We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WOOOW EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A WOOOW EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Well, it was our first stay in Tembo Hotel. We received an excellent customer service; everything was fantastic. We are looking forward for December holiday. Thanks for making our stay wonderful. Please, additional of an entertainment (beach/sports or live/traditional) would add on hotel experience.

Noel & Rose

Room Tip: Rooms with Ocean view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Noel,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor, which we believe that it will give the clear picture to who ever visit the site and looking forward to stay with us.

We are extremely happy to hear that your stay with us was marvelous and we will maintain our hospitality to all our future customers.

Looking forward to host you once again

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"
Best regards
Management and staff of Tembo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    388
    158
    63
    23
See reviews for
259
335
65
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is my second stay at this beautiful, historical hotel. The first stay was excellent, so this time I brought a group of 6 with me. Everyone had comfortable rooms and were impressed with the location and the service. One of our group became ill and the General Manager, Mr Abdulaziz, went out of his way to make sure she was well taken care of. This hotel is in the best location in Stonetown, right on the beachfront. From here, you can arrange a boat ride directly across to Prison Island to see the endangered Aldabra tortoises. I'm already looking forward to my next stay in September.

Room Tip: Ask with a room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potti2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear value guest

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing your review on our property.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments.

It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all future customers.

We are looking forward to hosting you again,

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards
G.Manager Mr.Abdulaziz and rest of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel is really nice, with swimming pool and beach. The biggest advantage is its location, just 5 minutes walk to the night market, 10 minutes to the port. The only reason for not giving a 5-star rating is the breakfast, which was quite below average.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathuska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello dear Kathuska ,

Thank you for taking your precious time in sharing your experience with us, we appreciate for your comments and its really helpful.

We notice that and we rectify the short falls and we promise to upgrade service. We will try our level best to make sure that we meet clients satisfaction.


We are looking forward to see you once again.

Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Tembo House Hotel is not only a beautiful, atmospheric hotel with a fabulous location right on the water - the staff are immensely helpful. I came down with a severe bout of food poisoning on my last night in Zanzibar and ended up in a hospital in the middle of the night. The next morning, the hotel manager came to the hospital to visit me. He then booked me a flight back to Dar es Salaam so I could catch my evening flight back home, picked me up from the hospital, provided me with lunch and even drove me personally to the airport. If it weren't for the staff at Tembo I wouldn't be back home right now. As they wouldn't accept even an extra night's charge for the room (as I stayed much later than check-out time), I can only give them the highest rating here on Tripadvisor. A sincere thanks to the staff and management at Tembo for their help that exceeded all expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, General Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear value guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing classic review on our property and service given to you during your stay we us. What ever we have done during that short period is our duty to ensure you are comfort stay with us, we hope that you are fully recovered by now.

Hope to see you once again with your family members,
"ahsante sana na karibu tena"

Best regards
management and staff of tembo house hotel and apartments
reservations@tembohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I really wanted to love this hotel: it's look, it's history, the great atmosphere and decorations and pool and location. But I couldn't. The first room I had (Room 2) had no hot water and little water pressure: I discovered this the morning after checking in when I was woken up with a phone call from management telling me someone was coming to fix the heater: they knew it was broken when they checked me in but they put me in the room anyway. Great. On the plus side, Room 2 was a really nice looking room.

My next room - Room 12 - was also nice and had hot water. What it did not have was a working remote control for the A/C. When they showed me the room, they solved this problem by removing the batteries from the remote and then reloading the same batteries back in. This actually worked ... long enough to turn on the A/C at least, but not long enough to try and adjust the temperature 5 minutes later. The mosquito nets on the beds were a good idea ... too bad about the holes in the netting, which defeated the idea. The bathroom was large but something was leaking: the floor was constantly wet.

I will say the building is beautiful but seemed sadly underused: a beautiful 2nd floor lounge at the back of the hotel overlooking the ocean would have been a great tea room (or bar if the place ever gets a liquor licence) but there is nothing served there and was empty every time I went up. Being on the ocean is great, except the harbour is polluted and they don't recommend you swim in it (although many locals d). I waded in (I had never been in the Indian Ocean and at least wanted to say I was in) but it was not the best smelling ocean I have been in (the water on the other side of the peninsula seemed cleaner).

The pool was great, and the sun lounge areas were enjoyable, although why they have not connected the three areas rather than keeping them all separate I do not know.

There is free WiFi ... as long as you are sitting in the front lobby. When I complained that the WiFi did not work in my room, they pointed out that they only had one router, in the lobby. they then suggested, "Maybe tomorrow." Not sure wha =t they really thought was going to happen tomorrow that would suddenly make their lone router penetrate the very thick walls of the hotel. Needless to say, it still only worked in the lobby when tomorrow rolled around.

On the plus side, the staff and very friendly and helpful when they could be, the food for breakfast was great, and the gelato out back was perfect on a hot day. And for getting around Stone Town, the location is very convenient.

Room Tip: Room soverloking the pool seemed a bit nicer and had a balcony (neither of my rooms did) ... althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHP_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear value guest,


Thank you for taking your precious time in sharing your experience with us, we appreciate for your comments and its really helpful.

We are apologize for shower pressure which was caused due to technical problem with the pressure pump which is already replaced.

Looking forward to see you once again,

"ahsante sana na karibu tena"

Best Regards
Management,
reservations@tembohotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Tembo House is a cosy hotel in the middle of Stone Town, down to the beach. It has a good atmosphere, nice and large rooms with AC and a very polite staff. Its always nice to stay here, we have been here 3 times, and recommend the place very much.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansVictorKoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Hans,
Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing your review on our property.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments.

It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all our customers.

We are looking forward to see you again,
"ahsante na karibu tena"

Best regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veazie, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in Tembo Hotel for one night when we were in Stone Town. The front staff was very nice and our room was beautiful, as it was right on the beach overlooking the water. Our room had working air conditioning and hot showers. We went for a swim in the pool since our guidebook advised against swimming in the ocean here (although people were), and we found the pool to be very refreshing.

When we first got to our room, I noticed some ants on the wall. They were gone by the end of the day, and they didn't eat our food :).

We spent a lot of time relaxing on the lounge chairs on the beach which was very nice. There were many dhows on the water right in front of the hotel that could take you to the outlying islands. We hired one to take us to Prison Island for $50.

Breakfast in the morning was good. There was juice, coffee, cereal, pastries, and hot dishes.

We traveled to Tanzania in January/February 2014.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank swhitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Jambo swhitty ,

Thank you for taking your precious time in sharing your experience with us, we appreciate for your comments and its really helpful.

We notice that and we rectify the short falls and we promise to upgrade the cleanness and hygiene through out the hotel premises.

We looking forward to see you once again.
"karibu tena"

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#8 of 33 in Stone Town
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#2 of 33 in Stone Town
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
629 reviews
31.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Property: Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Address: Forodhani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#8 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing