We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“''NOTHING COMPARES''”
Review of Al Minar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Minar
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

What an amazing experience from start to finish our stay at AL MINAR was total perfection. The whole hotel is incredible and the staff couldn't do enough for you, we felt like millionaires. The reception area is WELL CLEANED, sleek and grand. The rooms are exceptionally well appointed with every little extra you can think of. It was these little touches that will definitely make us return to this hotel, I've always been one for experiencing different things on different holidays thinking returning to the same foreign venue would be a bit of a waste but no so here and we can't wait to go back. The FORODHANI PARK is literally metres away which can whisk you off to A FABULOUS SEAFOOD NIGHT. We had a club room,CALLED CAVE THE CLUB (if we wanted but we used the lovely ROOF TOP RESTAURANT anyway),So thank you very much AL MINAR Hotel and we are really, really looking forward to coming back next year.once again thnks for the lovely management '''''''''''GREAT WORK'''''''''''''

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triserall44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent house keeping team.
Friendly staff.
Great location, you can walk around stone town from the hotel.
There's a beach you can walk to.
Lots of restaurants and cafes around the hotel.

The food may need some improvement.

Room Tip: 2 nd floor rooms are a bit noisy as the restaurant is on the roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NairobiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stay at al-Minar end of our tanzania visit. We got every thing in our room which you need for your comfort stay.
Manager (manoj) is very polite person .if you like a good hospitality highly recommend al- minar . Will definitely coming back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swatielizabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here one night before continuing the journey to Dar Es Salaam. This is a rather new smaller hotel that has a very enthusiastic and service minded staff, some of them seem to have just had finished their exam from the ''hotel and tourism academy''.
The twin bed room we had was rather small, but nicely decorated. The AC unit was misplaced, to the extent that any cold air from it goes directly to the head end of the beds - would probably have ended up with sinusitis if that was to be turned on overnight. The bathroom did not have any ventilation or evacuation fan - it seemed to have been overlooked but may cause a problem in the longer terms. The hotel is very nicely decorated, and on the rooftop there is a smaller restaurant where we did have breakfast in the morning, fairly sufficient. You can also have dinner or lunch here but we did not try that option. If you want alcohol with your meal it is not offered tough. If you are coming by taxi - note you will have to walk some 30-40 meters to the entrance, to be considered for persons with disabilities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed at Al minar-Hotel for two days in March 2014, as a single-travelling person. I was offered a fresh Mango-Welcome-Drink and the service at the reception was very polite and helpful. The hotel is located in the heart of old arabian stone town and therefore offers the best chances to explore the city and the near public beach at Tembo Hotel by foot. The hotel and rooms are stylish accomodated with african and arabian fittings and everything was clean. A continental breakfast was offered on the nice roof terrace.

There is only one - unfortunately - very negative point I have to make: The room service was incredibly obtrusive. Knocking at the door for offering insecticide at dusk is fine. But punching at the door in gaps of several minutes and finally trying to open the door with a master key, knowing there was a guest in the room, having refused the offer, is the most incredible and obtrusive experience I have ever made in a hotel. This is a No-Go!

Any hotel claiming to offer western standards has to adapt to certain principles of countenance and polite reservation (and I say that, although I am German! ;-)). There is no justification for a behaviour like the one, I have experienced with the room service at Hotel Al-Minar.

Anyway: The service at the reception was very polite and helpful and if you feel, as if you can handle obtrusive room maids, I can recommend the hotel all in all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I had a pleasant time at minar hotel zanzibar.Every of my expectation was surpassed. i particularly loved the cleanliness.. The breakfast was amazing. Really good price and quality . The beds were so comfortable I cud not stop sleeping. I will defiantly go back
The hotel staff is courteous and accomodated our requests very well.
the MANAGER fulfills all our needs, was very helpful Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akkamma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Every single member of staff at Al Minar was so friendly and welcoming, from Griffin, the man who came to meet us when we couldn't find our way to the hotel, to the reception and waiting staff. to the cleaning staff. The hotel was extremely clean. comfortable and stylish. We had a TV and air con as well as a fridge and everything we would need for a comfortable stay. The breakfast buffet is extensive and very yummy!! We would definitely stay there again should we visit Zanzibar in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
335 reviews
0 mi away
Beyt Al Salaam
Beyt Al Salaam
#22 of 33 in Stone Town
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
575 reviews
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
28.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Minar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Minar

Address: Plot 96, Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £48 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al Minar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a stone’s throw from Zanzibar’s historic Stone Town, the Al-Minar hotel is located centrally amidst the tourist district of Forodhani Gardens along the beach. The hotel itself embodies the essence of Zanzibar offering hand-carved beds, local artwork and the best local cuisine with modern amenities including state of the art bathroom, hot water and electricity backed by a generator. The best nightlife on the island is located minutes away as are the best restaurants, shops and other tourist destinations. Our hotel concierge will be happy to assist you with any arrangements regarding recreational activities during your visit. The rooftop restaurant at Al-Minar serves up an array of mouthwatering delicacies including local, Asian and Continental cuisine and the restaurants atmosphere showcases the spirit of stone town. tastefully decorated using local workmanship with modern amenities, the Al-Minar Hotel offers the best that Zanzibar has to offer with international flair ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Al Minar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Minar Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing