We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed at the Jafferji House last week and our stay was a very memorable one. The hotel has such a perfect location at the heart of Stone Town. The balance combination of culture and tradition ensures that each guest has an eventful stay. We stayed in the Mercury suite and we couldnt have asked for better. All the antique pieces at the hotel give such a zanzibari feeling.
Apart from the decor and service, the food was even extraordinary. Each bite leaves one with nothing more to desire. Jafferji House and Spa is the ultimate choice for anyone visiting stone town!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zahra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent our last day in Zanzibar and couldn't have ended our trip in better fashion. After entering our Princess Salme suite, I spent half an hour exploring the many interior details from an antique telephone to decorated wood carvings and old Zanzibar pictures. The room was also equipped with a very well functioning A/C and fans. Dinner and breakfast were simple, yet absolutely delicious with a very democratic price tag. Highly recommend Jafferjee to anyone visiting Stone Town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here for one night on our final evening in Zanzibar, unfortunately Jafferji House & Spa was somewaht of a disappointment. The building is stunning, however, the attention to details and level of service that we would expect of a 'luxury' hotel were missing. We were upgraded from the Kabisa suite to the Princess Salame Suite. The latter room was stunning, the former very disappointing; extremely dark, musty smelling, and the toilet pretty much visible from anywhere in the room! Not exactly romantic...

Aside from this, the other aspects that disappointed us were:

- Impersonal check-in; we weren't made to feel at home or overly welcomed
- Shambolic breakfast service; even though we appeared to be the only people staying in the hotel, there were no staff at breakfast at all and it was all very awkward. Good breakfast when it finally arrived but the experience was less than polished.
- Poor transfer service; for peace of mind, we booked the airport taxi transfers ($24) - 30 minutes after the transfer was supposed to have been, the driver eventually ambled up. We cut it very fine to catch our flight and the receptionist on duty was less than bothered about getting us to the airport on time.
- Other bits and bobs: mouldy bathroom ceiling, very little water in room (despite the fact that the tap water is undrinkable for brushing teeth, tea etc), some plugs not working and lack of light bulbs in bathroom lights.

All in all, they have the decor and furnishings spot on but - to make this hotel worth the money, some serious attention to service levels is needed. We are already planning our next trip back to Zanzibar but, unfortunately, we will not be staying at this hotel upon our return.

Room Tip: Don't book the Kabisa Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tamsin1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

i spent a memorable night at the jafferji sultan suit, with the luxurious sultan like setting, the ambiance was extra-ordinary.. perfect lighting! the best of all was the brass tub in the room with the beautiful view and sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAFFERJI, Owner at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you have taken to post this review following your recent stay at the Jafferji House and Spa, which will indeed help all travellers to know what to expect in our hotel!

I sincerely hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.



JAVED JAFFERJI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Wonderful ambiance and artful decor that consists of a fusion of Arab, European and Swahili themes and colors. One can see the owner's (Javed Jafferji) photographs on every wall carefully spelling out the culture and hospitality of Tanzania and Zanzibar. A family home restored- one can feel how people lived in the bygone days and as a gust one can spend hours imagining which family member occupied which room. Each suite is carefully themed and the maze of stairs leaving surprises around every corner. As one climbs to the top floor you are received by a quaint spa overlooking the roof tops of the old city.
The staff and food is wonderful. The location is in the heart of Stone Town and as one steps out can easily be absorbed among the daily lives of the locals. A "must-stay" place. I only wish I had more time.

Room Tip: Stay in the Adnan Suite where you can enjoy the shared terrace/ patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUMIT6271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here on the final night of our week in Zanzibar & had we not booked our flight home for the next morning, we would have extended our stay in a heartbeat! Truly worth every penny- fantastic location in the heart of Stone Town, luxurious rooms decorated with care & excellent service that will meet your every need. Jafferji House just opened its doors recently & I'm sure it will be the city's top boutique hotel in no time- its rooms are far more interesting & unique than the Serena. Each room has its own theme - we stayed in the Adnan Suite, a Pakistani-influenced room named after the owner's nephew. Our room featured a beautiful four-poster Zanzibari bed with colourful drapery, A/C, hot water, plasma TV, and a shared courtyard with lounge chairs. Really appreciated the free wifi & computer access in the lobby. Regarding service, I asked whether it'd be possible to bring up breakfast to our room for 6am (2 hours ahead of hotel breakfast time) as we had an early flight to catch- staff didn't even hesitate to fulfill this request! Didn't get a chance to make use of the spa's services but walking past it, it looks just as luxurious as the rest of the hotel. Thank you to the entire Jafferji Team for making our stay absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crazysushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Back in stone town again, I decided to stay at Jafferji House again. I would like to go back again and again and again. This is a piece of magic set in the heart of a dream world of the Stone town. As you are walking down the narrow alley, bazaars and traders along the street, you find a door...the door to the house and in you go. Just stepping in, Stone town magic seems to continue, the house has a wonderful Zanzibari Stone town feel to it, it has years of history yet it is brand new. The house, each room, the balconies, the small nooks and crannies have such detail and Zanzibar craftsmanship, it is beautiful. It looks great and that is half the story...and with the looks a really nice team, the manager, and who ever else is there. Everything runs really well, perfect but I hardly saw anybody, somehow things just got done in an very unobtrusive manner. The house is a peaceful retreat to the hustle and bustle of stone town just outside the door. I cannot say anything about the style of the place, the photos in all the sites say it much better, if you want immersion, this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
18.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,704 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#6 of 33 in Stone Town
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
574 reviews
7.8 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Address: 170 Gizenga Street | Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £81 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of Zanzibar's historic Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar's most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to the Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes and 10 minutes from the Ferry port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing