We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of House of Spices

House of Spices
Ranked #7 of 79 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Breezing terraces for both restaurant and bar, Mediterranean food, pizza, wine bar
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Good atmosphere and food. We arrived without a booking and we were lucky to be seated upstairs. The food takes a while to arrive but the service is good and it gave us time to chat and enjoy the atmosphere. It was bit difficult to find at night through dark narrow streets but in the daylight we realised it was rather easy.

Thank travelisourhobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hi There, thank you for your kind review.
Yeah we are a bit hidden but, once found...worth a visit!! as you said
Hope you have had a pleasant flight back and looking forward to see you again one day.
Kind regards, anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 233 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

So many different tastes, combined into an one perfect harmony...yummy!
Good service. Beautiful view. Nice ambient.
I recommend it to everyone.

Thank Marija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Jambo.
Many many thanks for having taken tome to review your experience at the House of Spices restaurant: very nice in deed!!. We look forward to welcome you more and more soon.
Kind regards, anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We went at night so missed what is probably a great view. The food was very good- great flavours and service good, even though a little understaffed. We didn't have pizza but they have a wooden oven and the output from that looked great.

1  Thank Johnnyglongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi there, thank you a lot for having taken the time to share your experience.
We look forward to welcome you soon for a crispy pizza.
Kind regards,anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had to ask around to find this place, almost gave up, but it was worth it when we eventually found it. Great view from the roof-top. Great atmosphere. The menu had a lot of different kinds of pizzas - Some western style and some local style. Overall this is a nice place to have dinner and a few drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Jambo, thank you for sending us your comment! we are delighted to understand that after several attempts you manage to find the House of Spices and you have enjoyed its service and food which in fact is what matters.
Difficult to find but, difficult to forget once found

As said in various occasion, House of Spices is located in the heart of Stone Town and we reckon to be lucky to be in this part of the town that carries fully intact the aroma,the feel and, soul of the old golden days of the Island rather than other place, perhaps much crowded but that might remind you something else, seen elsewhere: while Stone Town is rather unique and so it should stay...
Karibuni tena, anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It's a little hard to find, but the store downstairs sells decent spices and beautiful scarfs! The food is amazing, with spice-covered pizza and clay pot curry which brought us back twice more during our stay in Stone Town. If you're shopping or exploring the narrow streets, take a map and find House of Spice for lunch!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna m, Owner at House of Spices, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Hannah,
thank you sooo much for your sweet review; all the staff will be delighted to read it.

You are right, we are a bit away from the "glitter and sequins" sites; we are in fact in one of the few areas of the Stone Town remained genuine which makes worth it to see Stone Town and to walk in its narrow streets meanwhile searching for the House of Spices! Karibu tena, anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Spices also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to House of Spices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing