We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Tembo's location is great, a walkable distance to all the places you would want to go to in stone town. The rooms were nice and clean, and the staff were quick to help if one needed something. It is also one of the two hotels in stone town with its own swimming pool, which is great if you are not a fan of swimming in the not so clean water.
The beach is also nice for sun bathing.
The restaurant menu isnt so great but there are quite afew restaurants within few minutes walking distance from the hotel.
My one major and possibly only complaint is with the house keepers/hotel workers. They were very good at interrupting ones sleep, even after putting a "Do not disturb" sign on the door. I had 4 people knock on the door in a space 30 minutes, both early morning and at night for the three nights we stayed. Even AFTER asking the front desk to let the house helps to PLEASE not knock on my door, it still didnt stop. For someone who was trying to get some rest, it was quite irritating.
Other than that, it was a nice hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doreenfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear value guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time in sharing your experience with us, we appreciate for your comments and its really helpful.

We notice that and we rectify the short falls and we promise to upgrade service. We will try our level best to make sure that we meet clients satisfaction.


We are looking forward to see you once again.

Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

My mother, sister, husband, 3-year-old daughter and I stayed at the Tembo House Hotel for 3 nights in May 2014. We were immediately impressed with the customer service, the staff even offered free umbrella rentals when we were heading out on a rainy afternoon. We were blown away by the beautiful decor details (antique furniture and art hidden in every nook and cranny). The building is stunning and has roof top areas for sun bathing. The pool had a lovely kiddie section partitioned off that was less than 2 feet deep, which was amazing for my daughter!
The beach front was lined with trees to provide shade and kept clean but, of course, not as pristine as the areas outside of Stone Town. There was kind of a lot of seaweed and the water is not clear, but it was still fun to swim in our opinion. We knew this was not a picturesque Zanzibar beach going into the trip but we were drawn to this location as Stone Town was the main purpose of our trip. Lots of locals walk by after work and school which we enjoyed as we are social people and like "people watching" but if you want seclusion this is not a good beach for you. Changuu Island is a 25min boat ride away and definitely worth a visit!!! The boats for hire are located right on the beach front and charged us 10 TSH/person (our 3-year-old was free). Opaque turquoise waters, tons of shells, a restaurant, and a sanctuary for giant tortoises that you can feed and touch. Amazing!

As far as food, The Tembo Hotel had a large selection of yummy ice cream and some cakes (FYI cakes are pretty dry, which is typical for Tanzania, don't order if this is not your thing). The dinner food was overpriced for the quality and we found that the bar/restaurant located on the beach directly next door had far better ambiance and food at similar prices. This leads me to point out that The Tembo Hotel does not serve alcohol whatsoever. As I said, the bar next door had a wide selection of beers and mixed drinks (fabulous Mojitos!) but it is good to know that Tembo Hotel is strictly Muslim and thus serves no alcohol.

My one complaint is: The "family apartments" are NOT located within the same building as the Tembo Hotel, they are actually located across the street in The Mercury House where legendary Freddie Mercury lived as a child. We were NOT told this ahead of time, we were lead to believe that we were staying in a beach front hotel. Gorgeous rooms, great rates and literally one minute walk away from Tembo House BUT it is pretty awkward walking across the bustling city street to the pool and beach as Zanzibar is very conservative so one must cover their swimsuit attire well. Walking across the street one must also deal with many locals approaching you to buy their wares which can be extremely annoying when you are just waking and simply walking to the hotel for the free breakfast! If I stay again, I think I would prefer getting two adjoining rooms actually located within Tembo House instead of getting the Family Apartments at Mercury House.

Room Tip: The "apartments" are NOT located within the same building as the Tembo Hotel, they are act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Hello Mandy,

Thank you for taking your precious time in sharing your experience with us, we appreciate for your comments and its really helpful.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments,It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all future customers.

We notice that and we rectify the short falls,we will try our level best to make sure that we meet clients satisfaction.


We are looking forward to see you once again.

Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Great location and exotic feel about it. Breakfasts need improvement and just a few minor issues during stay eg toilet paper ran out and asked for more and did not come.
Will have competition when Hilton opens next door. We went on a package incl a spice tour(poor) and transfers so not sure of room costs we paid but seems a bit over priced. Good but can do better.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you John for taking your precious time in sharing your experience with us, we appreciate for your comments and its really helpful.

We notice that and we rectify the short falls and we promise to upgrade service and about the package please check with your tour operator as we don't know anything about it.

We are looking forward to see you once again.

Regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Tembo House is in what has to be one of the best locations in Stone Town, both right on the beach and almost at the tip of town. The well-furnished rooms, swimming pool and architecture finish to make it a very attractive place.
The only drawback is the price, which, for our room with a small pool view, seemed a bit high to us, considering other places we had seen on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThierryDelahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear value guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing your review on our property.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments.

It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all future customers.

We are looking forward to hosting you again,

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

we stayed just one night at off- season and found out that it is in a most convenient location , very clean , helpful staff and very good service and leaving us with a desire to stay longer or come back.

Room Tip: try always for sea view, Poolside rooms could be a bit noisy if you try to rest at noon .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear value guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing your review on our property.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments.

It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all future customers.

We are looking forward to hosting you again,

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Little expensive compared to other town hotels but worth it.

Location - right on the beach and near to shopping n restaurants area.

Rooms are clean with mosquito nets but though they spray your room, still you will have few mosquitoes...
Tv with all good channels provided in each room.

For elderly ppl i would recommend to chose rooms which are on ground floor as the upper floors have a very narrow n steep staircase.

Breakfast is basic but no complains.

All staff are very cooperative n helpful.

Pool - is good n clean.

No alcohol is served in this hotel. Taxis are available 24/7 outside the hotel.

Only concern was tht the beds are too high to reach....for elders becomes slight difficult.

But overall worth it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Deepak2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear value guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing review on our property.

We are happy to hear that almost everything was fine and we will try our level best to make sure that we meet clients satisfaction.

we are looking forward to see you once again.

"karbu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards,
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel for something approaching 10 times. On each occasion the experience just gets better. The standard is always high and the hotel is maintained to a high standard. The facilities and the rooms can not be faulted. The location is wonderful, leave through the back door and you are on the beach, leave through the front door and you are in the heart of Stone town.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would not consider staying anywhere else in Stone town.

Room Tip: No elevators available but plenty of rooms on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muscatsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tembo House H, Guest Relations Manager at Tembo House Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear value guest,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time on writing your review on our property.

We are more than happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service and hotel environments.

It really gives us moral to maintain our hospitality to our all future customers.

We are looking forward to hosting you again,

"karibu tena na ahsante sana"

Best regards
Management
reservations@tembohotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Town
0.4 mi away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.1 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maru Maru Hotel
Maru Maru Hotel
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
583 reviews
3.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Zanzibar Mbweni Ruins
7.8 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 174 in Zanzibar Island
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo House Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo House Hotel & Apartments

Address: Forodhani Street | Shangani, Stone Town, Zanzibar City 3974, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stone Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#12 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £87 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tembo House Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique experience awaits at the Tembo House&Apartments.Tembo House Hotel&Apartments is situated at the heart of Zanzibar Stone Town by the picturesque seafront.The magnificent main Building has had various functions over the past centuries. Between 1834 and 1884 it served as the American Consulate in Zanzibar then passed on to become the trading offices of Cowasjee Dinshaw & Partners. Their headquarters was in Aden(what now is know as the Port of Suez), and with trading posts notably in most of the British Protectorate areas, it became the largest trading Company in the India Ocean. To this day , the name of Cowasjee Dinwash & Partners is still visible at the main entrance of Tembo House Hotel.Tembo House Hotel has seen a few celebrities pass through is doors during the consulate era, the Conwasjee Dinwash era and as a Hotel. Mahatma Ghandi, stayed here a few weeks with the Dinwash family on his journey back to India from South Africa 1930. As a rising new star in the British, and the world music scene, Freddie Mercury and his family used to retreat to what is now ”Marashi” apartment whenever they came back to Zanzibar on holidays.Next to Tembo House Hotel is also what used to be the British Consulate, where in 1874, Dr. Livingstone’s body was brought before embarking on its long journey back to England.A stone throw away is the Beit-al-Ajaib of House of wonders. This landmark building, is the largest and by far, the tallest building in Stone Town. Flanking the Beit-al-Ajaib is the Old Fort on one side and the Palace Museum on the other side.In other words, Tembo House Hotel is situated on a prime location, you need not go far to find the shops, the restaurants and the Historical sites that Zanzibar Stone Town has on offer.Zanzibar port is just 5 minutes drive away and the Zanzibar International Airport a further 15 minutes away.Welcome home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tembo House Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembo Hotel Stone Town
Tembo Stone Town
Tembo House Hotel & Apartments Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing