We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great comfortable hotel. right in stonetown.”
Review of Maru Maru Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maru Maru Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great comfortable hotel. right in stonetown.”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Hotel was pretty comfortable and nicely maintained. The location is the best part of this hotel. its situated right in the middle of stonetown with so many historical places just a walk away. Explore the stone town on foot and you can discover shops, museums etc. Couple of minutes away from forodhani gardens.

Now the downside, First is the it can sometimes get quite noisy specially on weekend becuase of loud music being played on the rooftop restaurants. Another bad experience was with hot water. There was some sort of problem with the heater which couldnt be fixed to normal operation during our 3 day stay. :(

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    182
    42
    17
    21
See reviews for
100
157
55
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. Easy access from airport with a taxi, located right by the house of wonders (closed) and the old fort.

Check in was easy, credit card machine didn't work but the next day it did. Free welcome towels and drinks. Free wifi voucher given.

Room was cool with a great aircon was fabulous. Clean bathroom with shower and towels. Safe. View was over the surrounding area. At night they do a turn down and bring sweets and spray your mosquito net for you.

Roof top terrace was divine, definitely worth the sunset and the happy hour. Cocktails were good.

The breakfast buffet was adequate, I have seen some posts about it being bad, but they have all the usual, toast, pastries, bacon, eggs and inserted, fruits and yoghurts. Definitely are our fill!

Worth noting: wifi is sketchy and slow, no swimming pool. But I was not disappointed by the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthAfricaLilly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I visited Zanzibar just a few days ago and spend three days at Maru Maru in Stone Town before heading to a resort at Nungwi beach. In terms of location, I'd say this was very central, a 2 minute walk to the beach and on a great shopping street (I bought all my souvenirs from the same street we lived on). The hotel has a very cosy boutique feel, the rooms were lovely we had a king bed which was super comfortable. In addition, the rooftop bar on the terrace served shisha so every night after our dinner in Stone town we'd come back and chill on the rooftop lounge which was just so lovely.
My only gripe was that I was very disappointed with the food in the hotel. We ordered bar b q on the rooftop lounge and it was not to our taste at all. Also, being from India I have high standards for Indian food so did not like it at all in their restaurant. We even asked them to make us avacado and tomato sandwiches for a picnic and those were strictly ok. I think they can improve greatly on their cuisine but other than that it was a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor on weekends since they have live music (if you plan to sleep early)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasreenmayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The entire charm of this hotel is thanks to the restaurant that they have in the terrace which has some great views of the city and extremely polite and helpful staff. My wife and myself would make it a point to come back here every night and have a couple of drinks and smoke some sheesha. The food here was BELOW average though. The rooms were nice and well kept, however every morning the staff cleaning the water fall would make a lot of noise and wake us up.Unfortunately there was a garbage bin right outside the hotel which would make the entire area smell.

Room Tip: try and get a room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumar Aditya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Excellent location close to the main attractions of stone town - it blends in really well with the surroundings and one has to look twice to make sure its a hotel. It's a fairly new hotel, so everything is clean and neat. Value for money seemed to be excellent when compared to similar hotels in the surrounding areas. The hotel staff are very accommodating, and really go out of their way to assist you (e.g. really going out of their way to make sure you don't have to carry your own bag, without expecting a tip).

Breakfast is decent. The only gripe would be that the food should be covered as there were many flies around when we traveled. Otherwise the food and drinks are really tasty and reasonably priced.

I've read other reviews about not having a view from the room - I wouldn't expect a view in a place like stone town where all buildings are 2-3 floors high and built right next to each other. It's part of the stone town experience.

All in all, a great experience.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor - was very quiet. Can't comment about other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I had the misfortune to attempt an early lunch here the other day. We made it to the rooftop terrace after two different members of staff assured us the restaurant was open. After getting the menu and trying to order, which took half an hour, we were told that the restaurant was actually closed. When we asked a manager if it was possible to just get soup, as I had a dodgy stomach, he said 'yes, I'll ask the chef to make some'. Another half hour later, we asked a member of staff if the soup was coming and we were told it wasn't. Terrible customer service. Also the drinks were very expensive... Avoid!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank IVDD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Location - Perfect location, on a nice shopping street, 5 feet from the Fort and 50 steps to Foodhani Gardens.

Staff - some where very nice, some were okay. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. They set up dinner reservations for us, gave us advice on where to go, and were very pleasant. They also gave us some cookies and drinks and put balloons in our room for our honeymoon which was very nice.

Rooms - air conditioned (which is a necessity there) with a TV with limited channels, but if you like sports, there were cricket, football (soccer), and rugby on the two nights we stayed there. Although we weren't in our rooms too often.

Breakfast - it was pretty good. My only real complain is it is supposed to start at 7 and our last day (while rushing for our flight) we were there at 7 and waited 20 minutes for them to set up. And they were not very pleasant while we tried to tell them we were in a hurry due to our flight.

Rooftop - Great views, great at sunset, and a nice bar. We had one drink up here both nights of our stay and enjoyed them.

Overall, it was a nice stay with a perfect location for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamboJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
31.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maru Maru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maru Maru Hotel

Property: Maru Maru Hotel
Address: 397 - 400 Gizenga Street | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maru Maru Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the UNESCO world heritage site of StoneTown, Maru Maru Hotel is just a few steps from the city’s historical wonders, colourful markets and labyrinth of shops. Once a town house famous for its marble floors and tiles, it has now been lovingly restored to offer 44 bright rooms blending classic Zanzibar style with iconic design and modern luxuries. Its roof terrace offers one of the best views in the city with a 360° panorama and is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail as the sun melts into the Indian Ocean. The relaxed ambiance at Maru Maru continues long into the night as people come to enjoy a vast variety of Continental, Chinese Indian and Swahili cuisine, view art in Maru Maru’s gallery and enjoy the captivating sound of Tahareb music as it floats into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Maru Maru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maru Maru Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing