We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 30 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We really lucked out by booking this charming bed and breakfast. We were able to walk everywhere. Our room was air-conditioned and we were able to control our hot water.The staff was very friendly and very helpful. It was so comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainstreetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    69
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
104
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Location is perfect to explore Stone Town - major attractions are close by. Rooms are nicely decorated, beds are comfortable and there are GOOD mosquito nets. There is a refrigerator, air conditioning and en suite in the room. Food is very good, and fresh fruit and vegetables are washed in boiled water. Seriously, you can't go wrong at this place.

Room Tip: They are all good, however room 4 is very spacious. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We chose this little guest house for it's location, but were really happy to find out the owners fund a school for local kids. Staff here are excellent and oh so friendly - we were sad to leave after our three night stay. As a base for exploring Stone Town it is perfectly located and very easy to find - no worries about getting lost in the maze in the nights. I am glad we stayed in Stone Town at the end of our trip - the culture is more of what Zanzibar is about and we didn't get a feel for that on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This cafe is my absolute favourite spot in Zanzibar. When I am staying in Stonetown I visit it every day for breakfast, and sometimes even for lunch or dinner. There is not a bad dish on their menu.

The waitstaff are all lovely, particularly Anna who works most mornings. The owner is lovely, and will often sit down for a chat with patrons.

The passion juice and spiced coffee are particularly good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The staff here are excellent - friendly and able to assist with most enquiries. Breakfast amazing as we people watched in the café downstairs. The location fabulous for a long wander or a quick trip out to dinner, as all restaurants and the night market are close by on well lit streets - easy to find too, which is a bonus. The owners support the community and have started a school for disadvantaged kids and orphans - I know my money went straight into the local community. Good one!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryBellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Although I didn't stay in the rooms, I visited the cafe a couple of times in April. It was clean and pleasant with friendly helpful staff. The food and drink was delicious and only boiled, clean water is used in food preparation. The cafe is supportive in the local community which is why I went there in the first place (it funds a local school and sells smoothies made with ingredients from the Seaweed Centre on Paje, a socially responsible business). I got caught in a ferocious downpour of rain just as I needed to leave for the airport and was lent an umbrella by a member of staff who had no guarantee of getting it back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 884Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this cosy house in the middle of the old town. The restaurant downstairs serves a good breakfast and nice light meals . Not only tourists but also locals come for a coffee or a fresh fruitjuice. The very joyful and friendly Anna and her staff will help you with all your touristical wishes.
Special of this B&B is that they are supporting a school in Zanzibar for underprivilaged children: Creative Education Foundation of Zanzibar. They are also part of the worldwide "pack for a purpose" organization.

Room Tip: There are different rooms with different prices. We stayed in a comfortable small room, but the big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
498 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#17 of 33 in Stone Town
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast

Property: Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast
Address: Kenyatta Road | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone Town Cafe and Bed and Breakfast is located in Shangani on Kenyatta Road, just 2 minutes walk from most restaurants and tourist shops, 5 minutes from the Old Fort, and about 10 minutes walk through the narrow streets to Darajani market. Breakfast is served in the cafe downstairs which is open from 8am to 10pm. To book with us directly search Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast on your browser ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stone Town Cafe and Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Town Cafe Hotel Stone Town
Stone Town Cafe And Bed And Breakfast
Stone Town Cafe And Bed & Breakfast Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing