch Spot in Stone Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 30 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Lunch Spot in Stone Town”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We came here for breakfast and it was so good that we came back again the next day for lunch. The menu is very western but with local ingredients and the portions are very generous. Prices are reasonable, we had lunch for 3 with drinks at around TSH 50,000. Lots of healthy options, or you can try the coconut bread - a Zanzibar must! The tuna salad was delicious for lunch. They have good coffee but I would caution against the ice coffee, or at least ask for extra ice. Fun location right on the street which makes for entertaining people watching. The bathroom isn't great so if you can plan accordingly, do so. Leave a good tip, the servers are very good we found.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    69
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
105
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

we stayed here for one night in stone town town. 1 room was really nice but the second was pretty basic .I don't think it was particularly good value but we did book in advance. You will probably get a better deal just turning up. Staff a bit dour but owner really nice. Very good location and definitely the best coffee on our month long trip.Popular spot.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1dickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in the double room with en suite and balcony. The room is huge, and has tv, fridge, ac, wifi and a safe. Excellent value for $100usd.
The staff were very helpful and the cafe breakfasts were delicious. The location is also excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room with ensuite and balcony. The room is huge, and has tv, fridge, ac, wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilds282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Superb service and accommodations from ferry pick-up through transport to/from east island visit. Room extremely comfortable with A/C, private bath and Sat-TV. Great breakfast & lunch, and reservations for dinner at local establishments. Easy to walk from/to/around Stone Town and access to ATMs, stores, historical sites with advice on purchasing spices and gifts.

This is absolutely the best place to stay in Stone Town, Zanzibar, regardless of cost.

Room Tip: You will not need a view because the room itself is beautiful. No elevator, only stairs which works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvette Camille ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I always stay at Stone Town Cafe when I visit Zanzibar. The location is so central, the staff are incredibly helpful and accommodating, and you get the best breakfast in Stone Town included in the price of your room! Just make sure to book ahead because there are a limited number of rooms (less than 10).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank afc513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed 1 night with breakfast included. The room was large (QS double room) , very clean, big bed, good AC ,large bathroom. The location is perfect, near the center of Stone Town, a short walk from the harbor and the night market. Hope to return again someday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have stayed at Stone Town Bed and Breakfast twice and both times have been fantastic. Great location, friendly staff and the food at the cafe was much appreciated after extended stays on the mainland. Another great feature is the soft pillows which, if you have travelled a bit in Africa, you will know what I mean! The rooms are clean, tastefully decorated and have good air-conditioners. Take the opportunity to ask about the school that the owners have started. A great initiative that is worthy of support and will make your stay in this amazing place more meaningful and authentic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
Address: Kenyatta Road | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Town Cafe and Bed and Breakfast is located in Shangani on Kenyatta Road, just 2 minutes walk from most restaurants and tourist shops, 5 minutes from the Old Fort, and about 10 minutes walk through the narrow streets to Darajani market. Breakfast is served in the cafe downstairs which is open from 8am to 10pm. To book with us directly search Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast on your browser ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Town Cafe And Bed And Breakfast
Stone Town Cafe Hotel Stone Town
Stone Town Cafe And Bed & Breakfast Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing