We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, excellent services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good price, excellent services”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I went to Zanzibar on May 2011. I got the information about this hotel from my friend who was really satisfied with the service while she was there.
When I was arrived in the airport, the hotel driver was already there to pick me up and took me to the hotel. It was not check in time yet, but they allowed me to enter my room. The staffs were so friendly. Even when I tried to give them the tips, they refused politely and said, "No, mam. It's my job. You don't have to pay more for something that I should do"..The first time happened in Africa, the staffs refused the tips.
The room was very clean, the breakfast was nice and the restaurant has a great view to the sea. It's also very close to interesting places such as Mercury restaurant, the pallace, forodhani garden, etc.
With only 65 USD / nights, this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    63
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
21
48
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and were not disappointed. Clean rooms with LCD, safe and a good a/c. Breakfast at the rooftop is pleasant. We had one dinner at a very reasonable price but went elsewhere on the following evening. Friendly staff. Not appointed in a beautiful/prime location but close to the ferryterminal. Construction going on nearby (nearly finished). Small garden in front of the hotel. No pool. Stone Town is very safe, even at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2reizigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

You'd think the way my friends reacted to every element of this hotel that it was their worst experience ever but in all honesty it wasn't that bad. Its pretty close to the Mercury bar which is nice for if you want to stay out late and have a nice bar nearby. Buuuuttt...you definitely want to walk around the area with someone especially if you're a woman. A lot of strange characters just milling about and ready to harrass you. The service is ok but the rooms are actually pretty clean. I felt a little uneasy outside of the room but the room itself was really nice.

Room Tip: There is no pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kundara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Highly recommended if you want to stay at stone town.
Very relaxing ambiance at the lobby.

The room was wonderful. I can still smell the fregrance of the room. Good value for money.

The hotel is at a walking distance from the port and the centre of stone town.
Staff were friendly and helpful. However there's a room to improve.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kifahali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I had reserved another hotel room for my one non-business night in Zanzibar but when I got there, they had run out of rooms! Fortunately, I found the Zanzibar Grand Palace... They were able to take me in at a very good rate, so really saved my trip. The front desk staff was very helpful and gave good advice for where to go. The location is lovely and the rooftop restaurant has amazing views and a good breakfast (included in rate); restaurant staff very accommodating and friendly. Close to the ferry and all the Stone Town sights. Extremely clean and felt safe in the room, which had some fine Zanzibar chests, high ceilings, and nice detail. I probably wouldn't have chosen it at first, but felt very lucky to find myself there. Thanks to this hotel, my trip was saved!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manyadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Nice new modern hotel with good location. Stone Town was very hot when we were there snd the excellent air conditioning was a blessing. Hotel has elevator which is great since the rooftop dining was delightful. Best of all was the assistance the manager Nic gave us. When my husband needed a doctor New Year's Eve. Nic called for the doctor and then made certain the doctor understood our problem and we understood the solution. He was great! And the next day Nic again was the hero involving our problem with the fee for a guide. It is personal attention like this that makes a stay special.

Room Tip: We had three standard rooms and they were fine. Very happy there was elevator to get us there. I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bepstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week having a holiday. The hotel is very clean (and I am very picky at that) and beautifully furnished. I loved having very good French press coffee at the cafe downstairs in the morning, looking over the small garden. Or having dinner at the roof terrace, looking over either the city or the docks at the waterfront. A nice extra is that the hotel makes use of their own grown vegetables.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, and looking at the 1st reviews, something has definitely changed. The hotel is beautifully situated in the center of town, very close to the waterfront. The busy and fascinating market, several museums and the lively buzz of the city is just around the corner.
Wether you're on holiday or on business, I would strongly recommend a stay at this very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baltussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
3.3 mi away
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
Golden Tulip Zanzibar Resort
#21 of 38 in Zanzibar City
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
#22 of 34 in Stone Town
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#21 of 34 in Stone Town
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 34 in Stone Town
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 34 in Stone Town
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique

Property: Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Address: Malindi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 25524, Tanzania (Formerly Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel/Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"International Standards, Local Flavors" Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique offers all those amenities that give the perfect frame for enjoying a stay in Zanzibar's capital before or after safari. The ideal place to discover Stone town from it is located within one hour drive from any of Zanzibar's beaches and attractions. Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique is a replica of a historic building located in the city center of Stone town opposite to the ferry terminal. Our guest can enjoy a stunning sea town view from THE TERRACE RESTAURANT. Located at the Top Floor, the Terrace menu a la carte, presents a selection of Continental and International dishes that can be consumed enjoying an incredible 360 degree Ocean and Stonetown scenery. All highlights of this beautifully city, recognized as UNESCO heritage sight, such as the house of wonders, Forodhani gardens, the old fort, Darajiani market (...) are within walking distance as well as the numerous shops, restaurants and nightspots. GT Zanzibar Boutique's rooms are decorated to ensure a traditional picturesque and soothing environment and are designed to meet all your needs. We offer at total of 33 rooms and in addition the property offers a state of the art conference facility as well as event venues that can accommodate up to 350 people comfortably. All rooms are fully furnished to meet the highest International Standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing