We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for the family while in Stone Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“A place for the family while in Stone Town”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

As is always, we rely mainly on triadvisor to make choice of the hotel and you stand a big chance of being disappointed but this was not the case with our experience of Tembo Hotel - beach hotel in stone town with panoramic view of the ocean from the balcony of our room 20

Room 20 was ideal for our family of 4, husband and wife with 11 yrs old son and 5 yrs daughter.The kids had their section with medium size beds and another section with a big bed was for the parents. we were equipped with a refrigerator, kettle for tea/coffee, aircon in kids section, clean wash room (shared). The hotel is among the buildings with architectural designs that preserves the history of Zanzibar.

Breakfast had a wide range of choices including loacl spiced coffee and some local fruits

Hotel Manager and other staff were very friendly and helpful in fine turning our tours in Zanzibar, also is helping us strive good deals with other service providers - taxis / trips

Safe location and close to most of the quick services that one might required. Wife and children were happy with the stay and can't wait for the next trip to Zanzibar and stay in Tembo Hotel

Just one area of improvement - i suggest the hotel to put an aircon in the parents section in room 20 so that when the weather is hot there is no need of setting full blast the aircon in kids section

Barry, Lilian, Brian and Bella

Room Tip: I would recommend room 20 in the 3rd floor even if it is not a family but a group travelling togethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Barry C, thank you so much for such a kind review. We remember very well you and your wonderful family! The entire staff send their warm gratitude to all of you ,hoping we will have again the pleasure of welcoming at Tembo house hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    389
    159
    63
    23
See reviews for
260
335
65
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock north nz
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What a wonderful place to relax , enjoy the white sands of the beach out front, but step out side and you a right in the heart of stone town.its a great location, wonderful rooms, beautifully restored and wonderful old decor.
we had a room with a balcony facing the sea, wonderful views.
Great swimming pool,food was good but lots of choices nearby too.
Highly recommend this place as a place to stay in stonetown, one of the few places on the beach.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room overlooking the sea.most rooms get a sea view but the extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoEHavelocknorthnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Havelock,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban,za
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

the best location in stonetown is tembo hotel. the beach is awesome to swim in and just in front of the hotel. the room we got to stay in we virtually on the beach.
we met the owner and he was very helpful and friendly.
the breakfast was five star.
we loved this place and will return.

Room Tip: front room in front of the ocean. only two available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kochise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear kochise ,
Thank you for your review and recommendation, we look forward to your visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Lovely hotel right in Stone Town that sits right on the beach. Rooms were spacious and furniture all wooden carved. AC was adequate and kept room quite comfortable. Pool is beautiful. Restaurant is right on the beach, Staff is very helpful and gracious. They were helpful, even if it wasn't their responsibility. You can walk to Stone Town right out the front door. Would recommend that you get a guide to tour you through Stone Town. On Saturday nights, there is a wonderful food fair on the main square in Stone Town that was fun and really good food. You pick out what you want and the vendors cook it for you on the spot. I would recommend fresh pressed cane sugar lemonade and Zanzibar pizza-exquisite. Would definitley stay here again

Room Tip: the rooms facing the sea are wonderful. Several have balconies which are worth the extra fee. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Pgholson ,
We deeply appreciate your taking the time to post and are so glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon and thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Coming off summiting Kilimanjaro and completing a dive course in Zanzibar, my girlfriend and I were driven to Tembo House Hotel, Stonetown, for our final night in Tanzania. We had no idea what to expect as it had been booked by a third party. The streets leading to the hotel didn't really inspire great hope, but as we pulled into the recessed car entry we could see immediately we were in for a treat. An ornate fountain lies central to the vehicle drop off and the building facade sports a quality traditional design. Our driver seemed well known by the hotel team who had a really lovely working relationship with each other, being both respectful to us but still with a casual friendliness and an undercurrent of "I'm so lucky to be working here!". Everything about the interior is lavish in an olde worlde way. Vintage wooden chests and tables placed strategically through the common areas. Standing at the lobby entry you can see right through the hotel to the gorgeous beach beyond. There's also a beautiful rectangular swimming pool on the ground floor. The two bellhops laughed and joked as they carried our packs up three flights of stairs (there's no elevator - this is truly an old historic building, but in great shape). Our room was unlocked with a proper key, with solid wooden double doors and opened to a gorgeous bedroom - ornate four poster bed with decorative tiled inserts, beautiful antique marble table and chairs, antique dressing table and wardrobe, small fridge and tv, lush gold curtaining. The huge feature tho - double doors opening to an ornate private balcony overlooking the multi leveled hotel courtyards, al fresco breakfast dining and the most beautiful of beaches with a glassy sea filled with traditional skows and a number of larger modern boats floating further out. The bathroom, while dated a little in function, was perfectly serviceable but is so beautifully tiled I had to take photos. Funnily, they had a louvred wall vent in the bathroom so anyone talking in the hall could be clearly heard, which probably means they can hear you equally well. Overall tho, this place was really lovely and so were the staff. Five stars!

Room Tip: They said we had "The Princess Room". Not sure quite what that means, but standing on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100KiwiMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear KiwiMark ,
We are so glad that you enjoyed our staff's friendly nature and look forward to your next stay with us, Thank you for posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Tembo Hotel, This is the Most Ideal place to visit in Zanzibar.
Clean, Great Food, The Lovely View, Great Rooms...
We were 10 people, and got accomodated in a big Suite which had two big Rooms and a lovely Sitting Hall.
Very affordable prices, we stayed for 4 Days and 3 Nights and the holiday seemed shorter,
Really miss the hotel loved the services thanks to Mr. Yakub and Rahim the Holiday wouldnt have been so memorable without your guidances...
Hope to see you soon...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalmanKhan786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear SalmanKhan,
thank you so much for such a kind review. We remember very well you and your wonderful family.. We hope that you will be visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Tembo House for one night before heading further down the coast. The hotel is located right in the heart of Stone Town with all the sites and a good choice of restaurants on the door step. The beach by the hotel isn't private which does unfortunately mean that you have a lot of beach boys approaching you to sell things but a firm no is usually enough for them to leave you alone. The hotel itself has a destinct rustic Arabian feel and if I'm being honest, wasn't really our style. Everything was abit too rustic! It was however nice to stay somewhere different and experience the hussle and bussle of Stone Town - even though we were hasselled by locals every 5 seconds. Would we stay here again - no. But for those looking for a clean and tidy base in Stone Town that's a little bit different to your "normal" hotel this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRHJLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
633 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Property: Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Address: Forodhani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing