We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our stay at Tembo House was delightful. The people were helpful and the rooms were great. We loved swimming in the pool and really enjoyed the gorgeous beach front location. The included breakfast was more than we expected and eating it on the shady patio looking out at the sea was heavenly.

Room Tip: Upstairs has the best view and you don't open your door onto the pool area but onto a lovely lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27BarbaraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you so much Barbara for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property.

We are always happy when we hear that our guests enjoy the facilities and it really gives us strength to maintain our hospitality.


We are looking forward to see you ones again.

"karibu tena

Regards.
Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

We travelled with a Family of 5 around Zanzibar and wanted to spend one more Night in Stonetown before leaving. In the beginning very worried after all beaches and nature to spend a night in "Town" Tembo Apartments was the absolute relief! We stayed in Mercury House in one of the Appartments, absolute great, clean and in the centre where you want to be! Will definately come back there for more nights!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bushracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you so much Bushracer .We deeply appreciate your taking the time to post and are so glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay in our Mercury Apartments.

Would be a great pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Tembo house hotel and Apartments.

"Ahsante na karibu tena"

Best regards,
Rahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We visited Tembo hotel for lunch. The hotel is superb and everyone we have ever spoken to has raved about it. Sadly the restaurant did not meet those expectations. Dont get me wrong. Its located on the beach with a superb view and the food is decent. But the service was awful. The waiters neither bothered to attend to us or respond to us. They took 30 minutes to get a coke despite numerous requests. When we wanted to order additional food they were like what the hell. In the end we cancelled our order except for the one pasta dish the served (which was pretty good) and left to have lunch elsewhere. We have never met a worse bunch of waiters in our life.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daven80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Daven80 ,
Thank you for review on our property.
Its true that happen as I remember you reported the incident to me on the spot and I had a meeting with waiters after service, the waiter who attended you was in pressure of groups order which was suppose to leave to airport and he had been to the service counter for the food which wasn't ready at that time but we accept that his respond to you wasn't good. Please accept our apology will make sure that it wont happen again.

we are looking forward to see you once again.

best regards
Rahim,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We took the three adult daughters, one fiancée and one friend (7) total to Stone Town.
We rented three rooms total for three days. The hotel is beautiful and well kept. Big staff, great food too.
The hotel has very interesting history.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatigoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear LatigoJoe ,

Thank you so much for such a kind review. We remember very well you and your wonderful family! The entire staff send their warm gratitude to all of you ,hoping we will have again the pleasure of welcoming at Tembo house hotel and Apartments.

"karibu tena na ahsante"

Best regards.
Rahim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

At a very good location, right on the beach with the locals enjoying the sun and having fun, while at night you can hear the sound of the Indian ocean. It is also in the heart of Stone town. We stayed on the first floor in a twin room with a balcony. The rooms have AC and they were clean. Breakfast was good although the buffet had limited choices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear value guest,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.We deeply appreciate taking the time to post and are glad you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

We are looking forward to hosting you again.

"ahsante na karibu tena"

Warm regards.
Rahim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great location right on the beach, but such lack of concern from staff. I first stayed here 10 years ago and it's exactly the same now. Wait staff in the dining areas don't care. Asked for a reasonable late checkout and was told no. It's loud n noisy from lack of sound proofing. No alcohol makes it doubly unlikely I'll ever stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocketeer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you Mr. Rocketeer for taking your precious time on our hotel review.
We notice that there was a short fall from our waiters respond to the customers and we had a meeting with them and now services meets customers demands.
Regarding late check out we are very sorry for that as there was a group which checked in very early on that day but rest of the facilities was free at your exposure.

We are looking forward to see you once again.
"ahsante na karibu tena"

Regards
management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had dinner at the Tembo House Hotel, it was an experience. Your sitting right on the beach with the locals enjoying the sun and having fun. As the security is keeping a watchful eye to make sure that your time there is a pleasant one. The food was good. It wasn't over priced
The staff was very helpful, you can watch the sunset while you eat.
A nice experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear mark1services ,

Thanks a lot for your review that makes us really happy and encourages all staffs and myself to do all our best .
Would be a great pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Tembo house hotel
On behalf of the hotel I wish you all the best and Happy New Year.

ahsante sana,

Best regards,
Rahim.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#9 of 33 in Stone Town
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
562 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Address: Forodhani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £91 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing