We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Africa House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Great fun, great food, beautiful view. The owners are saints. Very accommodating. Located right in the heart of Stone Town. Perfect for watching the sun set and have a few drinks!!! The service was excellent and we were treated like royalty for the duration of our stay by the owner/manager. The drinks are reasonably priced and bar staff efficient, but the setting... overlooking the Indian Ocean (in our case just before sunset) is magnificent. This place has not changed since it was an old colonial officers' club.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazmataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

Didnt stay in Africa house, but did come twice for a drink with fellow travellers. Terrace is great, overlooking to the sea which adds an atmosphere to the ambient. They offer a huge selection of cocktails priced for tourists. It might happen that bar runs out of many liquors.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ninnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We didn't mind that the drinks were ridiculously expensive because we had got a fantstic view of the sunset- until

a. some awful eurotrash music kept coming on so loud and tastless. some gentle african music or ibizian chill out would have been so much better.

b. some rather rude fellow tourists kept coming up and blocking it. The staff did nothing to stop them blocking our view but instead tried to push us to buy more food and drinks.

The conversion rate fromtanzanian shilling to dollars was terrible - but we had no choice but to pay that way as the waitress claimed their card machine was out of action. strange that they said they didnt have anoher one working in the entire hotel. i wonder how hotel guests paid for things?

nice sunset, terrible service and atmosphere. we couldnt wait to get out of there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Zenobia79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Was let down by another (highly rated) hotel in the area so took the advice of a local businessman
and went to Africa House. They were very accomodating and although late at night offered us the most perfect room for our honeymoon.The service was excellent and we were treated like royalty for the duration of our stay with the owner/manager taking it upon herself to ensure our special holiday would be remembered with affection.Thank you so much.

Room Tip: The bar is a little noisy but hey you`re on holiday!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Didn't stay here but went for sunset drinks as it is apparently 'the place' to go. We reserved a table during the day as it was my birthday and knew it would be busy. When we arrived at 5pm they had no record and someone else was sat on that table who had also 'booked' it! They had no wine left and we gave up on the cocktails as service was so slow and hopeless. Had a beer each and left. Much better places to watch sunset - Serena Inn or Travellers Cafe much nicer, or even just down on the beach!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank RosieB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We went to Africa house hotel to catch the sunset as had read in many guidebooks that it is famous for the sunset. I am not even sure why as it seems to be clouded by some large palm trees. We had one drink then left the chaos! Was packed to the brim and overrun by large tour goups. Staff seemed stressed and unable to manage the amount of people in there. When we wnet to the bar to pay up there were about 10 members of staff trying to get drinks, get bills, take money and we waited over 5 minutes just to pay. We ended up on the road by the harbour which was much quieter and the following night went to serena hotel which was much better and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our newly revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

For their price of $165 per night we were expecting something superb - instead we got a smelly room, an airconditioner that didn't work (and apparently there is only one remote in the hotel as all the others have been stolen !), plumbing incredibly noisy, no hot water then no water at all, noisy room, terrible amenities ( luckily we brought our own soap and shampoo ) no space for suitcases etc etc. This has got to be my worst hotel experience in recent years. We were eventually given another room but the replacement wasn't much better.

And the breakfast was also shocking - overheated food, coffee like cat's pee and the staff shouting at each other during our entire meal. A thoroughly awful experience.

It is such a tragedy that this magnificent building has been so neglected and that the Hotel Management just don't seem to care. With luck some far sighted entrepreneur will buy the building and restore it to it's former glory - until then I suggest you stay away !

The only final redeeming feature was that our bill was reduced to $100 as a result of our complaints - $15 would have been more appropriate.

Room Tip: Don't go there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 February 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our newly revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#28 of 33 in Stone Town
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Asmini Palace Hotel
Asmini Palace Hotel
#26 of 33 in Stone Town
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Stonetown Boutique
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#24 of 33 in Stone Town
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Africa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range: £62 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Africa House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African House hotel is located within the prime and historic Stone Town overlooking the open sea and gardens and minutes from the beach and vibrant Shangani square featuring some of the best night life on the Island. The accommodation includes 15 air-conditioned rooms, the Sunset Bar, The Sunset Lounge, a Turkish restaurant (yet to Open), Trade winds Restaurant (For Indian / Chinese / Continental / Italian and local dishes). A historical Library, a large conference hall, Hotel shop outlets and sea facing Shisha decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing