We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Minar
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dhow Palace Hotel(Stone Town)
US$93
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$131
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kisiwa House(Stone Town)
US$72
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$126
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
152
118
22
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
118
22
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat managerforodhani gardenswifi worksmanager mrwalking distanceeggs cooked to orderconvenient locationrooftop restaurantexcellent locationair conbreakfast buffethotel is locatedrooms are nicetwin roomwater pressurethe hotel managermosquito net
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We spent a four days holiday in Zanzibar and we chose Al-Minar hotel in Stonetown. A great choose, expecially for the really honest price :) Our room was pretty and clean, the staff was kind and friendly and the restaurant very nice! Water, coffee and tea are free into your room, and a laundry service is available (quite cheap, just 8000 tsh to wash two pairs of jeans). No extras to leave our buggages at the hotel the last day and come to bring them later.
A completely positive experience!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LittleFairy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bony V, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Little fairy91
We are delighted and grateful for your kind words in appreciation of our hotel and services.Your opinion is highly valued by us which serves to enhance the quality of our service even better.
It was indeed a pleasure serving you and we look forward to hosting you once again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We were very pleased that we chose the Al Minar. It was a haven of peace in a good central location. The service and hospitality were really good. My husband was not feeling too good on our checkout day and it was no problem to extend our stay in the room for a couple of extra hours, at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 939Cathy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARK G, Manager at Al Minar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear 939Cathy1952, Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.Its indeed an encouragement for us when we come to know that our customers were happily satisfied with our services during their stay with us. we look forward to meet you during your next visit to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed in Al Minar during my holiday visit to Zanzibar and i totally liked the room and other facilities for the price i paid. Staffs are attentive and friendly mostly and food was ok. If anyone on a budget trip this is the place to stay in stone town before heading to explore the Island. Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilkinson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARK G, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Shutter Frames
we are thanking you for selecting our hotel during your visit to Zanzibar.We will surely make sure that we maintain the same standard or even better during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was picked up on time at the airport by a driver from the hotel. The hotel's location is excellent, being in the center of Stonetown, a 10 minute walk to the old fort. Registration was quick. A cold drink was very welcomely provided during sign in. The spacious room had a queen size bed , a tv, and air conditioning. The room was clean, well appointed, with high ceilings. The bathroom was spacious with large marble tiles, and a huge shower head with plenty of water pressure. WIFI was provided but only worked in certain locations. Breakfast, served outdoors on the rooftop, was included and ample. The hotel exceeded my expectations and was a very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwert1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonyVarkey, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Qwert1a
Thank you very much for your review and the excellent description about our hotel.we were extremely happy to receive you as our guest. Regarding the issue with the WI-FI connection , the management has taken it seriously and also came up with the solution of adding extra routers on the floors.We are happy for reviewing us and we promise to keep up the same standard and even more for your next visit to Zanzibar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed with my wife & kid at this hotel in jan 14 & we really liked the complete package. The rooms are excellent & have been done in Zanzibari style. The food has a lot of options to include Indian Menu which adds a lot of varieties to choose from. the breakfast was better than a number of places we stayed while on our tour in Tanzania. The staff, to include the managers Mr Manoj & Mr Venu were warm & even volunteered to pick us up themselves when we had a problem of transport from ferry terminal.

The rates we found were most competitive in zanzibar. the hotel has a very good tour coordination section & offer amazing packages at very cheap prices.

The location is right in the heart of stonetown yet away from the traffic hence you enjoy the proximity as well as seclusion at the same time.

A highly recommended option & should be contacted in the first place before planing the tour. We later learnt of their twin sharing package of 04 nights in which they cover all zanzibar tours with full board accommodation & transport for just 510 USD.

Thanks to the staff & the Management

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1980AKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARK G, General Manager at Al Minar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear 1980AKS
thank you very much for the fantastic review. we are happy to know that you enjoyed our tour package. your comments and appreciation will be passed to our kitchen team.
hoping to meet you again in this island during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews