We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jafferji House & Spa
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

we had the most wonderful stay here! lovely rooms, good service, and best of all - the breakfast! if we ever come back to stonetown, this is where we'll be.
if you want to be close to the center, the location is perfect. personally, we felt the city center was a bit noisy with too many salesmen offering you anything but their left kidney.

but Jafferji House truly felt like a little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LineEivind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donphida, Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor! I am thrilled to read that you had a great time with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Jafferji House & Spa.. Kind regards, Donna Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    74
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
174
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was by far one of the best hotel rooms I've ever had. Service was impeccable, housekeeping amazing, staff friendly and helpful, restaurant good. Good location, easily walk to Foordhani Gardens and anywhere in Stone Town. I would definitely recommend Jafferji House to anyone staying in Stone Town!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Mercury Suite and loved it- but I really think you can't go wrong- these rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alissafoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donphida, Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Alyssa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards, Donna Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notodden, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We cane t Stone Town from a rather poor resort at the East side of the island. Found this hotel online. In the narrow streets/alleys of Stone Town, inside a rather simple looking door, opens up a fantastic hotel. We stayed in the "Spice house" for two nights, and it was just a blast in smells. I really felt like a sultan when staying there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Ibsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donphida, Manager at Jafferji House & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
It was our pleasure to welcome you to Jafferji House & Spa. And I am grateful that you shared your experience on Tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you back again to Zanzibar and to Jafferji House & Spa.

Kindest Regards, Donna Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Jafferji House and Spa is by far one of the best hotel experiences of my life (and I travel a lot). The staff were incredible, friendly and very attentive. I originally booked a basic room and upon arrival was upgraded to the Sultan Suite. The suite smelled amazing and was decorated beautifully. The entire hotel is a work of art with dozens of stunning photographs displayed by the owner (famous Zanzibar photographer) throughout. I was treated and felt like royalty during my one night stay. I without any reservations highly recommend this hotel. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The staff of Jafferji House & Spa are wonderful. They were happy to fulfill any request with a smile. The hotel is extremely quiet. Other hotels can apparently be quite noisy, so this is an important feature. Breakfast was very good. It's buffet style so it's fast and plentiful.

Room Tip: Executive Suite very nice Antique Theme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yusuf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent 2 nights in this excellent hotel with good service in the center of Stonetown. Every room is uniquely furnished, you feel like a sultan. A swimming pool is not missed, the roof top offers stunning views.
Tip: spending a night and day in Stonetown allows for a much more intense experience than just a day trip to ZNZ.

Room Tip: Princess of Salme or any other room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great hotel, very stunning decor. Room was fantastic. Very friendly and efficient staff. Free use of internet and pc a bonus. Good tour options and great service providers. Ideal location and close to sights. Felt safe at all times. Very clean. Good restaurant as well.

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L4Evo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jafferji House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jafferji House & Spa

Property: Jafferji House & Spa
Address: 170 Gizenga Street | Gizenga Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jafferji House & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jafferji House & Spa is located in the heart of Zanzibar's historic Stone Town, behind the Old Fort, which is just a stroll from the House of Wonders. It is conveniently located to Zanzibar's most vibrant shops and restaurants on the sea front. Close to the Forodhani gardens. Transfer time to and from the airport is about 20 minutes and 10 minutes from the Ferry port ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jafferji House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jafferji House & Spa Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing