We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forodhani Park Hotel
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel, Perfect Location”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were in Stone Town for our medical elective and stayed in Forodhani park hotel for a month and had an exceptional stay. The hotel room was large, very comfortable, large poster beds, good sized bathroom, hot water, high speed wifi, fridge and AC. There’s also a rooftop swimming pool which is nice, a bit small but very clean and private.
Staff and managers were all exceptionally accommodating, helpful, friendly and welcoming. It was really nice to have people to arrange all your trips with reliable people, and just generally go out of their way to help you with anything. Food was very good and chefs were excellent.. they even made us stuff which wasn't on the menu if we asked 
Location is excellent, next to the old fort, minutes from the beach, close to all the shops, restaurants and walking distance to the hospital which is convenient for elective students.
I would like to thank all the staff at Forodhani park for their hospitality and I would recommend Forodhani park hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amina781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForodhaniHotel, Manager at Forodhani Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Amina781,

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you here.
We have passed on your praise of our staff members.

Thank you again for your encouraging words. We hope to serve you next time you are in Zanzibar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    33
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
29
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here 3 nights in a spacious room in second floor, with a large poster bed, a nice bathroom and hot shower ready in 10 minutes. Free Wi-Fi connection, telephone, fridge and air condition in the room, TV in the room and in the lobby. The individual safes are in the lobby.
The beautiful furniture is local. There was a special smell in the wardrobe, if the door was tightly closed, but no smell, when the door was a little ajar. You need to leave the room when they spray it in the evening.
The location is excellent, next to the Old Fort, and there is a small parking area in between. If you turn to left, there is the Kenyatta Road with shops, restaurants and cafes. If you turn to right, you arrive in the middle of Gizenga Street, were the local curio and handicraft shops and money exchange are. You get a map from the hotel with the street names, but I didn’t see any names on the streets. The shops are open between 9:30 an 18:00. My last day was a Saturday and some shops were closed.
I had one dinner in the Forodhani Garden, the owner of the desk found me first a place to sit and then he delivered the meal, a very tasty grilled lobster kebab. I had three meals in the hotel, also very good. The breakfast is somewhat limited, but you can have your eggs the way you like from the kitchen, and the coffee and tea are good. There is a small swimming pool on the roof. The staff is very friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LNPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForodhaniHotel, Manager at Forodhani Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dera LNPR

Thank you for taking your precious time to evaluate us. By what we can read, it looks like you are a very well traveled holiday maker, and very objective.

The breakfast variety we are working on improving, and we should by the next time you visit us, resolved the short comings.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there 8 days. Room is roomy. The hotel is quiet and peaceful. The staff went out of their way to be helpful...they are friendly and personable.
Breakfast could be better..
I didn't eat there otherwise.
Location is great. You can use the beach facilities 1 minute away.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brock C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForodhaniHotel, Manager at Forodhani Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Brokc,

Thank you for taking your time writing up on us.
It is with regret that we read that the Breakfast was not satisfactory - this has however been taken up with our Chef(s) and kitchen staff. We hope that we by now have managed to remedy the short comings of our breakfast offer.
It is with this kind of constructive critique we are able to take our services to a higher level.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice, pleasant hotel. Rooms are spacious, staff are very nice and helpful, location is excellent - across the road from the beach. Forodhani is sister hotel with Tembo, a very excellent hotel across the road and on the beach, and guests of Forodhani have access to the Tembo's beach, chairs, pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blissedlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForodhaniHotel, Manager at Forodhani Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Blissedlc

Thank you for your kind words, and rating us.
It is through these reviews we are able to better ourselves, and hopefully serve other travelers the same or better than before.

Thank you for taking your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent value. This was our first time to Stonetown and it was such a treat to have the trustworthy managers help you book trips and rides with reliable people. If you are looking for a super luxury hotel, this isn't your place. But if you are looking for a very nice, clean, we'll run establishment that is a major step up from basic then book here!

Pros:
Friendly staff
Excellent managers
Great location
Air conditioned
Strong wifi connection
Beautiful decor- beautiful antiques!
Rooftop pool
Security lockers
In room fridge

Cons:
A bit of a 'new' smell that you quickly adjusted to
City noise on lower floors



Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MegReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForodhaniHotel, Manager at Forodhani Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
dear MegReno,

Thank you for taking your time to leave your comments and review Forodhani Park Hotel.
We are a small modest hotel, so your encouraging words to the world mean a lot for us, especially the staff members whom you praise.

Thank you, we hope to see you again with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My wife and I stayed 6 nights at Forodhani Park Hotel and we experienced an exceptional stay at the hotel. The Hotel encompassed all the elements in experiencing a feel of Stone Towns culture as the decor and set up of the hotel was all in line with making one feel apart of tradional zanzibar. I loved all the furniture and architecture of the Hotel which was tastefully done.

The Hotel room was very comfortable with a spacious bathroom and king poster bed. Mosquitoes were not a problem in the room as there was a net, airconditioning and each room was sprayed with a lovely fragrant each evening that kept mosquitoes at bay.

The staff at the Hotel were all very friendly and accommodating and I enjoyed chatting with them.
The staff members went out of there way in lending us money when the money exchanges were closed,

There is a beautiful rooftop which over looks stone town with wooden benches where you can sit and relax. The rooftop pool is perfect for a cool down in the Zanzibar heat and I enjoyed swimming after a days worth of stone town touring.

I recommend a stay at Forodhani Park hotel for couples and family vacations to Zanzibar.

Imtiaz Mahomedy
South Africa

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImtiazMahomedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForodhaniHotel, Manager at Forodhani Park Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear ImtiazMahomedy,

Thank you for taking your precious time to review us.
It is with the help of these encouraging words that we are able to continue to become better, and hopefully please and make other holiday makers happy.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed a few nights in the Forodhani Park Hotel and we had a private balcony room. I really loved the showers, they are unlike anything I have seen; and I have stayed at many Hotels in Stone Town. You can really appreciate the subtle attention to detail in all the rooms; this is a very modern looking Hotel yet retains alot of the authentic Zanzibari look and feel.

The Dining and Swimming Pool on the rooftop literally put the cherry on the cake for me and I would like to thank all the Staff for being especially welcoming and hospitable. I will most definitely be staying at the Forodhani Park Hotel for some time to come ! - considering the price and location, this is unbeatable !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yussuf_s_totti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.3 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forodhani Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forodhani Park Hotel

Property: Forodhani Park Hotel
Address: Forodhani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forodhani Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forodhani Park Hotel boasts an array of 19 spacious rooms. There are combinations of single, double, twin and family available. All but a few rooms have private balconies. The rooms towards the front of Forodhani Park Hotel have balconies facing the Ngome Kongwe – the Old Fort and Beit El Ajaib – the house of Wonders.Hotel is within walking distance of Forodhani Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Forodhani Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forodhani Park Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing