We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but slow food”
Review of Lazuli

Lazuli
Ranked #3 of 4 Dessert in Stone Town
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lazuli is a small living room style restaurant in the Shangani district of Stone Town, serving modern Swahili lunches and dinners including selection of tasty sandwiches, chapatti wraps, salads, burgers, seafood and the best fresh fruit juices in town, always blended at the time of order using tropical fruits from around the island. Open everyday except Sunday.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good but slow food”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It's a really nice and cozy place in the center of Stone Town. The food is tasty and healthy, but the service is a bit slow. So, don't go there if you are in a rush, but if you have time, you will enjoy a great meal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank guiomarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    104
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“On a schedule? Skip Lazuli.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The food (in particular, the freshly blended juices--passion mango pineapple is heavenly) is great! But the wait...oh, the wait. I'm used to waiting at least an hour and a half for food in TZ, no problem. But at Lazuli--I kid you not--we waited three hours. It even took two hours for the beverages to arrive. If you're only in Zanzibar for a short holiday, go wait for food somewhere where you can watch the sun set instead.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMG414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food if you are ready to wait... and wait.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was so excited to check out Lazuli given the reviews, but it was quite a disappointment. Yes the food was good (though not amazing), and it was a cute little spot (although everyone was foreign). It took my friend close to 45 minutes to get her smoothie though, and I waited an hour and a half for my sandwich (after more than an hour I asked for it takeaway and it came 20 minutes later). It would be a great little chill spot if they could figure out the wait. I wouldn't go back though as I personally don't like to wait over an hour for a smoothie and a simple sandwich... especially when there are so many other options nearby.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank majnun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Don't know how it got to no. 1”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We had dinner here after,reading the reviews....the place was empty and stayed that way all night. We had a ginger smoothy and it was delicious ...I had the bunny chow...nice curry nothing flash, the tempura mixed seafood was probably the best dish but not rave worthy. I just can't understand the ranking of this cafe....good but definitely nothing to write about.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freetown, Sierra Leone
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Deserving of 1st place position!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This little spot is awesome...

I'm not sure I've ever had such fresh food. The unique blend of smoothies and interesting salads and wraps/sandwiches shows the thought that has gone into the menu and the ingredients.

Friendly service as well which is always a bonus.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emsmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lazuli also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Lazuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing