We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dhow Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$127
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$126
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zanzibar Hotel(Stone Town)
US$85
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$93
US$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
243
316
92
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
316
92
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral courtyardswimming pooltop floorno alcoholantique furniturecharming hotelair conkenyatta roadtriple roomhistorical buildingtwo nightstraditional styleafrica houseold world charmairport transferrooftop terracenice pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The room was great and big, the bathroom was great and big to. Clean and had everything i needed anyway. The pool area was good, the staff was great.

The food was all right, the prices to. The pool table is a joke (missing balls and such things), the wifi was good. Big place so a lot of areas where you can sit and relax, roof terrace was really nice with great view.
The location is great.
(Non alcohol hotel)

Room Tip: if possible ask for a view towards the sea
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TozCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear TozCaz

Thank you for the time and trouble completing this review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

The pool table balls are kept in the wooden chests for safe keeping, we hand them out on request of guests. Sorry for the inconvenience

I hope to see you back soon

Ahsante Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here two nights on our way back from the northern beaches. It had a nice character, lots of nice old furniture and decorations, and the staff were exceptionally friendly. The location is good, right in amongst everything. Wifi in the rooms was pretty much non existent, but ok in reception or by the pool area. Didn't eat there, apart from breakfast which was nothing special. The room itself was clean and functional. Water pressure in shower was bad, and we had to wait to return to SA to get a decent shower! No elevators so you have to hike up multiple flights of stairs which was ok for us, and probably needed at the end of a holiday, but not good for older folks or those with dodgy joints.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Dan_Maximalist

Thank you for the time and trouble completing this review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

I hope to see you back soon

Ahsante Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good, old building with a Arabic décor and at walking distance from anything in stone town ( no need for Taxis :) ) .

We experienced heavy rain and our room did as well: the windows not well sealed ... Room was flooded every time it rained. This being said we the staff did offer to change rooms.

We could do with fresher breakfast as same things saved from days before were served again and again ( I assumed it is a cost thing since it was low season and not many guests around)


The staff was great and very friendly ... We could checkin very early the day we arrived ... Which was great as we could get reed of luggage, rest and enjoy a full day in stone town :).

Exception was one of the staff ... Speaking Arabic I can get some of Swahili ... And it is very annoying when someone is being rude thinking you can't understand :)


I am sure in high season the Dhow is very good !!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Fatima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Fatima

Thank you for the time and trouble completing this review.

We are very sorry for the rain. In the Island we experience two rainy seasons during the monsoon (Northern & Southern) winds, during your stay the wind was blowing the rain water over the windows and door on your balcony. To prevent this from happening again we have constructed roofs in all rooms over the balconies.

Please drop me an email on manager@dhowpalace-hotel.com regarding the staff.

We are very sorry for any inconvenience(s) caused, and hope you will give us another chance.
We promise to improve on our shortfalls.

I hope to see you back soon

Ahsante Sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel is in a very good location near to shops and restaurants and a short walk to the beach. It was a little noisy as it is next to the road.The room was traditional and appeared clean but there were a few unwelcome guests in the bathroom. Staff were lovely and very friendly. We did not eat here so can't comment and there is no bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear CMW62

We thank you for taking your time to evaluate Dhow Palace, and to share your experience.
The Dhow Palace has not got a licence to serve alcohol therefor no bar. However there are some good bars surrounding the Dhow Palace.

As for the annoying unwanted tropical "guests" - we appologies, we do not get them all, despite frequent fumigation. We hope to see you with us again some time soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Located at the the heart of stone town, this hotel offers a short walking distance to all attractions.
Rooms are beautiful. No elevators however, you have to carry your luggage all the way up. Food is OK, nothing special. Staff were friendly. Price a bit high for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Oldie F

We are surprised to learn that you had to carry your luggage - we have porters to do that for you. Next time, just get one of our porters to help you. IF they are not around, it could just be that they are helping another guests with their luggage.

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. It helps us gage the experience guests have of Dhow Palace, and also to improve our offerings.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews