We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Minar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Al Minar
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Enough!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at Al-Minar for one night only, but found little to complain about.

The Good:

The location within Stone Town means that you can walk all over the place without getting tired. And this is in the quieter part of town, meaning much less bustle to disturb you.

The service was pretty much spot on with friendly and helpful staff manning the floors and the reception.

The rooms are well equipped, and house keeping was efficient.

The breakfast on the roof which was fairly decent and fresh.

The value for money, in all spheres (especially foreign exchange).

The Bad:

The rooms are small. They're a good size for a couple, but no more.

The wi-fi, though free, doesn't reach all parts of the hotel. It was frustrating to stand near the doorway to be able to use it.

There are no views to speak of, and its a bit unsettling to have the windows look out to other houses. Keep the curtains down for privacy.

All-in-all, we'd recommend the place. It makes for a decent and quiet place to stay at!

Room Tip: The rooms out in the front get corner views with extra light, but suffer from poor wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prayashgiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    92
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
106
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Rocks Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

What an amazing experience from start to finish our stay at AL MINAR was total perfection. The whole hotel is incredible and the staff couldn't do enough for you, we felt like millionaires. The reception area is WELL CLEANED, sleek and grand. The rooms are exceptionally well appointed with every little extra you can think of. It was these little touches that will definitely make us return to this hotel, I've always been one for experiencing different things on different holidays thinking returning to the same foreign venue would be a bit of a waste but no so here and we can't wait to go back. The FORODHANI PARK is literally metres away which can whisk you off to A FABULOUS SEAFOOD NIGHT. We had a club room,CALLED CAVE THE CLUB (if we wanted but we used the lovely ROOF TOP RESTAURANT anyway),So thank you very much AL MINAR Hotel and we are really, really looking forward to coming back next year.once again thnks for the lovely management '''''''''''GREAT WORK'''''''''''''

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triserall44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAIROBI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Excellent house keeping team.
Friendly staff.
Great location, you can walk around stone town from the hotel.
There's a beach you can walk to.
Lots of restaurants and cafes around the hotel.

The food may need some improvement.

Room Tip: 2 nd floor rooms are a bit noisy as the restaurant is on the roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NairobiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrakhan, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stay at al-Minar end of our tanzania visit. We got every thing in our room which you need for your comfort stay.
Manager (manoj) is very polite person .if you like a good hospitality highly recommend al- minar . Will definitely coming back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swatielizabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here one night before continuing the journey to Dar Es Salaam. This is a rather new smaller hotel that has a very enthusiastic and service minded staff, some of them seem to have just had finished their exam from the ''hotel and tourism academy''.
The twin bed room we had was rather small, but nicely decorated. The AC unit was misplaced, to the extent that any cold air from it goes directly to the head end of the beds - would probably have ended up with sinusitis if that was to be turned on overnight. The bathroom did not have any ventilation or evacuation fan - it seemed to have been overlooked but may cause a problem in the longer terms. The hotel is very nicely decorated, and on the rooftop there is a smaller restaurant where we did have breakfast in the morning, fairly sufficient. You can also have dinner or lunch here but we did not try that option. If you want alcohol with your meal it is not offered tough. If you are coming by taxi - note you will have to walk some 30-40 meters to the entrance, to be considered for persons with disabilities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayreuth, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed at Al minar-Hotel for two days in March 2014, as a single-travelling person. I was offered a fresh Mango-Welcome-Drink and the service at the reception was very polite and helpful. The hotel is located in the heart of old arabian stone town and therefore offers the best chances to explore the city and the near public beach at Tembo Hotel by foot. The hotel and rooms are stylish accomodated with african and arabian fittings and everything was clean. A continental breakfast was offered on the nice roof terrace.

There is only one - unfortunately - very negative point I have to make: The room service was incredibly obtrusive. Knocking at the door for offering insecticide at dusk is fine. But punching at the door in gaps of several minutes and finally trying to open the door with a master key, knowing there was a guest in the room, having refused the offer, is the most incredible and obtrusive experience I have ever made in a hotel. This is a No-Go!

Any hotel claiming to offer western standards has to adapt to certain principles of countenance and polite reservation (and I say that, although I am German! ;-)). There is no justification for a behaviour like the one, I have experienced with the room service at Hotel Al-Minar.

Anyway: The service at the reception was very polite and helpful and if you feel, as if you can handle obtrusive room maids, I can recommend the hotel all in all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I had a pleasant time at minar hotel zanzibar.Every of my expectation was surpassed. i particularly loved the cleanliness.. The breakfast was amazing. Really good price and quality . The beds were so comfortable I cud not stop sleeping. I will defiantly go back
The hotel staff is courteous and accomodated our requests very well.
the MANAGER fulfills all our needs, was very helpful Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akkamma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.7 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
28.4 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Minar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Minar

Property: Al Minar
Address: Plot 96, Shangani | P.O. Box 3231, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Al Minar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a stone’s throw from Zanzibar’s historic Stone Town, the Al-Minar hotel is located centrally amidst the tourist district of Forodhani Gardens along the beach. The hotel itself embodies the essence of Zanzibar offering hand-carved beds, local artwork and the best local cuisine with modern amenities including state of the art bathroom, hot water and electricity backed by a generator. The best nightlife on the island is located minutes away as are the best restaurants, shops and other tourist destinations. Our hotel concierge will be happy to assist you with any arrangements regarding recreational activities during your visit. The rooftop restaurant at Al-Minar serves up an array of mouthwatering delicacies including local, Asian and Continental cuisine and the restaurants atmosphere showcases the spirit of stone town. tastefully decorated using local workmanship with modern amenities, the Al-Minar Hotel offers the best that Zanzibar has to offer with international flair ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Minar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Minar Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing