We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel of entire trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dhow Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dhow Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best hotel of entire trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed for two nights (only) in the premium family suite on the top floor. Not only the views are spectacular - the whole family unit is just wonderful, so nicely furnished, with a gorgeous bathroom. The whole building is beautiful and charming. Location is just perfect as well. Breakfast was the best on the entire trip and food is great. There is really nothing negative I can think about - and price-value ist just unbelievable. I only wished we had stayed four nights, a minimum for Stone Town. When I come back, with family or alone, I will stay here 100 % sure.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Pay attention, they also have a family room near the reception on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    285
    85
    26
    14
See reviews for
126
263
60
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Dhow Palace is an excellent hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Traditional style rooms are clean and relaxing.

The hotel is well organised with the rooms being prepared well in advance of sunset.

Breakfast is good with a selection of Swahili dishes and western staples.

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of our Zanzibar stay and returned for our final night without even considering anywhere else, which I guess is a pretty big recommendation.

Room Tip: Try to stick to the first floor where the Wifi works pretty well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Presenceofabrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at the Dhow Palace with my husband and three children. The children really liked the hotel's historical feeling and decor. They enjoyed the pool the best. The breakfast buffet was filling and the service was very good. My husband was pleased to have functioning wi-fi service in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUTON, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Dhow Palace Hotel for 2nights during our 2 week stay in Zanzibar.
The hotel itself is really beautiful, and it definitely comes across as though they have made a big effort when decorating the building; each corner you turn has something to admire whether it a model boat, painting or even an old style crib! Staff are very helpful, and do expect tipping for this (this is something to bear in mind as they will strive above expected to help of tipped).
The room we had was lovely, although we couldn't figure out how the air con worked, but we got by with the fan. They also provided us with complimentary water each day, which was a plus.
Breakfast included a large selection of dishes, from typical british food (cornflakes, toast) to more swahili style dishes.
The location was brilliant, 3minutes from the main section of streets, and 10seconds from gift shops.
When we went to pay, there was some issue with payment between the hotel and the website I used to book. I'm not sure where the blame lied, however the hotel allowed us to make necessary calls to sort it out and were apologetic in the meantime for the inconvenience.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, with it's main selling point of being it's location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMBudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This was our last night in Zanzibar - having spent 4 nights previously at Bahari View Lodge on the east coast. We bsolutely loved the Dhow - staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful - even upgraded us to the Honeymoon suite (have been married 33 years !!) - absolutely lovely. Which is more than can be said of StoneTown (in my opinion). Hotel was traditionally furnished - and so spacious around the corridors and so many things/old photos to look at. Really loved it and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were lucky to be upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite - it was absolutely wonderful. If your budget c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suchard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed at the Dhow Palace with my parents this May for 4 days. It was the first time in Zanzibar for all of us, and the hotel was a wonderful way to feel like a part of Zanzibar's rich history. The building is beautiful and filled with historical architectural touches and furniture. We stayed in a two room suite at the top of the hotel, with a gorgeous view of the rooftops of Stone Town from our balcony. I am a Tanzanian resident, and with the resident's rate, the hotel was a BARGAIN! The breakfast (inlcuded) each morning came with a great selection of fresh fruit and always some interesting hot dishes, often of Indian origin. The meals served at the hotel restaurant in the evening were very tasty as well, though there were not many vegetarian options.
The roof top terraces are beautiful and offer stunning views of the sunset. It was also no trouble to ask to have our meals served up there instead of inside the restaurant. There is no alcohol served, but it is very close (walking distance - less than 5 min) to the African Hotel which has a lovely terrace for sundowners.
The variety of lounge areas and lovely ambiance had me imagining enjoying a much longer stay. The staff were very friendly, planning any activities we were interested in for us through reputable tour operators and even arranged for a tailor to repair some damaged clothing in a timely fashion.

Room Tip: The two room suite (sleeps 4) on the top floor is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our last night in Zanzibar, if it weren't for the Dhow palace the night would of been magical. We left nungwi expecting the same and more after what we had heard of the Dhow. Upon Arrival we had booked a double room and the morbid and unfriendly receptionist insisted we have a twin room after we had said "no thanks,we would prefer a double room" the staff was
unfriendly except for the guy at the door and the porters. After going for dinner we had locked our room but somebody has been in it and moved things around. The hotel invites people from the street into the hotel pool area making it noisy and unpleasant we could hardly sleep because of all the screaming and noise. Rooms are average, breakfast is average and the vibe is completely dead and unfriendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazzy-Fizzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Palace Hotel

Property: Dhow Palace Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Rd | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhow Palace is an elegant, boutique hotel in the heart of historic Stone Town, close to all amenities, shops and restaurants. Furnished extensively with antiques in a truly Zanzibar style, this 150 year old graceful building has been modernised to take care of all your desires.The hotel offers an open-air interior courtyard with a spacious swimming pool and snack bar, where guests can relax and unwind in peaceful privacy. Bask in the sun on our serene roof top terrace where you can enjoy delicious local and international cuisine and tropical refreshments. The roof top terrace is an idyllic place to watch life unfold in the busy Stone Town streets below, or to witness the remarkable sunsets on this romantic island. Dhow Palace is a place to find tranquility, eat well and become wrapped up in the best of Zanzibar culture. Many of our rooms have balconies overlooking the peaceful interior courtyard and swimming pool; all have traditional Swahili beds, air conditioning and many other facilities, including cable television and hotspot wireless internet. Let the Dhow Palace sail you through your holiday whilst you enjoy the blissful climate and explore the history and culture that this beautiful island has to offer. Location and amenities:The Dhow Palace Hotel is conveniently situated in central Stone Town, close to the shops, markets and restaurants. The Dhow is also within easy access of Zanzibar's awe-inspiring beaches, watersports, excursions and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dhow Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhow Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing