We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay in stone town”
Review of Al Minar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Al Minar
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We enjoyed our 3 nights stay in this very convenient located hotel in Stone Town.
The rooms in this hotel are still very new (and shiny) and contain hot water in a big shower, a waterboiler for tea and cofee, free bottles of drinking water, airco, good beds, a decent mosquito net...
Furthermore the staff is very helpfull and efficient for arranging tours and transport around the island at the lowest prices.

Yves & Petra (Belgium)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yves_Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here on two different occasions as there was no reason to look anywhere else after our first visit. Probably the best value in all of Stone Town as we got a very decent room with AC etc for less than $80. The bathrooms are immaculately clean and Al-Minar probably offers the tastiest breakfast in Zanzibar.

Staff and management were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay. It's in a charming area of Stone Town, close to the water and most tourist attractions as well as the lively market. A very highly recommended choice!

Room Tip: Anything above the first floor seems to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rookyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We lucked out with finding this hotel. The rooms are very clean, new and comfortable with A/C and mosquito nets. The location couldn't be much better- right in Stown Town, close to the water and near Forodhani Gardens with great street food every evening. The place is well managed and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. The hospitality is exceptional- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARK G, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Candice S
thanks for your encouraging review.we promise to keep up the same standard and even more during your next visit.we the management and staff would like to thank you for the encouragement offered by you during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you are looking for trip to Zanzibar, Hotel Al-Minar is a nice place to be in . It gives you the comfort of a home with all the amenities of a star hotel. Located in the Stone Town area Forodhani Gardens is at a stone's throw away from this hotel & it gives your children a good play-time in the evenings. The beaches are also at a walking distance. The staff was very cordial & the service very good. We were two families & had bought a packaged-tour from the hotel.

Everything was well organized & at very reasonable rates & we all had an excellent fun-time. The hotel is well equipped with self-contained luxurious rooms & a roof-top restaurant serving the best of Indian cuisines with a touch of local food for all those who want to taste the local delicacies. Both veg & non-veg food was served.

Overall it was a given a chance to visit Zanzibar I would definitely chose Al-Minar.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. They have single, double & executive Suite. The executive suite has the uniq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yugal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of a month-long trip to Africa and loved it. It had everything we wanted. It's a short walk from the main shopping area, restaurants, bars, the beach and the Old Fort. The rooms are beautiful, kitted out with A/C, mosquito nets, a gorgeous bathroom etc and are spotlessly clean - they even offer a turn down service in the evening.

The staff were so friendly and helpful that we wished we could stay longer. We even got a room upgrade because our wifi wasn't working properly. In terms of the food, we only had breakfast and some evening snacks but they all of a high standard and again, faultless service from the staff on duty, they couldn't do enough for us.

The only thing they need to improve is the wifi service (which played up a little while we were there, although they were quick to remedy it) and the number of TV channels on offer. After our long trip, we would've liked to watch a movie after dinner, but I doubt that matters for most people/ those on shorter trips.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seb28London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Guest Relations Manager at Al Minar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Seb28London

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are a new hotel so your comments help us to market clearly to other guests who have yet to experience our location and facilities.
We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI so hopefully this will be resolved shortly.
Hope to see you back soon
Al Minar Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I found my 17 days (August 14 - 31) at the Al-Minar incredibly satisfying! The staff was very helpful and attentive to anything I needed or inquired about. Food is generally excellent in the area, yet I enjoyed food prepared at the Al-Minar much better because the cost was lower and there was more variety of food choices. The rooms are comfortable and well kept - it was okay that the rooms were not Texas-sized. I found everyone working at Al-Minar to be friendly and generally caring about how I was enjoying my stay in Stone Town. Definitely, a place to revisit!

Room Tip: Although I was worried about malaria, malaria cases were below 1% (about 2 people for every 500). Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tibby_Garza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated away from the main roads in Stone Town so it is a quiet place. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the service is quaint and courteous. The rooms are nicely appointed and the bathrooms are perfect in all respects. Refrigerator, air conditioning, and in-room coffee service. The only drawback, and for me it was a major one, is the quality of the bed. The mattress sits atop wooden plants and the mattress is the hardest I have ever found in all my travels. After a busy day walking an sightseeing, I was hoping to sleep in a comfy bed. It was so uncomfortable that around 2 AM I got up and went to the couch to sleep. If it weren't for the hard mattresses, the place would have been perfect.

The service personnel was always very attentive. The coffee is terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adiscerningtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#6 of 33 in Stone Town
325 reviews
0 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#22 of 33 in Stone Town
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
574 reviews
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
28.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Minar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Minar

Address: Plot 96, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £48 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al Minar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a stone’s throw from Zanzibar’s historic Stone Town, the Al-Minar hotel is located centrally amidst the tourist district of Forodhani Gardens along the beach. The hotel itself embodies the essence of Zanzibar offering hand-carved beds, local artwork and the best local cuisine with modern amenities including state of the art bathroom, hot water and electricity backed by a generator. The best nightlife on the island is located minutes away as are the best restaurants, shops and other tourist destinations. Our hotel concierge will be happy to assist you with any arrangements regarding recreational activities during your visit. The rooftop restaurant at Al-Minar serves up an array of mouthwatering delicacies including local, Asian and Continental cuisine and the restaurants atmosphere showcases the spirit of stone town. tastefully decorated using local workmanship with modern amenities, the Al-Minar Hotel offers the best that Zanzibar has to offer with international flair ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Al Minar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Minar Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing