We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heaven among the filth of Stone Town”

6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Fusion, Wine Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 12 August 2014

You step into a different world with this clean, serene restaurant. It has alounge feel as well. Food is delicious, not too pricy. You can enjoy the turqouise see view when dining.

Thank Golldcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Goldcrest

As we are heading to our first year of being open, we set out to create A Destination Unparalleled here in Town, and glad that you could appreciate the cleanliness and luxurious setting provided to enjoy an affordable and delicious meal. Located right next to the Indian Ocean means one can appreciate the view whilst treating yourself to the experience we have to offer.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your travels through our restaurant and look froward to welcoming you again.

All the best,

Dane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

596 - 600 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Ok- so it's relatively expensive. Let's get that out there first- we paid 80k for 2 people with no alcohol. However in our opinion it was money worth shelling out. We had the lobster mango and samosas to start which were really good- especially the lobster. The fish platter was our main and on that the king fish was superb.
The only let down was the slightly stale cheap white bread rolls but that's a small criticism in what was otherwise an excellent dining experience.

Thank Johnnyglongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Johnny

I appreciate your honesty in approaching your review of your experience here- our menu has a wide selection of delicious options at different price categories that caters for different guests requirements. Going on an average analysis on different restaurants (and other guests previous comments), we are very reasonable in our pricing of these options. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and felt it worth choosing the higher priced items for your enjoyment, especially the Zanzibar Seafood Platter (which has octopus, prawns, linefish, salad and choice of side dish).

As per the bread- this really is not the standard we have set out for our guests and apologise for that. We bake our own bread daily and will ensure that this is addressed as it should not happen.

Overall though, we are very appreciative of the time you have taken in commenting here on TripAdvisor and look forward to you returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We ate here three times during our stay in Stone Town. The food was excellent and the staff friendly. Good children's menu, colouring pens to while away the time waiting for food and a high chair for the toddler. The fish was outstanding and one of our number ordered two mains because she was so thrilled to see both items on a menu on Zanzibar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChristineakaBibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you Christine for such a Top Notch Comment!

As mentioned in previous reviews, we really do cater for all guests and have a special Kid's menu for the families traveling through Stone Town.

We pride ourselves in all food produced here, where we are glad you could appreciate the Fresh Fish we sourced for service (of which we do daily). Our menu has a great selection and can understand the need to order 2 Main Courses!

Thank you so much for visiting the amount of times you did, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you and the family on these occasions, and will look forward to your returned visit.

Until then, safe travels and all the best.

Dane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What a treat it was to arrive at 6 Degrees South amid the hustle and bustle of Stone Town. A welcoming atmosphere coupled with stylish décor was the just what was needed after a long tour through the old city. We ordered drinks which was promptly delivered. We both chose the beer battered fish and chips for our meal. Well... this has got to be the best fish and chips (and salad was included too) that I have ever tasted. It was done to perfection and the portion was sizable. A added bonus was meeting the manager who took us up to the cocktail deck to show us the view (the cocktail deck opens from 17h00 every day - perfect for sun downers). To summarise - arguably the best restaurant in Stone Town; great food, awesome view, stylish setting and passionate staff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike_PE_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you Mike for a Gem of a Review!

6 Degrees offers the perfect place to relax after touring the Town here, breaking away from the heat, hustle and bustle that one experiences whilst doing so.

Our Beer Battered Fish, Chips and Salad is a very popular dish which is cooked to crispy perfection- so glad that you enjoyed it!

We work together as a solid team here and are passionate to deliver the best in guest satisfaction- We thank you for your observations, where it gives me great pride sharing this with my staff here.

Our Rooftop Cocktail Deck does indeed open at 17:00, where we run Happy Hour until 19:00 to appreciate the sunset over the Indian Ocean (really is no better place to do this!)

It was a pleasure meeting you and the family, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Dane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Good fresh fish and vegetables, simple but well cooked. A relief to find fish which wasn't overcooked. Best to go at lunchtime or early evening unless you like loud music on some nights, in which case, later is for you. Great view of the sea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Constablebldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6DegreesZanzibar, General Manager at 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Greetings Constable!

It is a pleasure receiving a response from your experience here, where we appreciate the time you have taken in doing so.

We have live music on a Friday night with a local Afro Jazz Fusion band (of which you where seated for); a party on our Rooftop Cocktail Deck on a Saturday night and a Live Taarab Band for Lunch on a Sunday. Other than that, we play soft lounge music through our in-house sound system that adds a comfortable ambiance to ones dining experience.

Really glad you were able to enjoy well prepared food and enjoy the beautiful view here.

Kind Regards,

Dane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to 6 Degrees South Grill and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing