We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Zanzibar Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Epic Zanzibar Nights”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed here on the tail end of a business trip for 3 nights - knowing that I needed to have stable internet - this place met all the expectations - free afternoon tea, live bands at night, clean, nice service, organized, free cashews at the bar - overall excellent experience.

I paid with a $100 bill pre-2000 issue - they call and try to check if I have another one - I didn't, and they're like - no problem, sorry to bother (other places literally won't take it and make you change it out) - even the security guards and other staff know who you are and are super nice. Internet signal reached every corner, amazing property, etc.

Tips - stay here, then head down to the night market for some cheap eats to subsidize the overall price, you can walk to the hotel from the ferry station

Room Tip: rm 33 is nice - sitting area, ocean view, balcony, etc, great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ombu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    212
    54
    27
    9
See reviews for
136
291
58
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at the Serena for 4 days. The people were wonderful and my room on the Indian Ocean was a dream. The terrace was wrap around and I could never figure the best place to sit and watch the constant show of different boats going by. The breakfast table was In front of the open window with another show. Pink champagne for breakfast. Different bands every night.
Will certainly return. Maggie

Room Tip: Ask for beach or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just spent a night in Zanzibar and decided to stay at the Serena. It is located in Stone Town, right on the beach, close to restaurants, shops, etc. The hotel offers typical Serena-level service and efficiency. What is special about this hotel is the ambiance and the old-world feel. The doors to the rooms and the furniture are from the colonial days - dark wood, intricate carving.... I believe all the rooms face the ocean and have a balcony. My room had an old carved mahogany bed with mosquito net hanging over it - really neat. The room is air conditioned, but I left the balcony door open for the ocean breeze and the sound of the surf. The bathroom was clean and had old plumbing, but it worked well. However, the corners and some areas in the bathroom were showing age and could use an update. The wifi signal was strong in the room. I would definitely recommend the hotel, especially if you are a fan of old world charm.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel! While some parts of Stonetown are less desirable, that is no fault on the part if the hotel. The staff were courteous and very helpful with tips on seeing the sights with as little hassle and expense as possible. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Only stayed here 1 night before moving to a beach resort. Loved the warm wash cloth and drink upon arrival - nice touch! Room was beautiful with lovely dark wood furniture and carvings. View of the water was serene and peacefully quiet. Location was ideal for walking tours throughout old Stone Town. Did not have any complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rafe99
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel after a few days on safari. The rooms were comfortable but small. Most staff were very friendly but a couple were officious. The location is not great and Stonetown was a disappointment. The beach at hotel was used as a toilet by the public. We took a shuttle to the hotel private beach but that was not better. Part of the beach was being used to repair boats and the workers all urinated in the ocean at the beach at lunch time. I think a more secluded part of the island might be better

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rafe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If youre willing to pay for it, its an amazing experience. The whole complex is completely relaxing and has an amazing view along the beach. The rooms are picture perfect and the historic buildings beautiful. Breakfast buffet also amazing.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
31.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
31.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
7.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Serena Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Serena Hotel
Address: Kelele Square, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#2 Spa Hotel in Stone Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Business Hotel in Stone Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Family Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zanzibar Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zanzibar Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Stone Town
Zanzibar Serena Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing