We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambiance and good food”

Mashariki Palace Hotel Restaurant
Price range: US$15 - US$40
Cuisines: African, Italian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: On a beautiful terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean, an exclusive ambiance for lunch and dinner. Our cuisine is based on a mix of Italian and Swahili, using only organic and selected products like extra virgin olive oil from a little farm in Tuscany (Italy), whole flour for the home made bread and pasta, brown sugar with selected fruits for the desserts. The tipical Swihili dinner is available all the time! From 18.00pm sunset and cocktails, Dinner from 6:30pm. Karibu!
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Visited this restaurant on 30 September 2016. We received a warm and hearty welcome by both staff and manangement. Pleasantly surprised by the beautiful layout of the hotel and attention to detail. The food was lovely and of good quality. Welldone to the management for turning the hotel into such a gem amongst all the old buildings in Stone Town. We really enjoyed our refreshing and superb lunch.

Thank Suzette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N G, General Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Dear valued guest.
First of all i would like to thank you for your kind words.
Here at Mashariki the management and staff always try to give our guest the best service that they deserve.
I was a pleasure to host you,and hope to see you again in the near future.

Norbert Gertse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2016

we arrived to Mashariki palace after passing Dinner time but the staff was very enthusiastic to serve us and prepared our meal very fast.It was a lovely set up on their roof top but it was kind of isolated that late hours. we couldn't enjoy the view at it was dark hours. Food and service was good but a bit pricey. We did not stay at the hotel but while walking to roof top I noticed its a lovely well maintained location.

Thank PrashanthiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N G, General Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear guest

I want to thank you for your kind words.Here at Mashariki we always strife to give all our guests the best service they deserve, and it was a pleasure to serve you during the late hours of the evening.
The prices are competitive of all the other high standard hotels in town and we are very happy you enjoyed what we prepared for you.
Please come back to us for a night stay as well, to enjoy the legend of one thousand and one nights in our palace. We would be happy to see you again.
Feel welcome.
Norbert Gertse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The curries are wonderful and the pasta was surprisingly good! A nice view over the harbour to watch the sunset with a few drinks and great food.

Thank wallygregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N G, General Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear valued guest.
Thank you so much for your feed back.We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner at our restaurant.Hope to see you again.Enjoy the rest of your holiday in Zanzibar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Mashariki Palace Restaurant has not only awesome food but also delicious cocktails alongside a beautiful view overlooking the sea. Personally their restaurant is one of the best in Zanzibar and I do recommend it as a place one must eat during a stay in Stone town. Norbert, the current General Manager is warm, friendly and very welcoming. You won't regret your visit there!

Thank Nana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N G, General Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear guest
I just want to take the time to thank you for your kind words about our restaurant.
It always gives me great pleasure to know that my dinners are satisfied with our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Absolutely great restaurant in a very clean and classy place. The view from the rooftop is really beautiful. The food, mostly fresh fish is fresh and really well done. Aldo great wine selection and Norbert, the GM, welcomed us in a very friendly way. Will come back for sure!!

Thank Riccardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N G, General Manager at Mashariki Palace Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Dear Riccardo
Thank you for your feed back.It gives me and my staff the motivation to do even better and most importantly to give our guest and dinners and outstanding service.Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mashariki Palace Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing