We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous sandbanks”
Review of Nakupenda Beach

Nakupenda Beach
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Gorgeous sandbanks”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Unmissable trip from Stone Town. With stunning beaches, turquoise sea and coloured starfishes. We took a private boat instead of the tour and packed our own picnic basket.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank jasreenmayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    76
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

So beautiful - the pictures do not even do it justice! We organized a private tour stopping first at Prison Island. WOW - Nakupenda Beaches were the highlight!! Our boat captain even cooked us lobster, shrimp, octopus, and squid on the beach! The snorkeling is incredible and very "untouched" but watch out for the sea urchins near the shore. Probably our highlight while in Zanzibar! Sun is very strong - wear lots of suncreen!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank crenee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never miss this beach when you are in Zanziabar”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a small and beautiful island with very clear water and white sand. Nice place for family and friends.This place is around 15 min boat drive from stone town. The island vanishes when the tide is high so it is always best to visit in the mornings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Ignatious_Enas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“lovely small island for a day of sunbathing.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a tiny sandy island about 15 minutes from Stonetown. If you are up to full day of sunbathing, swimming and snorkeling you will enjoy this island very much. Keep in mind there are no shady areas unless you bring your own beach umbrella . It is full sun exposure. Dhow full of Italians go there everyday to bake in the sun. The white sand and the turquoise water is so picturesque.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank meron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Go private via Nakupenda Isles Safari”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Precision Air lost our luggage so we had to cancel our trup with Blue Safari. When it did arrive we tried to get on Nakupenda Isles Safari and they were full. Instead, through this company, we hired a private dhow and had the best time! First we arrived at the sandbar when no one else was there, just the various staff setting up lunch for the other adventure tours. Three of us snorkeled the bay all to ourselves. Wonderful healthy reef with amazing coral! Once all the other tour boats arrived we departed for Prison Island and while we did not have that place to ourselves it was an interesting place to walk and we snorkelled on a reef offshore.

Yes you have to bring your own snacks but it was worth it a hundred times over to be snorkeling the bay on our own. Highly recommend doing business with Nakupenda Isles Safari!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
14 Thank MexicoLover100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nakupenda Beach also viewed

Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to Nakupenda Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing