We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“did not honor confirmed booking.com reservation”
Review of Dhow Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dhow Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We made and confirmed a reservation on booking.com. Arrived at 10 pm straight from the airport and was told there was no room for us. We called booking.com who assured us that they had confirmed the booking with the manager, but the hotel claimed not to have received it. Very frustrating arrival after a long day of travel. To their credit they eventually (after much complaint) helped us find a room at their sister hotel, the Tembo, which was fabulous. Dhow Palace looked lovely from the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank SMAKBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear SMAKBarnett

Thank you for the time and trouble taken reviewing us

We are very sorry for the trouble we have caused you.

Currently all our online bookings (on Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia....) are operated and maintained by a Third Party.
Unfortunately the Booking.com engine hasn't been integrated fully on our online portal, this also sometimes causes the delay in receiving the reservation in time, because bookings get forwarded straight to this third party and then they (third party) forward it to us....

We are doing our level best to rectify this problem immediately, hopefully the systems will be integrated very soon

I hope you will choose to stay again with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
There are newer reviews for Dhow Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

we had great expectations of this hotel after reading the reviews but were a little disappointed.
the hotel is very cute but the rooms are small and there is absolutely nowhere to put your clothes etc apart from a totally impractical glass doored display cabinet and a few coat hooks--we ended up bringing the table in from the balcony to at least give us a work surface.
the breakfast was just about ok but the menu for lunch and dinner was very bland so we did not bother to eat there.
the waiting staff were a friendly but a "little in your face".
the location is good with an atm close by and a easy walk to the foradani gardens,fort etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Lovely Hotel & great location for exploring Stonetown on foot.
Excellent buffet breakfast & very helpfull staff.
I treated myself to the Presedential Suite, super comfortable and it didn't break the bank
Easily organize your day trips at the front desk.
The Hotel is steeped in Period furniture & decor.

Room Tip: Go for a Presdential Suite and enjoy the fantatic views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Kevin M

Thank you for your time taken and trouble completing this review.

We are delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us,as it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that our guests may have.

It is particularly very encouraging to learn from our guests, that you like the breakfast especially the omelet station

We look forward welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This place has the most romantic / artistic rooms. The ornate decor is fun. AC and fan worked well. Clean pool. Free Wifi. Friendly staff! In the heart of everything. We greatly enjoyed our stay. Great for single traveler, couples, or group.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrimsonTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear CrimsonTravel11

Thank you for taking the time and trouble completing the review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

I hope this is just the first of many stops at Dhow Palace for many years to come

Ahsante Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Beautifully authentic hotel. Great value. One of the few mid range budget hotels with a pool.
Fair quality food. Accommodating staff. No lifts but this is a common feature in most hotels in Stone town.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurenatsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Laurenatsea

Thank you for the time taken in posting this review

We are very glad to know you had a wonderful stay with us. It is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

Hope seeing you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a huge triple room. The hotel is very charming, the staff helpfull beyond what could be expected and the breakfast buffet excellent. Our kids enjoyed the pool and the parents she shady courtyard. Definitely recommendable for families with kids

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Hejdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Hejdi

Thank you for your time taken and trouble completing this review.

We are delighted to note that you overall enjoyed your stay with us,as it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that our guests may have.


We look forward welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I loved my stay in Dhow Palace hotel,it is a very clean hotel with good price and located in the heart of stone town.
The Service is really great and they even offered me an upgraded room as a gift for my honeymoon.... Thanks to Dhow Palace Management :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Ahmed E

Thank you for taking the time and trouble completing the review.

We are very glad to know you had a wonderful stay with us. As it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

The main Aim & Goal of our team & staff is to give a unique experience to our guests by spicing up with value added touches such as the upgrade during your Honeymoon...it isn't just great, but truly unforgettable life time experience for you.

We wish you a happy life with your better half, and a start to many stops at Dhow Place Hotel for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Palace Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Rd | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £67 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhow Palace is an elegant, boutique hotel in the heart of historic Stone Town, close to all amenities, shops and restaurants. Furnished extensively with antiques in a truly Zanzibar style, this 150 year old graceful building has been modernised to take care of all your desires.The hotel offers an open-air interior courtyard with a spacious swimming pool and snack bar, where guests can relax and unwind in peaceful privacy. Bask in the sun on our serene roof top terrace where you can enjoy delicious local and international cuisine and tropical refreshments. The roof top terrace is an idyllic place to watch life unfold in the busy Stone Town streets below, or to witness the remarkable sunsets on this romantic island. Dhow Palace is a place to find tranquility, eat well and become wrapped up in the best of Zanzibar culture. Many of our rooms have balconies overlooking the peaceful interior courtyard and swimming pool; all have traditional Swahili beds, air conditioning and many other facilities, including cable television and hotspot wireless internet. Let the Dhow Palace sail you through your holiday whilst you enjoy the blissful climate and explore the history and culture that this beautiful island has to offer. Location and amenities:The Dhow Palace Hotel is conveniently situated in central Stone Town, close to the shops, markets and restaurants. The Dhow is also within easy access of Zanzibar's awe-inspiring beaches, watersports, excursions and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Dhow Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhow Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing