We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserving of 1st place position!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lazuli

Lazuli
Ranked #3 of 5 Dessert in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Lazuli is a small living room style restaurant in the Shangani district of Stone Town, serving modern Swahili lunches and dinners including selection of tasty sandwiches, chapatti wraps, salads, burgers, seafood and the best fresh fruit juices in town, always blended at the time of order using tropical fruits from around the island. Open everyday except Sunday.
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Deserving of 1st place position!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This little spot is awesome...

I'm not sure I've ever had such fresh food. The unique blend of smoothies and interesting salads and wraps/sandwiches shows the thought that has gone into the menu and the ingredients.

Friendly service as well which is always a bonus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emsmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    103
    25
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch place in central Stone Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

A perfect place for a good, healthy and praiseworthy lunch. The fruit shakes at Lazuli are some of the best I tried (I can recommend the wake shake), and the mango chicken salad is a great pick from the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresiaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tucked-away Gem of a cafe in Stone Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Bright and light atmosphere is inviting day or evening. This is probably the one place I still crave after leaving Zanzibar. The various fruit smoothies are delicious combinations and refreshing- these are not your average smoothie- better described as a "tonic" . The wraps were delicious, as was the re-invented bunny chow in a zanzibari loaf of bread with regional spices- its like an sloppy joe that could be described as comfort food with an exotic twist! Prices are very reasonable for the quality. Open until 10:30pm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jmark55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh Zanzabari/South African food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

First of all, I love the ambience of this place: it's cozy and inviting and is painted, as the name would have it, lapis lazuli. The owners are Tanzanian and South African, which results in a delicious mix of cuisine. I ordered the fish coconut curry, a Zanzibari dish and my boyfriend had the bunny chow, a classic from Durban, South Africa. Both were supremely fresh in terms of ingredients and so tasty because of the use of the Zanzibari spices. To top it off, it is not heavy at all and very reasonably priced. Get the juices, too. So good! Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I came here for lunch a few days ago and the food and drink were delcious. I had the ginger boost smoothie which was icy and delicious and tried the mint cooler which was even better! For food I had a seared tuna and wasabi sandwich which was delicious! (A friend of mine had the bunny chow which was a HUGE portion).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazuli also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Lazuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing