We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful night in zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

i like this boutique hotel just as i like zanzibar. 100% zanzibar style and all those decorations there are so lovely and traditional, feel like bring me back to the past of this island even i was never there. besides, it's a quiet place to stay and they take care of their guest very well as if you are at home. if you plan to spend some time to stroll around the stone town,then it's a good choice to stay here cos it's close to most funny places of stone town. by the way,their breakfast was so substantial, you can try to tell they serve it in your room. wake up late..... just get lazy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Song L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donphida, Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We believe that personalized service will always make you feel at home. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at Jafferji House & Spa and once again, thank you for your positive comments!

Warm Regards, Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I recently spent one night at the Jafferji house and Spa after undertaking a safari in Kenya and Tanzania. It is situated in the middle of old Stonetown and looks unassuming from the front. But once inside away from the hustle and bustle of the old town, calm and tranquility prevail. The rooms are wonderfully decorated in an old Arab style. Each room has plenty of space and facilities and the staff are excellent and attentive. In particular we enjoyed the company of Sumaiyya the reservations manager who was very helpful and informative. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in Stone Town.

Room Tip: We were in the Spice Suite overnight but we wanted a late checkout and we were placed in the Mercury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donphida, Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Jambo Andy,

Thank you very much for a great review on your stay with us. It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed the architecture of Jafferji House and our services. Thank you also for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to know that you recommend our hotel to the Trip Advisor Community
Sumaiyya sends you both warm regards from sunny Zanzibar ☺

We hope to welcome you back again in the future
Best Regards, Donna Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

An oasis of calm and civility in the heart of Stone Town. Almost every nook and cranny of this beautiful property is crammed full of interesting antiques and artifacts. The staff were all very helpful and attentive. All of the rooms are very different, each thoughtfully decorated in accordance with its theme. We stayed 3 nights at the end of a safari and enjoyed our stay immensely. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Adnan's and Out of Africa are both very large and quiet. I don't believe there is a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bramble5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donphida, Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your stay with us, we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel. Be assured that our staff members have been informed of your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again at jafferji House & Spa

Warm regards, Donna Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a night at Jafferji House in September 2013 after having sent many guests previously as an agent. I was very impressed with the hotel, it has such a warm and homely feel, with antiques everywhere and photos by the hotels owner and renown photographer Javed Jafferji.
All of the rooms are different and unique. The Out of Africa Suite I thought was the best in the Signature suite level, and I stayed in Princess Salme Suite in the Superior Deluxe level.
All of the rooms are lavishly furnished, Air Conditioned and have a good range of satellite tv channels.
The location is perfect and easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants, along with other attractions.
They have a very special roof terrace that can be booked for private dining and must have one of the best views in town. Ask for this on arrival or ask your agent to book this for you when confirming the room.
In summary, an excellent hotel that I will continue to use as my luxury option in Stonetown, it was a real pleasure staying here.

Room Tip: Out of Africa Suite for Signature level, Princess Salme for Superior Deluxe. Dont worry if these ar...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donphida, Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear John,

What an amazing review about your stay at Jafferji House & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip advisor. This is very much appreciated!

I am pleased that you enjoyed the location which indeed is very convenient.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again at Jafferji House & Spa

Asante Sana
Warm Regards, Donna Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Searched online for a hotel in Stone Town, the pictures astonished me, and the reality is even better, but...

Booked after contacting the hotel via email and phone to ensure everything is fine, my booking was for 6 days, on arrival I found out that the reservation manager forgot to reserve the room, and it's available for 2 days only, after that I have to be kicked out from the hotel for a night, then can come back!!! perfect start for a romantic holiday!!!
At the end of the day, after I arranged booking with a different hotel, the same manager told me that she arranged the room and I can stay! obviously I didn't, despite they offered me a complimentary 20 min massage

Pros:
- practical location, close to everything
- nice interiors
- very helpful staff
- very nice massage, take at least 1 hour and you won't regret it

Cons:
- the management need to run the hotel in a more professional way
- check your bill before leaving, I was asked to pay double the price (by the main manager?) till I provided a proof of the agreed rate
- The neighborhood is very noisy, and the windows don't insulate sound almost at all, not recommended for light sleepers
- cars cannot reach it, there is a short walking distance of about 50 meters if the driver knows where to park

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here only one night after a safari and were graciously upgraded to the Sultan's Suite! The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Excellent service - no request a bother. They even made our dinner reservations at another hotel when their rooftop was booked and provided a walking escort to and from. This is not a beach resort so don't expect quite, serene surroundings. This is historic, busy Stone Town complete with call to prayer and the street noise of daily life. Knowing this will make your stay more special to enjoy what Stone Town has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights following a two week safari. We wanted to experience the historical aspect of Zanzibar before a few days on the beach and this beautifully restored historical property that was filled with outstanding photographs and stunning art. The staff were friendly and very helpful - especially in offering a security staff to walk us to our restaurant location in the old town at night and ensure that we got home safely. The breakfast was plentiful with great baking that no one could resist.

We had the Out of Africa room which was great, while our friends had the Adanan Suite which was beautiful but was located such that there was more street noise.

A relaxing retreat and well located for a historical experience. A good location for exploring the old town and easy access to other side trips on the south of the island.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue then ask which rooms are positioned to get street noise because some do and oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DagnyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
548 reviews
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
300 reviews
18.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Address: 170 Gizenga Street | Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £79 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of Zanzibar's historic Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar's most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to the Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes and 10 minutes from the Ferry port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing