We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Dhow Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dhow Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

On our honeymoon, my wife and I spent a few days in Stone Town and stayed at the Dhow Palace. The hotel was very special and had great service, great food, and stunning (and clean) rooms. There is even a great rooftop terrace where one can get great views on Stone Town. Also, the location of the hotel is perfect, as everything you would care to see is only a short walk away. I highly recommend Dhow Palace!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hendersonhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear hendersonhl
Thank you for your time in writing the review.
We very much delighted knowing you have appreciated our services in full, thank you.
Hope to see you back soon.
Kwaheri! (Bye & TC)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    288
    86
    26
    15
See reviews for
129
268
60
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel and I really enjoy its antique charm. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff were generally helpful and friendly although two of them tried to do dodgy sales deals with me that made me feel a bit uncomfortable.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the restaurant are noisy - especially when breakfast is being prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear jolev11
Thank you for your time in posting this review.
We are very delighted knowing you're our repeating and committed member of our family and not a customer. I know sometimes we get complaints about the noise at restaurant which is partly caused by the echo created due to the openness of our courtyard but we do our best trying to control this noise. By great extent we have managed to reduce the noise by setting up the tables and cutlery at night and not in the morning as we used to do. I hope next time you visit us you will find these improvements. As for the dodgy sales we are really sorry but i would like to know what exactly happened. Please drop me an email on manager@dhowpalace-hotel.com
Can't wait to have you again with us and thank you for choosing Dhow Palace as your "Home Away From Home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed for a few nights in this hotel, and it was a really pleasant experience. The hotel is a really beautiful old building, reminding me somewhat of 1001 nights.

The rooms are spacious enough, with air conditioning (important in Stone Town) and a good sized double bed with mosquito netting. We also had a little balcony facing the beautiful courtyard and a mini-bar (which is also important, because you want lots of cool water). The bathroom was not huge, but sufficient and the bathtub was very beautiful.

Breakfast was tasty and there was plenty to choose from (plus the option for freshly made eggs). We didn't dine there, so I cannot comment on the other food options. Just as a note, so that you're not surprised: they do not serve any alcohol in the hotel.

Service was friendly and moderatly helpful (though I felt they could have done more, e.g. confirm the flights for me instead of just handing me a phone number), and the tours they organized were ok (I guess I would have picked different operators, though, if I had had the time for more research).

The location is really close to everything of interest, just around the corner to the main shopping streets and about 5-10 minutes to the ocean and the food garden.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stranded in Arusha after the Nairobi Airport fire we decided to go Zanzibar to let the flight backlog ease - and what a great choice that was! We chose Stone Town with plenty of exploring to do - and to stay at Dhow Palace. They squeezed us in last minute and arranged airport pick-up even though it was the last night of Ramadan. After the first night the manager gave us a choice of rooms - of which we chose the top floor suite with an outside bath and views looking over the sea. It was like being in Arabian Nights! The hotel is a beautiful old historic building with many antiques in various little alcoves and sitting areas and a central courtyard with a pool. We loved our stay there with very friendly and helpful staff and the location was perfect - just a short walk to numerous attractions, restaurants and markets.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoToGo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princeton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The beauty of this hotel makes it a worthy destination in itself. The intricately carved wooden furniture, beautiful vases, miniature boats, beautiful carpets in the room as well as the grand hallways and other parts of the hotel provided fascinating viewing. The courtyard and pool provide a lovely place to relax and have a non-alcoholic drink. You are able to climb to the top of the building for a bird's eye view of the town. The location is perfect to start an exploratory tour of Stone Town. Dinner was not great. The breakfast, however, provided the biggest variety we had seen yet with eggs as you like, variety of fruits, cereals, breaks, rolls, juices, etc. Our room was on the third floor and I must say that the stairs are not an easy climb - rather steep and steps of uneven heights. "Mind your step" we often heard. Good to be careful. Fortunately, there was always help with luggage. Our room had a balcony where we spent a little time. During the day, open windows allowed pleasant breezes. At night the windows were closed and A/C was available. A ceiling fan was always on. A small frig with bottled water was in the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is more beautiful than its pictures presented here...it is perfectly and elegantly designed. The staff is very helpful. The breakfast is very nice. Location is just heart of the city, very close to the ocean, restaurants, and shopping areas. Rooms are large, comfortable and have even balconies!

This was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Lovely historic building in a quiet location near to the waterfront. The rooms are spacious and the staff are friendly and competant. Got a good deal at resdient rate. the breakfast is served near the pool area and is a reasonable standard. Rooftop has great views and there are nice seating ares within the hotel to sit and relax or read plus watch TV. I would certainly return. The hotel also helped book excursions for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deeom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
341 reviews
31.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Palace Hotel

Property: Dhow Palace Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Rd | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhow Palace is an elegant, boutique hotel in the heart of historic Stone Town, close to all amenities, shops and restaurants. Furnished extensively with antiques in a truly Zanzibar style, this 150 year old graceful building has been modernised to take care of all your desires.The hotel offers an open-air interior courtyard with a spacious swimming pool and snack bar, where guests can relax and unwind in peaceful privacy. Bask in the sun on our serene roof top terrace where you can enjoy delicious local and international cuisine and tropical refreshments. The roof top terrace is an idyllic place to watch life unfold in the busy Stone Town streets below, or to witness the remarkable sunsets on this romantic island. Dhow Palace is a place to find tranquility, eat well and become wrapped up in the best of Zanzibar culture. Many of our rooms have balconies overlooking the peaceful interior courtyard and swimming pool; all have traditional Swahili beds, air conditioning and many other facilities, including cable television and hotspot wireless internet. Let the Dhow Palace sail you through your holiday whilst you enjoy the blissful climate and explore the history and culture that this beautiful island has to offer. Location and amenities:The Dhow Palace Hotel is conveniently situated in central Stone Town, close to the shops, markets and restaurants. The Dhow is also within easy access of Zanzibar's awe-inspiring beaches, watersports, excursions and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dhow Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhow Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing