We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thief !!!”
Review of Kholle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kholle House
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel has a good location and very amicable owners. The terrasse on the roof is a lovely place.

It would have been a good value and I would likely have given a better review if I hadn't had belongings stohlen during my stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guests,

This is what our manager tells me about your comment:
"Never heard of anything gone missing from a guest during this season so far.
This guest stayed in #14...
We received a call day before from a guest checking if they had forgotten their hat /cap. The house keeping said nothing was found left behind. No theft has been reported for sure!"

Besides, a note in each and every room kindly requests our guests to put their valuables in the electronic safe available in the rooms.

No need to say that we are puzzled by your report>

Sincerely,

Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Kholle House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Entering this house was like walking into the past and living for a while like the princess who originally built this house did. The walls are thick and the decor is astonishing. The rooms are locked with a thick padlock. The bathroom is exquisite with a stone bathtub. A lot of nice wood carving all around the place. So beautiful! Even though the hotel can be difficult to find in the evening it is not a problem as you can always find some helpful people to help you finding your way back to the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. You've just got to try it!

Room Tip: I had a Classic room and it was quite good for one person. If you are a tall person - above 1.65m I...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josselyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for these very positive appreciations.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Really charming hotel....

I loved every second of staying here, I travelled by myself so the standard room was the perfect size for me! The attention to detail is spot on... beautiful stained glass, wooden carvings and apparently original features. Breakfast was a really pleasant experience with good coffee and the freshest of fruits. I noted that other people complained about the internet access but really when you are in Zanzibar it is nice to switch off from the outside world!

Wonderful staff - couldn't be more helpful.

The only complaint I have is that I had a massage and I'm not 100% sure that the masseuse was qualified, I'm used to getting massages wherever I go and this one just wasn't great and a little different to ones I've had before.

One tip - bring dollars to pay as the exchange rate isn't great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsmul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your most encouraging comments.
Truly, we did our best to restore an authentic Swahili atmosphere. We are humbled and pleased that you loved it!
Kwaheri!

Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Well what can I say, a little gem on the edge of Stonetown. My husband had been to Zanzibar before, but it was my first visit and we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We live in the Centre of Dar es Salaam, so it was so nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of such a busy city. We didn't mind not being in the centre of Stonetown and the five minute walk along the seafront was very refreshing and most definitely a lot easier than getting lost in Stonetown, trying to find your hotel in the narrow streets late at night, in the dark.

We came off the Ferry and a member of staff was just by the gate with a nice printed sign "Welcome to Kholle House Tina". He then escorted us, the all of two minute walk to Kholle House, where a cool glass of refreshing Hibiscus tea was served by a charming member of staff in traditional Arabic dress. We were shown to our room, which had been upgraded to Deluxe, as it was our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was divine, with a veranda overlooking the pool. We love rustic chic and it felt like a house rather than a hotel, having only ten rooms. We went for a dip in the pool and then out to eat from the local stalls at Farazani Gardens, not recommended if you don't live and eat locally, but as we live in Dar, not a problem. We liked the sound of the call to prayer from the nearby mosque and the fog horns from the ships at sea, for us they added to the ambiance. The next day they arranged for a charming driver, with a very comfortable people carrier to take us to our destination, Kendwa Rocks in the North, he gave us a history lesson and tour on the way there and showed us a DVD about Zanzibar on the way back. Well breakfast, nearly forgot, that lasted up until dinner time, fresh local fruits and yogurt, egg, tomato and toast, then pancakes with honey, coffee or tea, you don't have to have it all but we did !

The ambience of the house is amazing and I felt like a princess. They very kindly allowed us to see some of the rooms that were not occupied, as we are planning to go back in September and I must say I wouldn't mind spending a night in any of them, they are all charming. The staff were more than accommodating and allowed us to keep our room until 3pm, when we left for the 330pm ferry, so we had another dip in the pool before leaving. We are planning to go back in September for my husband and I's 50th Birthday. I have never really liked hotels, I find them extremely impersonal and the owner of Kholle House has gone to great lengths and with meticulous detail, to make you feel you are a guest in someone’s home and not only that, but like you have gone back in time.

Room Tip: All rooms are charming! Depends if you want a large, average or small one or one with a balcony and...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinakamei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Madam and Sir,
Thank you so much for your excellent comments about Kholle House, the Princess's hideaway in the oldest part of Stone Town, Malindi.
WE were under restoration work and you have been kind enough not to mention it.
We shall be delighted to welcome you for another anniversary.
Cordialement,
Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We ended our Tanzanian trip with a three night stay in Stonetown. The hotel is close to the harbour and ferry departure, and a ten minute walk from the center of town . It is built in an old three stories riad with a small garden and pool in the middle. Staff is friendly. Our "superior" room was dark (no sunlight, dark furniture), Traditional furnitures come at the expense of confort (small bed) and convenience (no place to put luggage and clothes). Noisy air conditioning and rudimentary bathroom. We enjoy traditional hotels but were looking at better confort. The terrace faces the harbour with large container ships. Only disappointing stay in a disappointing town at the end of a wonderful Tanzanian trip. We recommend a shorter stay in Stonetown and another hotel !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments - some of them being positive - about Kholle House.
The spirit of a boutique hotel is authenticity and charm and may be this is the reason why you did not find all the modern standards of comfort you might have expected.
May be also your experience of Kholle House would have been more positive if you have tried a deluxe or a prestige room. Our classic rooms are a bit cramped and we usually market them for single occupation.
Sincerely,

Francis,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a family of four in one of the pool facing rooms. The hotel itself is tucked away but has great charm, with wooden furniture and an absolutely lovely courtyard pool. On the roof top there is a wonderful terrace overlooking the city and port which is a great place for either a sundowner or massage. There was air conditioning in the room and a large bath which was like a mini swimming pool for the children.

The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating with our young children. The breakfast was very generous with full english, fruit and delicious pancakes on offer. All in all a very good experience in what can be a quite hectic town. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwasaju, Owner at Kholle House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2014

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for these so kind and most encouraging words.

Sincerely,

Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Located in the old town of Zanzibar this hotel is very charming and typical. All build in stone.... The breakfast is ok. But you don't have lunch only diner with a small card. It's not a big deal as you are not far from all the good restaurants in town. The rooms are small but functional. Better ask for a pool side room because of the noise from the street. Very nice staffs. Recommendation for short stay or to start a trip to Zanzibar

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dinouchette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kholle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kholle House

Address: Malindi 607 / 608, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 642, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £70 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kholle House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kholle House fact sheet:Services & Facilities:• Wi-Fi available• Outdoor swimming pool• Transport to/from airport if required at an additional charge. Zanzibar airport and Dar es Salaam airport – ferry dock• Island tours and sea activities assistance. Kholle House in the heart of Stone Town is an historical and authentic house build in 1860 which belonged to Princess Kholle. Sister of Sayyid Sultan bin Bargash and Princess Salme. The house has probably been there as a showcase from their crystal collection and porcelain.After the revolution in 1964 the house was confiscated and occupied by several families, this period caused severe damages in the house. Three years of restoration has brought us the pleasure to present our town beloved house, the work done in connection with historical monuments and in full respect with the construction methods in the time (coral rubble, lime, mangrove beams, marble…). With a noble and austere facade the building is typically Omani Arabic style while the garden has more Indo-Victorian fantasy rhythms. This style is featured on the covers of the old dispensary which faces Kholle House, that was restored by the Aga Khan Foundation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kholle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kholle House Hotel Stone Town
Kholle House Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing