We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Stonetown”
Review of Al Minar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Al Minar
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Stonetown”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was picked up on time at the airport by a driver from the hotel. The hotel's location is excellent, being in the center of Stonetown, a 10 minute walk to the old fort. Registration was quick. A cold drink was very welcomely provided during sign in. The spacious room had a queen size bed , a tv, and air conditioning. The room was clean, well appointed, with high ceilings. The bathroom was spacious with large marble tiles, and a huge shower head with plenty of water pressure. WIFI was provided but only worked in certain locations. Breakfast, served outdoors on the rooftop, was included and ample. The hotel exceeded my expectations and was a very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qwert1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonyVarkey, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Qwert1a
Thank you very much for your review and the excellent description about our hotel.we were extremely happy to receive you as our guest. Regarding the issue with the WI-FI connection , the management has taken it seriously and also came up with the solution of adding extra routers on the floors.We are happy for reviewing us and we promise to keep up the same standard and even more for your next visit to Zanzibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    94
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
110
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gopalpur On Sea, India
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed with my wife & kid at this hotel in jan 14 & we really liked the complete package. The rooms are excellent & have been done in Zanzibari style. The food has a lot of options to include Indian Menu which adds a lot of varieties to choose from. the breakfast was better than a number of places we stayed while on our tour in Tanzania. The staff, to include the managers Mr Manoj & Mr Venu were warm & even volunteered to pick us up themselves when we had a problem of transport from ferry terminal.

The rates we found were most competitive in zanzibar. the hotel has a very good tour coordination section & offer amazing packages at very cheap prices.

The location is right in the heart of stonetown yet away from the traffic hence you enjoy the proximity as well as seclusion at the same time.

A highly recommended option & should be contacted in the first place before planing the tour. We later learnt of their twin sharing package of 04 nights in which they cover all zanzibar tours with full board accommodation & transport for just 510 USD.

Thanks to the staff & the Management

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1980AKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARK G, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear 1980AKS
thank you very much for the fantastic review. we are happy to know that you enjoyed our tour package. your comments and appreciation will be passed to our kitchen team.
hoping to meet you again in this island during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

On our family trip to Zanzibar, we stayed here and the experience was awesome, as hotel provided services which was value for money. The food was really good. Very clean rooms with all the essential amenities. The Staffs were very courteous.we had the best experience during our holidays with Al-minar. Would recommend to anyone who goes to Zanzibar.Thanks to the management for their hospitality and ready to help mentality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shari125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonyVarkey, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Shari
Thank you very much very much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. Its our pleasure knowing that our hotel became a cause for your happiness during your visit to Zanzibar.
Your kind words really helps a new hotel like ours to improve better in future.
We look forward to meet you again during your next visit to this island.
Best regards to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Thank you al-minar for the fantastic hospitality shown during our stay, we really enjoyed it.they offer very good tours at the most economical rate.food is delicious and CAVE THE CLUB....perfect place for private hangovers...well decorated....will surely recommend and will definitely visit if i get a chance to be back .... :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rockstar_236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonyVarkey, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Rockstar_236
Thank you very much for reviewing us here.
Its indeed a moment of pleasure knowing that our guests were happy and satisfied during their stay with us.We look forward to host you and your guest if there will be a next visit to this island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the al minar for one night at the end of our time in Zanzibar and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. We picked it based on the combination of price and great reviews on trip advisor. We paid AU$100 for our double room and were delighted with it! The hotel has recently been renovated so everything is shiny and new. Our room was well finished with a double bed, two chairs, split system AC, fan, wall-mounted tv, table and wardrobe unit. The bathroom was fantastic with a large shower with amazing water pressure! Breakfast was great and is served in the rooftop restaurant. Breakfast comprises eggs cooked to your liking including omelettes plus a buffet including sausages, potatoes, beans, fruit, juice, tea and coffee. The hotel is close to the point so is a 10min walk from the big tree and the ferry terminal but close to lots of restaurants and some of the more famous rooftop bars for sunsets (eg Africa house). Overall we were very happy for the price we paid and would happily stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mwanza, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our first visit. Probably the best value in all of Stone Town , we got a very decent room with Brake fast ,all facilities available which a person desire to have in hotel specially when on journey etc,for less than $80.
Room and Bathrooms are having no stain or blemish .
Al Minar probably offers the best and tastiest breakfast in Zanzibar. Staff and management were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay. It's in a lovely area of Stone Town, close to the most tourist attractions as well as the lively market. A very highly recommended choice!!!
for me is the best place to live in zanzibar with family and friends.i am going to visit again .. very soon .. Thank you again ..Al Minar

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suhayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We enjoyed our 3 nights stay in this very convenient located hotel in Stone Town.
The rooms in this hotel are still very new (and shiny) and contain hot water in a big shower, a waterboiler for tea and cofee, free bottles of drinking water, airco, good beds, a decent mosquito net...
Furthermore the staff is very helpfull and efficient for arranging tours and transport around the island at the lowest prices.

Yves & Petra (Belgium)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves_Petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.7 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
28.5 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Minar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Minar

Property: Al Minar
Address: Plot 96, Shangani | P.O. Box 3231, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al Minar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a stone’s throw from Zanzibar’s historic Stone Town, the Al-Minar hotel is located centrally amidst the tourist district of Forodhani Gardens along the beach. The hotel itself embodies the essence of Zanzibar offering hand-carved beds, local artwork and the best local cuisine with modern amenities including state of the art bathroom, hot water and electricity backed by a generator. The best nightlife on the island is located minutes away as are the best restaurants, shops and other tourist destinations. Our hotel concierge will be happy to assist you with any arrangements regarding recreational activities during your visit. The rooftop restaurant at Al-Minar serves up an array of mouthwatering delicacies including local, Asian and Continental cuisine and the restaurants atmosphere showcases the spirit of stone town. tastefully decorated using local workmanship with modern amenities, the Al-Minar Hotel offers the best that Zanzibar has to offer with international flair ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Al Minar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Minar Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing