We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Africa House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Africa House Hotel as part of our honeymoon in December 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The colonial style is evident throughout the entire hotel and is has been beautifully restored. We recommend taking a walk around the complex and looking at the historic photos and decor.

We had a room in the top corner of the complex which was serviced daily. It was very clean, airconditioned and had really nice furnishings. The location is wonderful to explore Stone Town and the staff in the lobby can organise any tours you want to do. The staff and manager were very friendly and we often went for lunch at the ocean-front Baboo's Cafe across the road. The cool drinks were delicious. They really made us feel welcome and special.

We loved having drinks at the hotel’s Sunset Bar, which has a very strong reputation as the place to be at sunset and therefore it does get pretty busy. Each day we arrived about 5pm and got excellent seats. It is a pity that some people complained about the service because any busy bar at its peak time can struggle. The staff try their hardest to serve drinks as quickly as possible. Our advice is to be patient and wait until the crowds leave just after sunset because because that’s when we enjoyed the bar the most. Candles are placed on tables, the music is turned down and the service is excellent. It has a wonderful atmosphere.

The lounge adjacent the Sunset Bar is also very cool and twice we finished off the night with some flavoured shisha. There are comfortable cushions so it is very relaxing.

We recommend the Africa House Hotel if you are looking for a small hotel with a limited number of rooms that offers the colonial charm from the last century.

Thank you to the staff for being so helpful and making our stay memorable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_and_Chantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    72
    32
    27
    49
See reviews for
37
94
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I recently stayed in Africa House having stayed 4 nights in the Dhow Palace (across the road) by comparison the room was $50 more expensive, smaller rooms, smaller beds, poor service. I asked to have my window fixed or move rooms as the window would not lock shut & kept swinging & banging all day & they agreed to look at it & did nothing until I brought them up 2 hrs later to show them, then I got moved to a smaller room. Breakfast (unlike other places) is not served till 8am so if you want to do any excursions- go hungry! Management in hotel and Bar are disinterested - I would not recommend staying here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gf168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

It is such a shame that this place is so poorly managed!! It has such potential!!!!!

One of the best places for a sunset drinks in all of Stone town!! But the service was shocking!!! Very disinterested staff, that didn't clear the tables, smile or ask you if you wanted a drink!.

I would only recommend going for one drink while the sun sets and then go. We moved upstairs for dinner and should have been smart enough to figure out that the same service would exist one floor up! It did.

Food was average!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank alipaige11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stone Town hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Arguably Stone Towns best location for sunset drinks and dinner with an outstanding view to the west, however the service was appalling - tourists turn up based on it's reputation and leave disappointed. We were there in December and went back twice hoping the poor service was an anomaly. Repeatedly we had to go to the bar to order drinks as the bar staff gathered together behind the bar chatting rather than serving customers (not that there were many staff) - we waited almost an hour in the heat to be served when the bar was less than a quarter full, they ran out of food for sunset nibbles each day, yet we could get the same food at the Tradewinds restaurant upstairs 30 minutes later - go figure. The place needs some leadership and a decent manager to give the staff a kick in the pants, or just get some staff who want to serve customers. There are other bars / restaurants that want customers much more than this place. Thankfully we had Maru Maru to fall back on...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottschroeder0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar es salaam
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I recently stayed at africa house on a business trip to zanzibar,i was made most welcome from start to finish.The hotel is old but most charming and the management do there best to keep clean and comfortable.The rooms are basic but in traditional zanzibar style and everything worked nicely adding to the comfort.The bar area views are exeptional looking over the indian ocean,the menu was varied and the food excellent,and i found it very good value for money.Food was prepared for me even after the kitchen had officially closed,again adding to the feel good factor i enjoyed there.The hotel location is also perfect for the local beach and the historic stone town

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartDarEsSalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, in a fantastic location, that has the worst management I have seen in my life. I have stayed in many places, some luxurious, some very humble, and never had the impression that the staff could not care less about good service, and management that is practically non existent. We experienced pretty much most problems mentioned by other reviewers, terrible breakfast, water outages for whole days, poor maintenance of the room, lack of towels, no servicing of the room... you name it.

Some staff tried to help, e.g. the cleaning staff was nice as was the cook, but there is little a cook can do when the hotel one day is out of coffee, only to be out of milk the next day. Similarly, cleaning staff cant help it if the hotel does not seem to have more than one set of towels per room.

It is a shame that such a beautiful place is being mismanaged the way it is. I would recommend anybody to go have a look at the hotel, enjoy the sunset (but reviews are correct, service is poor) but do not stay in this hotel until management has changed, this one is sadly beyond help.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Recently I have just got back from my holiday in Zanzibar. My two week trip was divided between Stone Town and the beach. In Stone Town I have stayed in a really nice,colonial style hotel: Africa Hotel. The place is charming with a really nice view on the ocean from one of its restaurants. During my stay I was welcomed with a very positive atmosphere and my evenings were enriched with beautiful sunsets. I surely recommend this place and I am surely going to come there soon,so please keep for me my sea-view room. Thank you Africa House team for letting me to take a little glimpse at African culture and life from your hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oqlarnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#22 of 33 in Stone Town
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tausi Palace Hotel
Tausi Palace Hotel
#20 of 33 in Stone Town
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#29 of 33 in Stone Town
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Africa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Property: The Africa House Hotel
Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Africa House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African House hotel is located within the prime and historic Stone Town overlooking the open sea and gardens and minutes from the beach and vibrant Shangani square featuring some of the best night life on the Island. The accomodation includes 15 airconditioned rooms, the Sunset Bar, The Sunset Lounge, a Turkish restaurant (yet to Open), Trade winds Restaurant (For Indian / Chinese / Continental / Italian and local dishes). A historical Library, a large conference hall, Hotel shop outlets and sea facing Shisha decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Jovago.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing