We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On The Ocean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Really enjoyed the stay here. Comfortable beds and nice air conditioning, VERY important in November! Great breakfast too!It was hot in Zanzibar but had a lot of fun anyway, shopped in the numerous little shops within walking distance of the hotel.REALLY cool places to spend your money here and not too pricey. Great balcony overlooking the pool, the pool was awesome also! Visited Freddie Mercurys Restaurant, he was born in Stonetown. Take the spice tour. Right on the ocean, would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you Robert for your review and recommendation.We deeply appreciate your taking the time to post and are so glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you " ahsante"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Having always wanted to go to Zanzibar I chose to stay at Tembo. Situated in a great position it affords friendly professional service. In such a tropical, busy place Tembo is like an oasis of good coffee, clean cool rooms, helpful staff, superb pool and every comfort to return to after experiencing the wonders of Zanzibar.. For a single person the front desk gentlemen are completely trustworthy and provide guides and drivers for all your needs. I personally thank them all for making me feel at home especially with a huge breakfast to start the day.

Room Tip: I am an oldie so I was in a lovely room on the ground floor, young people would enjoy the view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LettyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you so much LettyMelbourne for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property.

We are always happy when we hear that our guests enjoy the facilities and it really gives us strength to maintain our hospitality.


We are looking forward to see you onces again.

"karibu tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel provided us with a really nice end to my long weekend in Zanzibar. The hotel is set very close to the centre of Stone Town and is directly on a beach which leads to the main seafront area of Stone Town. Within five minutes walk lie the Forodhani Gardens where a beautiful fish market is held daily. Not a fan of fish? Try the chocolate and banana crepes!

The hotel itself is quite unusual, it's furnished with a variety of old and sometimes bizarre furniture and, true to its name, contains a lot of elephant paraphernalia.

The breakfast is not to be missed either with a huge variety of delicious breads and meats. They even provide you with tinfoil to take food away with you should you be in a rush!

Overall a great hotel. By far best one I stayed in during my time in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aws409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property. We are always happy when we hear that our guests enjoy the facilities and it really gives us strength to maintain our hospitality.

We hope that we may see you again one day back in Zanzibar, and hopefully back to Tembo House Hotel and Apartments

Karibu sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here on our last night in Zanzibar and absolutely loved it. The staff were so helpful, rooms were well-kept, clean, great showers, AC, flatscreen tv, good mozzie nets, comfy beds, and beautifully located right on the ocean. Such a great value, amazing restaurant, cool vibe, and felt very safe. I would highly recommend the Tembo House to anyone visiting Stonetown as all the major sightseeing spots are within walking distance.

*no alcohol on-site. Just walked 2 seconds down the beach to one of the restaurants or have a drink on your patio overlooking the ocean. Really not an issue in the slightest..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomHill44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you TomHill for the recommendation and great review and taking the time to share your experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to see you onces again.

"karibu tena"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This may be one of the most beautiful and charming hotels I've ever stayed at. The room was stunning - decorated so beautifully and uniquely with a huge, comfortable bed, a great balcony, stained glass, and a stunning view of the pool and ocean. The air conditioning was powerful and efficient - perfect for when it gets too hot and humid and you have to duck back to your room. The location is amazing - sit by the cafe and watch kids play on the beach, dhows and boats bob around, and other people watching. I especially loved the tile work in the bathroom. The staff was really friendly and helpful (although I thought it was strange they didn't have a map, until I realized how completely useless a map is in Stone Town).

Breakfast was delicious with a great variety; I could have sat there sipping juice and nibbling on the great food all day looking out at the sea.

My only issue is there were a lot of cockroaches in the bathroom at night. Big ones, little ones, they were everywhere. It was very buggy. That being said, it's an old building in an old city, and I'm really not sure how much anyone can do about that. When I travel to a place like Zanzibar, I'm expecting some bugs so they didn't horrify me too much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwanawadunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you JadieR for taking your precious time to write your review on our property, we are happy to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us .

Regarding cockroach issue we are actually furmigating the drainage system and we believe that might have forced them out of the drain. we are sorry for that as there was no such complains from other clients.

we hope to see onces again

"ahsante sana"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I experienced Tembo Hotel as a great place to stay with very friendly and helpful staff. Felt like a second home and with its conveniences of a pool and the ocean it's for me the best choice in Stone town with a great value for money.

Their meals were delicious and Mzale was very friendly, they arranged my transfer to the airport without an extra coin

I would recommend it to any one willing to visit stone town

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millermack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Millermack ,

Thank you so much for the nice review!!!
We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again!

Karibu sana and happy holidays!!!

Regards
Mzale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel with loads of character. Top 11 reasons to stay at tembo hotel.
1) best location> hotel is on beach close to museums and shops .
2) our room with the excellent view direct to the ocean.
3) beautifully decorated rooms with paintings and lovely furniture's.
4) staff very friendly and helpful specially young handsome manager.
5) beautiful restaurant in the hotel with excellent service and lovely food specially local foods.
6) free high speed Internet in the room and restaurant.
7) swimming pool is clean and cool.
8) lounge with beautiful view to relax and enjoy watching movie and some time reading my novels.
9) meticulous daily room cleaning.
10) beautiful toilet in my room with window with great view of the ocean.
11) breakfast with many varieties,with seasonal fruits and many choices of tea bags and my favourite green tea.

I loved this hotel so and so much , and beach i wanted to take it home with me.

I highly recommend tembo hotel as number one top hotel in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear charming princess,

Thank you for sharing your honeymoon with us. I think you have mentioned everything a potential guest needs to know.
We hope the rest of your honeymoon was fantastic and lovely.
Here's to a long happy life together.
Thank you
Young handsome Manager "Rahim"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#6 of 33 in Stone Town
330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
376 reviews
7.8 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Address: Forodhani Street | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £90 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing