We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent hotel with charming and responsive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dhow Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dhow Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Magnificent hotel with charming and responsive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Four of us stayed here for only one night but were treated like royalty. This is a great hotel in a perfect location in Stone Town. Rooms are spectacular - we got the top floor which was like being in another world. The manager and staff were extremely welcoming and helped us in myriad ways. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nansichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Izbushka

Thank you for the time taken completing this review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

The treatment and service we provide to our guests is indeed like ROYALTY!

It will give us a pleasure having you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    285
    85
    26
    14
See reviews for
126
263
60
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orebro County, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed there with my friends for two nights and were completely blown away with the interior and atmosphere. Loved our room and the view from the balcony. Nice breakfurst buffé.
Staff were very friendly and helpful when I missplaced my sunglasses.
I can truly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Room 42! Big room with double bed and two extra beds. Balcony with view over the Town and the room c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Anna T

Thank you for the time and trouble completing this review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

Hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Originally a Moorish palace built in the 16th century this as much a museum as a hotel with a tremendous collection of antique furniture and fixtures (shame about the pool table), , Most rooms have balconies overlooking 2 central open air courtyards with pools and palm trees. There is also a large roof terrace/bar with views over Stone town. Staff very attentive and obliging
The hotel is right in the heart of Stone town and is definitely the place to stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 508gerryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear 508gerryl28

Thank you for your time taken completing this review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

It is particularly very encouraging learning you have appreciated fully our antique furnitures and our professional staff services

It will be a pleasure having you again with us

Kwaheri!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked 3 nights in December 2013 as part of our honeymoon and we could not have improved anything. We booked bed, breakfast and dinner and the food was delicious every time. We had dinner two of the nights as we went to the Street Market on our first night. We had dinner on the roof our last night and it was truly amazing. We could order anything from the menu, without any extra charge and the food was delicious. The feel of the hotel is very old-worldly as it used to be a palace, the furniture is beautifully carved and makes you feel as if you were transported to another time. We went in the summer so the Air-conditioner in our room was an absolute blessing! The swimming pool is absolutely amazing especially when returning from a walk around town or an excursion. We booked a spice tour through the reception which I would advise everyone to do. Everything runs very smoothly and they charge the same rates as the street guides. All-in-all an excellent hotel which is very well located in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Renier D

Thank you for the time and trouble completing this review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

I hope to see you back soon

Ahsante Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked as part of an extended trip to Tanzania (climbing Kilimanjaro then visiting Stone Town and Nunygwi on the coast) this lovely hotel had a lovely arabic vibe and didn't let me down.

The hotel was chic, comfortable, quiet and accommodating. I couldn't have asked for much more (though the 1st night let me down and the 2nd blew me away). Thanks to the staff for their friendly attitude and their drive to accommodate me.

So now the story - we arrived in mid June 2014 and the hotel was being refurbished. As a single traveller I was given a dark, small room on the ground floor. It certainly had its flaws as it was next to a noisy corridor, was dark, had hot water that came out as steam and looked out over a build site. However the hotel team recognised this and aimed to get me out of there for the second night. And what a second night - the penthouse suite with massive top floor airy rooms and a lovely shower out on the roof and open to the stars!!! An experience and luxury I won't forget in a while.

Overall despite the mildly disappointing but adequate day one room, the day two accommodation blew me away and restored my faith.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room away from the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GForce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear GForce5

Thank you for the time and trouble completing this review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

We are glad despite the first night experience, the rest of your stay was unforgettable and a life time experience in our room 40

I hope to see you back soon

Ahsante Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
373 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The room was great and big, the bathroom was great and big to. Clean and had everything i needed anyway. The pool area was good, the staff was great.

The food was all right, the prices to. The pool table is a joke (missing balls and such things), the wifi was good. Big place so a lot of areas where you can sit and relax, roof terrace was really nice with great view.
The location is great.
(Non alcohol hotel)

Room Tip: if possible ask for a view towards the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TozCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear TozCaz

Thank you for the time and trouble completing this review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

The pool table balls are kept in the wooden chests for safe keeping, we hand them out on request of guests. Sorry for the inconvenience

I hope to see you back soon

Ahsante Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here two nights on our way back from the northern beaches. It had a nice character, lots of nice old furniture and decorations, and the staff were exceptionally friendly. The location is good, right in amongst everything. Wifi in the rooms was pretty much non existent, but ok in reception or by the pool area. Didn't eat there, apart from breakfast which was nothing special. The room itself was clean and functional. Water pressure in shower was bad, and we had to wait to return to SA to get a decent shower! No elevators so you have to hike up multiple flights of stairs which was ok for us, and probably needed at the end of a holiday, but not good for older folks or those with dodgy joints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhowpalace, Manager at Dhow Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Dan_Maximalist

Thank you for the time and trouble completing this review.

We are very delighted knowing you enjoyed your stay with us, it is only by receiving such feedback from valued guests, such as yourself, that we are better able to see where we stand in terms of services we provide to our guests.

I hope to see you back soon

Ahsante Sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zanzibar Coffee House
Zanzibar Coffee House
#4 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhow Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhow Palace Hotel

Property: Dhow Palace Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Rd | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dhow Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhow Palace is an elegant, boutique hotel in the heart of historic Stone Town, close to all amenities, shops and restaurants. Furnished extensively with antiques in a truly Zanzibar style, this 150 year old graceful building has been modernised to take care of all your desires.The hotel offers an open-air interior courtyard with a spacious swimming pool and snack bar, where guests can relax and unwind in peaceful privacy. Bask in the sun on our serene roof top terrace where you can enjoy delicious local and international cuisine and tropical refreshments. The roof top terrace is an idyllic place to watch life unfold in the busy Stone Town streets below, or to witness the remarkable sunsets on this romantic island. Dhow Palace is a place to find tranquility, eat well and become wrapped up in the best of Zanzibar culture. Many of our rooms have balconies overlooking the peaceful interior courtyard and swimming pool; all have traditional Swahili beds, air conditioning and many other facilities, including cable television and hotspot wireless internet. Let the Dhow Palace sail you through your holiday whilst you enjoy the blissful climate and explore the history and culture that this beautiful island has to offer. Location and amenities:The Dhow Palace Hotel is conveniently situated in central Stone Town, close to the shops, markets and restaurants. The Dhow is also within easy access of Zanzibar's awe-inspiring beaches, watersports, excursions and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dhow Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dhow Palace Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing