We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room and Wonderful Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rumaisa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rumaisa Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and Wonderful Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Rumasisa in July for two nights. We were incredibly pleased with our stay there. Our room was beautiful, very romantic, immaculately clean, working hot water!! The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were crisp! Based on most of the prices in Stone Town I think Rumasia is one of the best values. The location is great, you can walk to everywhere and it is also on a well lit street which I appreciated. Best of all though was Mohammed and Modest (the staff). Mohammed greeted us with a very warm welcome and went out of his way during our stay to ensure we had everything we needed. He even took us in his own car to break the fast (it was Ramadan) with local people, an experience that remains one of the most memorable moments of our trip. Modest helped us arrange every detail to make our stay and departure as easy as possible. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 203, beautiful room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    8
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The Rumaisa was a wonderful home for the last 6 weeks in Zanzibar. The owner, Mohamed, will go out of his way to ensure that you have an excellent experience in Stone Town. He is a wealth of information on anything you might want to know about the island. The staff are incredibly kind and helpful. The rooms are lovely. The location is convenient to the ferry, market and bus area at the Darajani.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safarigani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ås
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed at this nice hotel for two weeks april 2012. Very friendly and serviceminded staff made us feel at home. Great location close to everything but still quiet with view over the sea from the rooftop restaurant.

Room Tip: The room over the reception has WiFi, is big and has veranda with nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here just before Christmas 2011. This relatively new hotel in Stonetown is small, but with everything to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. It is clean and food is fantastic. Mohamed and his staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one. He even gave us a private tour to the less "touristy' fishing harbour and market - highly recommended! The outside restaurant on the top floor has excellent views over the ocean and city. It is well located and nearby the fairy terminal. A highly recommended stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RdV71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

A very nice and new place with 7 rooms. Nice room and bathroom, air con as well as net. VERY nice staff, owner, reception and everyone we met and the top floor outside restaurant. Me, my husband and our 18 yrs son stayed two nights late December 2011 and liked it very much. Breakfast was good and the dinner we decided to eat on night was excellent. Do not dream of paying more downtown. This is a 5 min walk from port and 3 min from the market. Our warmest recomendation for a very nice middleclass hotel. Brita, Marten och David, Sweden

Room Tip: The doublebed is huge, but still space enogh in the room for an extra bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We arrived at Rumaisa without a reservation at short notice on the advice of our taxi driver after cancelling a previous reservation which we were not happy with.
We were accepted enthusiastically by Mohamed, the owner and his staff, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
This a fairly new hotel, and apart from a couple of small teething problems like broken globes, a broken shower hose and a flickering light outside our bedroom window, the rooms were clean, modern and spacious.
It is close to the ferry which was important for us and Mohamed kindly helped us with our luggage to the harbour in his own car when we left.
I cannot fault our two night stay and would definately go back again and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a comfortable and affordable stay in Stone Town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

This was our first trip to Zanzibar, and staying at the Rumaisa Hotel was the perfect choice. The staff are friendly and worked hard to accommodate our preferences. Although the menu was small, the food was excellent and so reasonably priced. The owner made a personal effort to make sure we were comfortable, providing us with insider information & treating us like family. The hotel is located on the edge of Stone Town, so has a feeling of spaciousness the other hotels didn't seem to have, and it is still walking distance to all the things we wanted to see here. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side have a better view & the wireless is accessible here (otherwise may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanikapila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumaisa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumaisa Hotel

Property: Rumaisa Hotel
Address: Malindi, Funguni, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3442, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumaisa is a comfortable 3-star hotel with 10 double rooms. All of them are beautifully furnished, each in different colors, all in typical Zanzibar style with the comfort that modern life demands - AC, ceiling fan, current hot and cold water, a mini-bar, TV, internet access, en-suite bathroom and toilet. All rooms have at least one balcony, some even two, and are equipped with a built-in solar emergency light ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rumaisa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumaisa Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing