We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in Stone Town”
Review of Emerson Spice

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Emerson Spice
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hotel in Stone Town”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This place is perfectly curated it make it feel more like an experience of Stone Town than just a hotel. The interiors are stunning without sacrificing comfort. I highly recommended staying here -- I stayed for 3 nights in the Violetta Room, which has a wrap-around terrace where they can serve (big) breakfast at no extra cost. The lighting in some of the visitor photos of the room posted here make things look a little off/shiny -- check out their facebook page instead, as those photos are a better representation of what it actually looks like. If you can't stay here, then at least have the rooftop dinner (which must be booked in advance). Well worth it. Thanks to Russell and his team for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 79wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    58
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
255
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I could easily picture Hemingway holing up here to write a great novel. The hotel has a shabby chic thing going on that is romantic and literary. The service is good - and I highly recommend having them arrange a tour guide for a walking tour of Stone Town.

The real star here is the 4 or 5 course dinner - get up there for a drink before dinner and watch the sun set. Then get ready for a new take on Zanzibar flavors. Seafood and spices come together in new ways and the experience is wonderful.

For me, this is a good choice of places to stay in Stone Town - but be warned that it is a bit of a hike from the road to the hotel, and in the zigzagging streets of Stone Town, it can be hard to find. Take a cab from the airport and make sure the driver walks you to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank san_shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in this great little 'hotel'. We chose Kate which is undoubtedly the most beautiful of all the rooms, with 2 balconies and lots of billlowing curtains, coloured glass panes and gentle breezes. But dont be disappointed if it is already booked. All the rooms are gorgeous, some smaller than others but no less special. 10 stars go to service, to friendly staff, to the food and to the location. We spent lots of time just enjoying the space. Stone Town is small and I suggest you do a most enjoyable walk through town with Fahrid who has a great sense of the towns history with a healthy disrespect for convention. Eat the 5 course meal on the roof deck and make time to eat a small meal in the lobby while watching the street go by. I dream of the crispy salt and pepper calamarti. But more than everything I want to be woken up every morning for the rest of my life by that gentle knock, that friendly greeting, big smile and a pot of spicy coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Totally enjoyed the experience. This small hotel is truly a taste of the old times in Zanzibar. Wonderful décor, service and food. The nightly dinner on the rooftop is not to be missed. I often tell people about this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jafadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in the KATE room which has 2 balconies and is furnished in a quirky style. All the staff were really helpful and breakfast in the roof top restaurant offered great views of Stone Town. The hotel itself is in a good location being perfect for exploring the towns shops/ atmosphere.
The evening tasting menu at the roof top restaurant is well worth trying with several courses with some most unusual combinations all of which were very good and unique.
If staying in Stone Town then Emerson Spice is a great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I had seen the photos of the bedrooms but still wasn't prepared for the reality of their amazing and unique opulence. I was fortunate to stay in three of the rooms, as my brother Russell works there, and each was a different but fabulous experience. I felt like royalty as I stayed my first two nights in 'Kate' near the very top of the hotel. With two terraces at either side of the hotel, I was spoilt for choice, as well as an indoor and outdoor bath! I also stayed in Semele and Simiti(?) and they were both equally amazing and brilliantly decorated and furnished. I loved the breakfasts on the roof terrace; the poached eggs with their amazing orange yokes were the best I've experienced. I also had several top class lunches. All the staff are friendly and attentive and I can't wait to revisit and hopefully stay in the sister hotel, which is being refurbished and which I was fortunate to see. I was blown away by the work being done on the hotel and the views from the various terraces are simply amazing. Due to our busy schedule I was unable to get to meet Emerson, who is clearly a man of exceptional vision which is so evident in the quirky and unique design of each room. I feel so lucky to have experienced this wonderful hotel and would like to thank everyone involved with it for making my stay so comfortable and unforgettable.

Room Tip: All the rooms look incredible. You will probably be woken by the early call to prayer, but even thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 45Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I travel widely, but I would rate this as the best hotel experience I have ever had.

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in February, on the occasion of her birthday. The staff were unbelievably helpful - arranging with me in advance all sorts of surprises like flowers in the (amazing) room, champagne etc, then serenading the birthday girl as they took her up to show her the room. The room (Valletta, I think it was called?) was incredible: beautiful, interesting furniture, romantic bed and a 70 foot verandah overseeing the market below - perfect for lounging on day beds with a coffee and drinking in the atmosphere. The cuisine at the rooftop restaurant was sophisticated, delicious and generous - not cheap of course but better value than any other I had in Stown Town considering the quality. I just wished we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBrown1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerson Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Spice

Property: Emerson Spice
Address: Tharia Street, Kiponda, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Business Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inspired and lovingly restored Merchant’s House, this multi-storied small Boutique hotel has an inner courtyard, eleven unique antiques-filled rooms, and two of Zanzibar’s best restaurants. All rooms are equipped with a small fridge, air conditioner, fan, and high ceiling mosquito net. The rooftop ‘Tea House’ hosts one of Stonetown’s most renowned restaurants offering a stylish ambiance amidst the sound of the calls to prayer from the town’s many mosques. The five course ‘Taste Safari’, prepared daily by our Zanzibari chefs, is seafood based and celebrates the freshest and best the market has to offer each morning. The sunset hour is an integral and pleasurable part of the experience so diners are encouraged to arrive at around 6pm to enjoy a ‘Sundowner’ before dinner. On the Ground floor The Secret Garden, set amidst lushly landscaped hidden ‘Ruins’, open to the skies, has a Zanzibari inspired A La Carte Menu. Look out for live music performed by The Dhow Countries Music Academy. Open for Lunch and Dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Spice Hotel Stone Town
Emerson Spice Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing