We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice in Stone Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

No matter what is the reason of your stay in Stone Town, the Zanzibar Grand Palace is a choice you will not regret. The location is perfect..just right in the heart of the town, in a strategic point to explore this Unesco Heritage site! From the hotel you can easily reach the bars and restaurants and the main shopping road.
The rooms are spacious enough and clean, simply decorated, with a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom could be updated.
The meals are served on the rooftop restaurant with a magnificent view over the Old City. Late B-fast, until 10.30am, extensive menu and buffet also available for lunch and dinner. At the hotel they have no license for alcohol, to know if you are willing to make a toast to celebrate a special occasion. The staff is very helpful and kind.
Overall it was a very pleasant experience, no complaints. I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poletti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkggrandpalace, Manager at Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Valelilly,

Thank you for your positive review and for expressing your appreciation of our staff members.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, the entire staff of Zanzibar Grand Palace are happy to welcome you again.

Karibuni tena,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Nice hotel in Stone town, The hotel is a 5 min walk from the ferry terminal,nice clean rooms and it was all cleaned daily by the cleaning staff who stocked up supplies of bottled water, fresh towels, shampoo etc

Room Tip: The suites are large and very nice, with maharajah theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yusuf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkggrandpalace, Manager at Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Yusuf,

Thank you very much for your review, we at Zanzibar Grand Palace appreciate your feedback.

We are glad you appreciated the location and cleanliness of our hotel and we hope we have met your expectations of great hospitality. We are very happy you enjoyed staying at our hotel and we want to thank you for choosing Zanzibar Grand Palace as your accommodation in Stone Town and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Karibuni tena,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We came here for our honeymoon.The staff were consistently friendly and helpful during our 10 day stay.

The room was average size with a Kingsize bed. There was a nice clean en-suite and it was all cleaned daily by the cleaning staff who stocked up supplies of bottled water, fresh towels, shampoo etc..One of the towels had a stain on it however which slightly diminished our view of the cleanliness.
Sleep was comfortable thanks to air conditioning (although it did leak occasionally) and I got woken up by the 5am call to prayer.
There is a TV in the room of fair quality and free wi-fi was very helpful but cut out a few times.
The lift was out of order but luckily we were only on the first floor. I wouldn't have liked to climb four or five floors multiple times a day, especially after a day walking or swimming.

Grand Palace is located in Stonetown where there are stalls to buy food/supplies/souvenirs (be prepared to get lots of attention and offers as tourists are obvious) and in the other direction a nice walk along the beach. Boat rides were available to sail to nearby islands to get a more of an idyllic beach experience and taxis are always available.

There is a good variety of nearby restaurants. We highly recommend "House of Spices" (not to be confused with Emersons) which is a little difficult to find in the dark but was worth it when we eventually found it after asking many of the locals! "Mercury" was also a good place a very short walk from the hotel, overlooking the beach.
The hotel's rooftop restaurant has quick service, varied menu and decent portion sizes. It wasn't included in our booking though so we had to pay. Breakfast was included and ran late till 10am which was good.

We went in April which is during the rainy season but it was still really warm/hot and we got plenty of sun still.

Overall, a great experience of Africa and comfortable, well-situated hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliedetzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkggrandpalace, Manager at Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Natalie,

Thank you very much for your great and detailed review, we at Zanzibar Grand Palace appreciate your feedback, be assured that we take it in account for future improvements.

On behalf of the staff I would like to thank you for showing appreciating of their efforts to meet your expectations of service. We are glad you appreciated the consistent cleaning and refilling of your room and I am sorry we disappointed you on one occasion, though I am glad to see that you still experienced the cleanliness positively. The leaking airconditioning is a common problem during the rain season due to the high humidity in the air, we are trying to find a solution for this. We have also been trying the find a solution for the Wi-Fi. I am sorry the call for prayer woke you however, since it is a part of the local culture I hope you did not experience it negatively.

I am happy to inform you that the elevator has now been working effectively! So if you consider returning to Zanzibar Grand Palace, which we hope you will, you shall find a working elevator. Lastly, we are glad that you enjoyed our rooftop restaurant services and the food we presented to you.

We sincerely hope we did everything to help make your honeymoon in Stone Town memorable.

Karibuni tena,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Grand Palace for a night to treat ourselves. Unfortunately, this hotel fell short of our expectations. Even at low season discounted rates, we didn't feel we got value for money.
The executive suite was beautifully decorated but there were small issues that we felt took away from the experience. Though we got a sea view room, we didn't manage to see much of it because the rug-style curtains that covered the window couldn't be opened. However, they did let lots of light through which woke us up early.
The jacuzzi, which was the reason we chose the suite, was a nice idea but if I'd had beans we would have had more bubbles. Disappointing.
We were made to feel very welcome by most of the staff but when we had a complaint about the room service, which was not of the standard you might expect, it was very difficult to get hold of the night manager.
From previous comments it seems the lift was out of order in January, and it still is, or is again, in April.
The food in the restaurant, which doesn't serve alcohol, was fine and service was fast. Breakfast was ok but not exactly spectacular.
Overall, I would describe the experience as 'fine' but for the price we were expecting 'fabulous'. If we had paid full price we would have been fuming.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IVDD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkggrandpalace, Direttore vendite at Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear IVDD,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, we at Zanzibar Grand Palace appreciate your feedback, be assured that we take it in account for future improvements.

I am very sorry your accommodation did not live up to your expectations. I was very happy to receive you and your partner as guests and I am sad to hear that the complimentary upgrade to our executive suite did not make your stay satisfying.

Zanzibar Grand Palace is decorated to ensure a picturesque and soothing environment and our curtains are a part of this anyway I understand your complaint and I would like to inform you that the curtains will be upgraded during our soon expected renovation.

I would like to thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our staff to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our staff tried their best to meet your request although I was sorry to hear about the room service complaint, we cannot ensure satisfaction on items order that are not on the hotel’s menu sorry.

Again, I am very sorry your stay did not meet your expectations and I hope our complimentary upgrade reduced your disappointment.
Always welcome in Zanzibar Grand Palace.

Karibunitena,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel is a 5 min walk from the ferry terminal. Its located one street back from the main road so its nice and quiet. Check in was quick and efficient. Rooms are basic but very clean. (A kettle for making tea/coffee in the room would be lovely to have!). Staff were always friendly, helpful and courteous. The breakfast menu covers all the basics i.e cereal, eggs, pancakes, fruit, fruit juices etc. Views from the rooftop restaurant are amazing. The pizzas are really good. There are plenty of other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (Mercury's and The Silk Route).

Please note that the elevator is out of order so if you find climbing stairs difficult this hotel will not be for you.

If you are looking for a good tour operator, please check with Muhammed - Melisha Tours (he has a desk in the lobby). We booked all of our tours with him and our transfers to and from Nungwi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luts309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkggrandpalace, Direttore vendite at Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Luts,

Thank you very much for your useful review, we at Zanzibar Grand Palace appreciate your feedback, be assured that we take it in account for future improvements.

I am happy to inform you that we have very recently acquired teakettles for our rooms and they will soon be positioned in every room. I would like to thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our staff to make your stay as pleasant as possible. And I pass thanks from our pizza chef who was happy to hear your fondness of his pizzas!

Thank you for choosing Zanzibar Grand Palace as your accommodation in Stone Town and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Karibunitena,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at the Zanzibar Grand Palace hotel for 4 nights in January 2014. The hotel is value for money in that you get what you pay for. The rooms are clean, staff are friendly and the hotel responded very quickly to any maintenance related issues in the room (ie to open the safe etc)

Check-in and check-out at the hotel was speedy with no issues. In terms of meals breakfast was decent nothing fancy, basic but you don't miss anything (cereals, fruit, eggs etc are available). We didn't enjoy the food from the restaurant too much at the hotel but there are a number of other places to eat close by. Service at dinner can be a bit slow but I saw the same staff from breakfast still working until around 10pm at night so this could be the reason for that.

The hotel also has a place that makes great pizza's on the ground floor.

One thing to note is the elevators don't work in the hotel and don't seem to have been working for a while. So if you are travelling with anyone who may have trouble with the stairs (the dining area is on the roof - 4th floor) you may want to consider this.

All in all we had a good stay no major complaints, very friendly and helpful staff.

Also, the tour operator based at the hotel (Mohammed) was really good, his prices were actually comparable or cheaper in some cases than the tour guides you find in the Stonetown (many tour operators based at the hotels are outpriced). The taxi's he provided for the tours were also in good condition and he speaks English really well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junaid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkggrandpalace, Direttore vendite at Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Junaid,

Thank you very much for your great and detailed review, we at Zanzibar Grand Palace appreciate your feedback, be assured that we take it in account for future improvements.

I am very happy you and your family enjoyed staying at our hotel. I would like to thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our staff to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Our pizza chef was very happy to hear your fondness of his pizzas!

We at Zanzibar Grand Palace constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and I am sorry we did not manage to succeed that for every aspect of your stay.

Thank you for choosing Zanzibar Grand Palace as your accommodation in Stone Town and I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Karibunitena,

The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here with a group and took a number of rooms. The rooftop breakfast serving point is great as it gives a wonderful view of parts of Stone town and the ocean. The breakfast was very basic though. The rooms are very clean but nothing beyond the basics and they are average. Some of the air conditioners were not working.

The hotel staff are polite and will try and help where they can. If you are in Stone town briefly, this is a basic hotel centrally located. If you are on holiday and are looking for luxury and rest, you will not get that here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar
#21 of 33 in Stone Town
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
343 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asmini Palace Hotel
Asmini Palace Hotel
#24 of 33 in Stone Town
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
The Seyyida Hotel & Spa
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#25 of 33 in Stone Town
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique

Address: Malindi Road, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 25524, Tanzania (Formerly Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique Hotel/Zanzibar Grand Palace Hotel)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Price Range: £49 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"International Standards, Local Flavors" Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique offers all those amenities that give the perfect frame for enjoying a stay in Zanzibar's capital before or after safari. The ideal place to discover Stone town from it is located within one hour drive from any of Zanzibar's beaches and attractions. Golden Tulip Zanzibar Boutique is a replica of a historic building located in the city center of Stone town opposite to the ferry terminal. Our guest can enjoy a stunning sea town view from THE TERRACE RESTAURANT. Located at the Top Floor, the Terrace menu a la carte, presents a selection of Continental and International dishes that can be consumed enjoying an incredible 360 degree Ocean and Stonetown scenery. All highlights of this beautifully city, recognized as UNESCO heritage sight, such as the house of wonders, Forodhani gardens, the old fort, Darajiani market (...) are within walking distance as well as the numerous shops, restaurants and nightspots. GT Zanzibar Boutique's rooms are decorated to ensure a traditional picturesque and soothing environment and are designed to meet all your needs. We offer at total of 33 rooms and in addition the property offers a state of the art conference facility as well as event venues that can accommodate up to 350 people comfortably. All rooms are fully furnished to meet the highest International Standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing