We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but restaurant could be improved.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at The Zanzibar Grand Palace hotel for 3 nights. The hotel staff are friendly but we did have to call a few times to get the TV fixed, they also forgot to call us for our wake up call on one of the mornings.

The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The location was good. A very short walk to the Gardens, market and restaurants. You don't need to get a taxi from the ferry port. Literally cross the road and turn right.

The restaurant for the hotel was not the best. We ate there the first night but then went elsewhere on the following evenings. The breakfast was a buffet style, which was ok. I do think the food could be improved though.

Overall a good stay but I think it is a bit overpriced for the service and food received.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my husband for our first 3 nights in Zanzibar and it was wonderful. Very good service. People are very helpful and kind. We loved them. The rooms are quite on the expensive side in Stonetown [ 130 $ ] but the rooms are great. New equipement: LCD TV, AC, hot water, WIFI. You take dinners and breakfeast on the roof top terrasse. Great vue. Location is ok, 5 minutes walk from all the restaurants, the market,...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahParisFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick281161, Manager at Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Wonderfull Stay in Zanzibar

I thank you for taking time out to write a review on the Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel.
It was good to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable.
I hope that one day soon you will return to Zanzibar and hope that you will again
stay at the Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel

Nic Rawlins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Upon our arrival we had a warm welcome from Mr. Mohammed and Ms. Munira,they were so helpful and Munira helped us to arrange for a private car hire and a tour guide and it was nice since we had good terms with the agent. My wife really liked the rooms for they had almost all the basic things;hot water,a/c,hair dryer,internal sandals,free Wi-Fi and many other good things + the room was big and nice too
We also enjoyed the view of the sea and few different parts of stone town from the roof of the hotel.Well Its a nice place to be around stone town.nice rooms,hospitable stafs,nice food!!!! keep it up folks. KUDOS

Johnson Stanley

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makumbojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

had a lovely stay at this hotel, the staff was extremely helpful, especially front office employee Mohamed. the rooms are all new which was really nice especially since everything around stonetown is old. Good location. lovely view from the rooftop breakfast area. rooms slightly on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myraabdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

The Zanzibar Grand Hotel is very good value, comfortable accomodation in Stonetown, Zanzibar. Conveniently located a stone's throw from the ferry from Dar es Salaam. Breakfast and internet are free, rooms are airy and comfortable and staff are all friendly and helpful. If you come to Stonetown for business or pleasure, stay here.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank mchlchn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We came to the grand palace with our group for a couple of days after a 1 week safari and it was fantastic!
We are not the kind of travellers that expect western standards when exploring africa, but i must say it was a nice treat to find them here. After one week of bumpy roads and dust it was just fantastic to have an air conditioned room with wifi and cable tv to get updated on what happened in the world. My wife partciularly appreciated the hot shower with pressure and a hairdryer...our first time in tanzania. Note this hotel is brand new so everything works properly.
Also the location is top and we explored stonetown by foot from here.
In the morning breakfast is served on the rooftop restaurant with a tremendous view.
Last but not least, i must say that the staff - diffrently on what i read on the previous review - was very friendly and efficient.
What else to say? I definitevly can reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redmonkeylodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Upon my arrival the front desk attendant was on this cell and did not acknowledge me until he was done which took a little while . Rooms are lovely and its a new and well appointed hotel. However the staff at the front desk and restaurant have not been trained properly and service is "terrible" there was only 1 waiter that was very polite and spoke english and it almost seem to be the only one doing everything including complaining about his staff. Manager was in the kitchen warming up food in the microwave, so it seem. I felt very ill after eating at this hotel and had a gastrointestinal infection that almost send me to the hospital 3 days later. This hotel has the location and could be quality establishment but it needs hands on service and quality food.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martytoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick281161, Manager at Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Dear Martytor,

I thank you for your Trip Advisor comments on the Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel.
However, I am conducting an investigation into your comments, especially in relation to the service you recieved on check in and at the restaurant.
It is an unacceptable pratice that staff are using cell phones and at the expense of our guests.
Again, I am very concerned about your illness and this will take up with priority.
All staff at the hotel now have a good basic knowledge of the English Language and improvements will continue throughout.
I hope you will consider using the hotel once more and please contact me personally next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#21 of 33 in Stone Town
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asmini Palace Hotel
Asmini Palace Hotel
#25 of 33 in Stone Town
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
#22 of 33 in Stone Town
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique

Address: Malindi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 25524, Tanzania (Formerly Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel/Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Price Range: £54 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"International Standards, Local Flavors" Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique offers all those amenities that give the perfect frame for enjoying a stay in Zanzibar's capital before or after safari. The ideal place to discover Stone town from it is located within one hour drive from any of Zanzibar's beaches and attractions. Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique is a replica of a historic building located in the city center of Stone town opposite to the ferry terminal. Our guest can enjoy a stunning sea town view from THE TERRACE RESTAURANT. Located at the Top Floor, the Terrace menu a la carte, presents a selection of Continental and International dishes that can be consumed enjoying an incredible 360 degree Ocean and Stonetown scenery. All highlights of this beautifully city, recognized as UNESCO heritage sight, such as the house of wonders, Forodhani gardens, the old fort, Darajiani market (...) are within walking distance as well as the numerous shops, restaurants and nightspots. GT Zanzibar Boutique's rooms are decorated to ensure a traditional picturesque and soothing environment and are designed to meet all your needs. We offer at total of 33 rooms and in addition the property offers a state of the art conference facility as well as event venues that can accommodate up to 350 people comfortably. All rooms are fully furnished to meet the highest International Standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing