We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my new favourite place!”
Review of Emerson Spice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emerson Spice
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Juba
2 reviews
“my new favourite place!”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Spent two nights, at the beginning and end of a week's trip to Zanzibar. Stayed in the Belle room the first time and Camille room the second. Both rooms were huge, with beautiful furnishings and huge windows, with balconies that ran the length of the room too. Bathrooms were lovely - huge bath, good water pressure, hot water.

The location is great, central and within easy walking distance of shops, cafes, the seafront.

Breakfast is served on the roof terrace and is lovely - eggs and fruit, and great coffee. I ate lunch downstairs one day and it was delicious, and also had the 5 course meal on the roof terrace in the evening - which was excellent food - varied, fresh, healthy, for a very reasonable $30 USD.

It's full of character, the staff are lovely and I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    59
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
266
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london, england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed one night here this week. Air conditioning, beautiful rooms, first class service. It was really hot and humid and Emerson Spice provided a five star respite.

The rooftop dinner was terrific but dont have a late lunch as you wont make it through!

Room Tip: We were advised not to have a room on the square because of the mosques but unfortunately they are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

We spent 1 night and had a fabulous experience at Emerson spice, they arranged our transfers to and from hotel, provided everything you could wish for and the room & food was amazing.
The rooftop dinner was excellent & chef/waiters extremely friendly and service was best we had in Zanzibar.
Our room had two bathrooms, one outside which was great way to relax, although not private enough as cotton privacy screen blowing in the wind - but fine to cool off in a swimming costume.
The biggest twin room I've ever seen.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bl19uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The place is amazing, with each room having its own personality and an eclectic mix of furnishings. It's very central with everything an easy walk. The taxi can't drop you off at the front door though, as the streets are too narrow, so you end up carrying your bags the last 100m or so. The staff are friendly and can orgaise walking tours with knowledgable guides. We had the famous 5 course degustation on two nights - the first time it was great, the second time not so much... Breakfast was good and the views from the Tea Garden on the roof are fantastic! It's got plenty of personality and style.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Briony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zabul, AF
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I have traveled all over the world, and this is without a doubt the most tasteful and exquisitely decorated hotel that I have ever stayed in. I stayed in the Kate Room in July 2012, and despite all of the positive TA reviews, it exceeded all of my expectations. The room has not one but TWO oversized bathtubs to relax in after a hot day in Stonetown. The room's color scheme in tandem with the natural lighting is absolutely gorgeous. The room's highlight, however, is the private tea garden and veranda that looks out over the cobblestone streets below. Emerson, the owner of the hotel, left no detail to chance when designing this and the other rooms I glanced in to. The rooftop restaurant was also top-notch. I spent two nights in the hotel and chose to eat in the restaurant both nights. The chefs plan the menu each day based upon what is fresh and available at the market, and Emerson gives them plenty of latitude to experiment and create very unique and delectable dishes. In summary, I am pretty finicky with hotels and rarely write reviews because very few truly impress. Emerson Spice, however, set the bar high above the rest and truly deserves the accolades.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Currently staying at the Emerson Spice Hotel - Zanzibar, and had to quickly jump on here to sing its praises!
The place sticks out like a sore thumb in the middle of Stone Town, but in a great way, as when you come across it, it's like an oasis in a metropolis of ancient brick work, but one look at the Emerson Spice, and you know this is the only place to stay!
Once you are in the building, there is no disappointment, the decor is as you would expect from a first class Colonial hotel, with service (I found) second to none, and the room really took my breath away. The bed was the biggest I’ve seen and the bath would easily accommodate a small water polo team!
The balcony is large enough to stroll up and down, and has enough seating area to accommodate afore mentioned polo team! It also has great views of the Zanzibar hubbub around, of which you are blissfully unaware of once in the hotel!
The rooftop dining area gives spectacular views of the whole of Zanzibar, which is emphasised in the evening, enjoying some first class food while enjoying the sun setting over an amazing view. Again, the service was second to none, and the food was more breath taking than the views!!
Would I stay here again? Well, I will find it hard to leave in the first place, so come and share my enjoyment :-)

Room Tip: Stayed in the "Belle" suit, directly over the reception, absolutly amazing, but to be hone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soldier123211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Dinner in the rooftop restaurant was magnificent!
The hotel was full as the music fectival was on and we were allocated the SMALL room in the hotel. A total rip off! According to my travel agent they were not informed that the room was small and were charged the same price as for the other normal rooms. I had the chance of looking in all the rooms once they emptied after the festival and they are absolutely magnificent. If I was given a normal room I would have given this hotel rave review.My rating is based on the room I was given.
Make sure you don't get the small room!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mildredCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 34 in Stone Town
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
7.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 34 in Stone Town
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 34 in Stone Town
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Spice

Property: Emerson Spice
Address: Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired and lovingly restored Merchant’s House, this multi-storied small Boutique hotel has an inner courtyard, eleven unique antiques-filled rooms, and two of Zanzibar’s best restaurants. All rooms are equipped with a small fridge, air conditioner, fan, and high ceiling mosquito net. The rooftop ‘Tea House’ hosts one of Stonetown’s most renowned restaurants offering a stylish ambiance amidst the sound of the calls to prayer from the town’s many mosques. The five course ‘Taste Safari’, prepared daily by our Zanzibari chefs, is seafood based and celebrates the freshest and best the market has to offer each morning. The sunset hour is an integral and pleasurable part of the experience so diners are encouraged to arrive at around 6pm to enjoy a ‘Sundowner’ before dinner. On the Ground floor The Secret Garden, set amidst lushly landscaped hidden ‘Ruins’, open to the skies, has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countries Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Spice Hotel Stone Town
Emerson Spice Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing