We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Emerson Spice
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Emerson on Hurumzi(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coco De Mer Hotel(Stone Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kholle House(Stone Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
492
66
19
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
492
66
19
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe secret gardentasting menurooftop restaurantmobile phonecall to prayerspeed dialtea houseunique experiencelocal ingredientssister propertymagical hotellong balconyspecial hoteloutdoor bathtubstained glass windowshigh ceilingsmemorable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 583 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Walking from the taxi drop off to get to this unique riad style hotel is well worth the effort. You land in the middle of Stone Town activity in an opulent, beautiful setting. From the moment staff greet you until you have to say good bye you are treated to ambiance and service second to none. We stayed close to the top in Mimi, the one room without a veranda. The winding stair climb allowed us to stop at each landing and look down at the gorgeous colors and design of the courtyard below us . Peeking in other rooms revealed each to be a visual treat of exotic decor. Our room was spacious with comfortable beds and a great bathroom. We could look out the window to the busy street below. The sounds of the street and the chanting and drumming associated with the end of Ramadan added to the exotic ambiance for us. Russell, the manager, frequently checked in with us to assure our comfort and we couldn't be more satisfied. Whether eating at the wonderful rooftop restaurant with the city views and well spiced food, sitting in the lobby and taking in the sights of the bustling street activity or talking with the warm and accommodating staff, the stay at Emerson is unforgettable and not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank octsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent a night at the Emerson Spice Hotel in the midst of Stone Town Zanzibar early August 2014. An incredible experience. 7 Themed bedrooms. We stayed in Belle which is west facing with the main entrance below the room. We spent a fair amount of time on the verandah enoying the sounds and sights of life in the busy courtyard below. We had the most unusual and delicously different dinner at the roof top restaurant. I can highly recommend this hotel for its authenticity, genuine charm, and friendliness and efficiency of staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vivienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Unfortunately we were not able to stay at the Emerson Spice as it was booked. However we were able to have lunch on the rooftop deck complete with billowing multi color curtains and ornate carved furnishings. The decor, the views, the staff and service, and the food were excellent. (And we peeked into the rooms on the way up, up, up to the roof and were envious!). The menu leans toward Indian and Ethiopian cuisine/preparations but after all what else would you come for, and it was well spiced but not overwhelming. If we could have, we would have been back for dinner too.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

How do you star a restaurant? Relative to all restaurants you've ever been to? In which case the reader needs to know what your experience is. 3 stars from me.
Relative to Zanzibar restaurants? In which case 5 stars.
I gave it 4. Didn't know what else to do.
Staff fantastic. Wine wonderful - order the Trimbach Gewurztraminer- an off dry sensation that adapts well to the overly varied menu. Apparently hardly anyone orders it. This is a shame.
Each dish was good but FAR TOO SALTY- (I know I'm yelling but so was the salt). However the whole meal was a confusion of flavours that didn't blend well.
Simplifying things would improve it immeasurably.

When you book they send you a letter. A letter! On paper. I love this.

If this seems a harsh review I don't mean it to be. It's the best restaurant I've been to in Zanzibar and well worth the price. Go there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Brock C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights and it was truly memorable. If I were to summarise:

Welcome : Can't be topped....

Room (Lamour) : Clean, spacious, comfortable, colorful.... just stunning and very unique. The beds were large and comfortable, stunning reclaimed wood used for two giant chairs, nice outside patio, large windows with wooden shutters and long lovely drapes..... the list goes on.

Service: Laundry and wifi was complimentary. Room serviced daily and also a nice turn down service. A cell phone is in the room which you can take with you if you go out and you can speed dial reception who will send someone to come and escort you back to the hotel (Stonetown is quite a Labyrinth and easy to get lost on your first day).

Staff : You couldn't ask for more. The friendly attention to their customers was amazing throughout the stay from the reception, housekeeping, porters, restaurant, the manager.... all superb.

Breakfast : Continental included in rate. Loved the spiced coffee. Started with a large and varied fruit platter and then eggs made to order with nice toast and other goodies.

Dinner: We had dinner on the rooftop on our 2nd night and it was a superb 5 course seafood degustation with a good wine selection and great service. The rooftop is hard to beat location-wise.... such a good night.

We were sad to leave this place... it's really rather special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scbi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews