We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best solution to stay in stone town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Rosal Stone Town Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very neat and clean, close to downtown, the owners courteous and helpful in a very special way, full breakfast and rich. Shuttle service efficient and timely manner. You can get information on how to better enjoy zanzibar. daniela & enrico

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for The Rosal Stone Town Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

My friend and I stayed a week here. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless. Alnashir and Rose are such lovely people and make you feel so welcome immediately. They could not do enough for us. Alnashir organized a series of tours for us, making sure we were taken very good care of. The breakfasts were fresh, yummy and huge. The staff are all very friendly. I would highly recommend staying here if your plans are to stay in Stonetown.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were booked there by Zenji hotel because they didn't have a room for a 3rd night. The room we took was just big enough for a bed and a fridge and a chair. No window except in the bathroom, a nice bathroom though. The owner asked us not to leave anything valuable in the room but put it in the locker at reception which we did. In the morning another guest told us she had had her cash stolen from her room while she was at breakfast. Not impressed!
And the breakfast was not worth getting up for. On the upside, it is in a very quiet location. So either hotel has to do better or you can find better in Stone Town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel itself is ok; good space in the room, working AC and roof fan, good breakfast. Also, the owners are reachable and very friendly. Very nice the way they introduce each guest to another during the breakfast. Disadvantages; hotel is 45 USD taxi ride or 2 hour crowded dala-dala ride from the best beaches (Nungwi, Kendwa and Padjie) so if you are going to Zanzibar willing to relax, please, do your self a favor and stay at a hotel close to these locations. No hot water on the bathroom, no shower (not really a shower, refer to the pics I uploaded) and no exhauster on the bathroom so it becomes smelly every day. Flush system consists of a tube full of water and a cup, so you have to manually do the thing. Not all the staff speaks enough english.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the second floor as it was the only floor with working wifi connection at the time I...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renatoargh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I had a ferfect stay with Al and Rose, ferfect hosts at the family- driven hotel in the heart of Stonetown.
On the top roof terrace, with wide view, the day begins with a very healthy ( an big... ) homemade breakfast., guests and hosts sitting together as a family...
The rooms as well as the rest of the hotel are in perfect condition, it's location make it quiet but still you feel the atmosphere of the neighborhood.
Al and Rose are the ferfect hosts, which love to share their knowlegde. This must be the ferfect choise for most people. I felt more than just beeing an ordinary guest...
Many thanks to Rose and Al for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: No 11, quiet
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I prefer to call this place, ' another home in Zanzibar'; the ambience, great hospitality and value for your money is wonderful!. The owners are in close contact with their guests to ensure they enjoy their stay at the Island. Rooms are cool ,well kept and very relaxing! Well located close to everything! ferry, nice restaurants and bars, shopping centers. An ideal place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StinahTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The owners, Alnashir and Rosie, have extensive experience running hotels and it shows. They instantly make guests feel welcome and thereafter go out of their way to ensure that visitors make the most of their time on the island . The hotel has been beautifully restored. The rooms are cool, comfortable and surprisingly quiet given the narrow surrounding streets. The roof top area provides a great venue for the generous breakfast and a welcome retreat from the heat at other times of day. The office and household staff were also exceptionally helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Warere Town House
Warere Town House
#14 of 33 in Stone Town
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rosal Stone Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rosal Stone Town Hotel

Address: 1226 Kokoni, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Price Range: £32 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rosal Stone Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many Greeting to you all.I would like to take this opportunity, to inform you all that we have opened a new Hotel (Bed and Breakfast) which is Moderately priced with all the Luxury in Kokoni Stone Town Zanzibar on house no 1226 Kokoni, comfortable self contained rooms with all the amneties. You can send friends who need a recomendation, we promise to look after your guests to the best of our ability.Our Room rates are very resonable compared to other similar HotelsI sincerly hope to work with you to create a sound partnership, I would like to Invite you to come visit us.,best wishesAlnashir Kassamali Murji.The Rosal Stone Town Hotel.Zanzibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rosal Stone Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rosal Stone Town Hotel Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing