We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, sensational juices”
Review of Lazuli

Lazuli
Ranked #3 of 5 Dessert in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Lazuli is a small living room style restaurant in the Shangani district of Stone Town, serving modern Swahili lunches and dinners including selection of tasty sandwiches, chapatti wraps, salads, burgers, seafood and the best fresh fruit juices in town, always blended at the time of order using tropical fruits from around the island. Open everyday except Sunday.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
407 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, sensational juices”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

With only 5 tables in a small room it does not have a lot of atmosphere but it makes up for that with great food & juices.
Yes the service is slow because everything is done fresh. Ask for your own juice blend & they can probably oblige -- it will come with an icy centre which keeps it cold for a long time.
Salads are crispy fresh.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    104
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gem of Stonetown”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a true gem of Stonetown, their ethos seems to be simple, fresh and delicious. It's a wee place, only 7-8 tables and there was a steady stream of customers whilst we were there. I cannot recommend this place enough and wish we had found it earlier in our stay in Stonetown. They are open for lunch and dinner and I would have happily eaten here twice a day for the three days we were there. The menu was large enough to give you choice but small enough so that you knew thought went behind the dishes. I had an amazing beef burger and iced coffee with local spices, whilst my husband had a South African speciality called chow which was also super tasty. I highly recommend you seek out this wee place as it was the most unique place we have come across in Tanzania with a real focus on fresh and tasty food.
The service can be a bit slow as all made fresh in a small kitchen, so order yourself one of their delicious drinks sit back and relax.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dani026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Cute little place. We ate here before coming to the airport. They let us come in 45 minutes before opening and place our orders. Then we went shopping and returned at opening with our food and smoothies ready.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sanissipour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute Cafe”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Lazuli is a beautiful cafe just off Kenyatta road. The smoothies and juices were lovely (especially the banana + peanut butter and the lime cordial) and didn't make us ill despite containing ice. The food was all freshly prepared with a lovely salad on the side. We had to wait a while for our food but it was well worth the wait. We wish we had discovered lazuli earlier on in our stay in Stone Town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Han2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and juices!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is a tiny place, so you have to lucky to get a table. You may have to wait a little for your order as well, but it is so worth it!
We ordered juices which were the best I ever had! The food (a wrap and a salad) were delicious as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HolzbeinSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazuli also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Lazuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing