We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one stop gift shop”

Memories of Zanzibar
Ranked #3 of 12 Shopping in Stone Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The biggest souvenir store in Zanzibar, Memories of Zanzibar offers the most extensive selection of quality items all under one roof, at reasonable prices. Situated within walking distance of major Stone Town hotels such as Serena, Tembo, Dhow Palace and upcoming Hilton, you can count on a pleasant shopping atmosphere and service with a smile.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A one stop gift shop”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

They have really nice gifts. You cant help but notice that nearly every tourist carries a shopping bag from the store. I ordinary find those kind of places cliched but unfortunately, i did like the store. Was so tempted to buy a lot of stuff...i wonder what customs will say about that!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 9jagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    42
    20
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place for souveniers”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Our tour guide took us to Memories Curio Shop in Stone Town We found their prices to be the best in town and there was a wide range of stock

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Take time off haggling!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stumbled across Memories of Zanzibar and went in having seen it advertised in a couple of leaflets. The price and quality of the wide range of goods is outstanding. We bought a range of goods at variou prices. We still bought souveneirs from the market traders as well, but as we are not good at haggling we probably got the best price here as well! Even if you don't want to buy here its a good place to compare prices. The staff were very friendly and helpful as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Deals”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This store in Stone Town has everything you are looking for in souvenirs without having to haggle and the prices are great. We did buy some souvenirs from the vendors but realized that the price at Memories was a lot less than what we paid

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Everything you want”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

You can find everything you want or you don't want...It is heaven of shopping. You can buy not only gifts for your friends but also a lot of things for yourself. We visited Memories twice when we were in Zanzibar and bought a lot of things. But I couldn't give them to my friends because my mother liked them too much and took them:)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SonayKoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memories of Zanzibar also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Zanzibar City, Zanzibar Island
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Memories of Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing