We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, authentic, friendly staff, good service, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Jafferji suite, which had a spacious and nice terrace area with a bath tub outside. The room/hotel is very traditional African style which is nice. Breakfast is very good, u get to order the eggs off the menu so they come fresh. Hotel staff are very friendly and caring. Good location, few steps from the beach and the house of wonders and all the markets.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bjassoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donphida, General Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your recent visit. The Jafferji Suite is the favorite suite of most of our guests and I am delighted that you had the chance to experience this suite that is dedicated to the family name.

Our staff take great interest in our guests to ensure that their stay with us is most comfortable and memorable.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to Jafferji House & Spa

Kindest Regards, Donna Da Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

My partner and I stayed at Jafferji for three nights in mid-January. We stayed in the Spice Room, which was spacious and very comfortable. The decor in our room and indeed the whole hotel is beautiful. The air conditioning in the room was very efficient and provided welcome relief from the sticky heat of Stone Town. The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of the town and within walking distance of all of the restaurants and sights. The breakfasts were lovely and all the staff were so friendly and efficient. I was really impressed by the housekeeping service, always tidying the room when we had vacated it to make sure they were not disturbing us.
The manager Rosemary made a special effort to come and introduce herself at breakfast one morning and to make sure that we had everything we needed, this was very appreciated.
The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.
A wonderful stay, I can't think of anything that Jafferji need to improve on.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doofus1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donphida, General Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review. It was our great pleasure to take care of you both. Thank you so much for your warm comments about the team as they strive to ensure all our guests receive personalized service and a memorable experience.
Rosemary was delighted to read your review and together with our staff, send their best wishes to you both.
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Zanzibar.

Kindest Regards, Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

For starters, this place is amazingly well-located, right in the middle of Stown Town. It does have lots of charm and character and care has been put into the decor. We booked a double room, but the room we got - the Livingstone seemed more suited to a single person and was somewhat cramped for 2 people. We were also disappointed with the service at this hotel. We had to ask over and over again for basic things like towels, pillows etc. All in all, this hotel felt like a place that was resting on its laurels, but actually the service was not really up to scratch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donphida, General Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for leaving a review on your experience following your recent stay with us.
We sincerely regret that the Livingstone suite was not up to your expectations even though you enjoyed the location and the decor. All are suites are fitted with a traditional carved double bed and I am sorry that you felt the bed was small. The issues you experienced with our housekeeping services are definitely not the norm and be rest assured we have taken the necessary steps to correct this as we strive to make each of our guests stay a personalized and memorable one.

We would love the opportunity to change your impression about Jafferji House & Spa.
Please do not hesitate to contact me for a future reservation.

Kindest Regards, Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel for the days leading up to our wedding, and for our wedding night. This perfectly beautiful wedding and stay was made possible by Donna, the general manager, who coordinated this most exquisite and unforgettable ceremony. The rest of the wonderful staff at the hotel made our time their unforgettable. This is truly a one of a kind boutique 5 star hotel that is like nothing you have stayed at before. The history and indescribable decor, along with the very friendly and professional staff is nothing short of extraordinary. If you are looking for a place in an island paradise on the most underrated and undiscovered place in the world, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathansbrown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've had the chance to stay at Jafferji House twice in the last year - once with my family and once with my spouse. Each time we've been excited by the quality and character of this boutique hotel. With the great spa upstairs (absolutely fantastic foot massages) and easy elegance, it has become our favorite spot to stay in Stonetown (and the only one we have written a review for, which should mean something). At our last stay, we requested to breakfast on the roof, and the response was an immediate "of course!" and they made it happen. If you like antique, authentic feel with the intimacy and romance of a boutique hotel, this is the place to splash out on. It's also a great place for small children. Many of the other nice hotels have frightening stairs and balconies, and I won't take my toddlers there. But Jafferji House doesn't have these, and the rooms are very spacious. Requesting extra beds has not been a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank congomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We arrived at Jafferji House in early January, after a full day travelling from Serengeti, and after being welcomed to our room (the Mercury Suite) one of our first thoughts was "we should have booked to stay for more than one night". The hotel and suite were beautifully decorated, and the staff were extremely helpful. Facilities in the room included everything we needed plus more. It had air-con, wifi, and TV (which we didn't even turn on as there was so much else to do). We were keen to explore Stonetown but were a bit uncertain on on how difficult it would be, however, once we asked at the front desk they provided expert guidance, and we spent a few hours wandering around the wonderful sights of Stonetown, including watching the sunset over the ocean. After excellent night's sleep we enjoyed breakfast and were on our way. Thank you to the team at Jafferji house!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Our stay at Jafferji House was incredible. We received excellent service from the staff, starting with a friendly collection from the airport. The hotel is located in the heart of Stone Town, making sight-seeing and exploration effortless. The building itself is architecturally impressive, with carefully selected lighting and furnishings and beautiful wooden features. We stayed in the Freddie Mercury Suite the first night and upgraded to the Sultan Suite the following night. Both suites were comfortable and well-maintained - we had no problems with internet access or air conditioning and hot water was readily available. The Jafferji House has a restaurant with very good quality food and also offers a private dining experience on the rooftop with views of Stone Town and glorious sunsets on the sea. My partner took advantage of this beautiful location to propose to me and we will definitely be planning a return trip in the future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.0 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
548 reviews
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
299 reviews
18.9 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Address: 170 Gizenga Street | Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £79 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of Zanzibar's historic Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar's most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to the Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes and 10 minutes from the Ferry port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing