We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid eating at the bar at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Africa House Hotel
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Stone Town
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Avoid eating at the bar at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Nice for the view and a drink from the bar but don't eat here.
We were told the restaurant was closed and offered the same menu.
It all looked great but after waiting over one hour , with the waiter returning numerous times to check on our order, the food arrived. The orders were mixed up, the portions were minuscule , and the food was terrible. Items as detailed in the menu, eg chapatti for the curry was missing. I had ordered fish curry and got chicken. I ate it anyway as I didn't want to wait for another hour for my correct dish. We complained but weren't offered a discount or alternative. The food was overpriced for the serving size.
Overall, a very bad experience and to be avoided. Certainly go to look at the old building and artefacts there and enjoy a drink with the view, but don't order any food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lankalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    72
    31
    27
    49
See reviews for
37
94
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

A recent visit with a small group of professionals was an unforgettable (in the worst sense) experience. First, the food in the restaurant was very poor quality and overpriced. They seemed to be out of several items, and substituted other items without informing the person who had ordered the particular item. Then there was a grand fandango trying to pay with a credit card, and eventually we gave up when it became apparent they were giving us the runaround to discourage that form of payment. The worst, however, was when the nasty restaurant manager and a couple of other staff chased us through the evening streets, accusing us of not paying the bill in full - accusing us of being 30,000 TZS ($19) short, after they had counted our cash payment (in itself an amusing exercise to watch) and advising us that we were free to go. In fact, we had paid the bill in full and had left an overly (considering the service, food etc) tip of about that same amount. I had counted the money personally several times and am 110% certain that the amount was correct. After arguing awhile and being accused of being thieves, threatened with the police etc, we paid the demanded sum just to make this nightmare go away.

Long story short - AVOID THIS TOURIST TRAP \ RIP-OFF JOINT LIKE THE PLAGUE

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stone Town hotels

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

This place should be the scene of a fly on the wall documentary it is so laughable. The building is beautiful and has history, it must have, guides freely walk in with their entourage take picks and walk out, (that's the kind of security you get), but it is run into the ground and it isn't going to get any better soon. I could go on and on. Don't do it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DameInDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is, by far, one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. The service was deplorable, the manager rude and hostile, the food awful, the floors filthy...need I continue? Not to mention the high cost for such an awful hotel. While the sunset bar was a good place to watch the sunset, that is the ONLY reason you should ever step foot in this hotel. Avoid at all costs. I will NOT be going back and will be recommending to everyone I know NOT to stay here...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctd1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
179 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This review is just about the sunset bar. We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and enjoyed it. This time we were staying elsewhere and decided to go to watch the sunset in their famous sunset bar. The service was absolutely terrible. Shame - but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Africa House Hotel , We urge you to try our recently revamped services and give us another chance to showcase our hospitality & services.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Having read various reports on trip adviser, from great to terrible, but having heard good reports (I live in Dar Es Salaam) I thought I'd give it a try for a one night stay this week. First, it's a great location. Second, compared to say the Serena, it's very affordable (I've stayed at Serena and it's good but you need the budget to afford it). My room was OK, not luxury but very 'Swahili' , clean and with hot water, always good. Staff were great - very welcoming and helped me when I wanted Internet ( gave me a 'dongle' for Zantel, no requirement to sign my life away to 'borrow' the kit). The bar, on the first floor was fun, reasonably busy and overlooking the ocean - what more could you want. I was being lazy so didn't want to explore Stone Town and decided to eat in the restaurant - food was ok, not great but fine. It was quiet, so I guess if there had been more of a 'buzz' I may have been happier. Breakfast was good - fresh bread and honey great, scrambled egg's not so great but OK. The manager was training a new member of staff and showed that he cared and wanted them to give good service. Overall, I will stay again - the price/value equation worked for me. If you want and can afford luxury, go somewhere else, but if you want a good experience, good service and want to stay in the middle of Stone Town I'd give it a thumbs up!

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NikBTanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Africa House Hotel as part of our honeymoon in December 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The colonial style is evident throughout the entire hotel and is has been beautifully restored. We recommend taking a walk around the complex and looking at the historic photos and decor.

We had a room in the top corner of the complex which was serviced daily. It was very clean, airconditioned and had really nice furnishings. The location is wonderful to explore Stone Town and the staff in the lobby can organise any tours you want to do. The staff and manager were very friendly and we often went for lunch at the ocean-front Baboo's Cafe across the road. The cool drinks were delicious. They really made us feel welcome and special.

We loved having drinks at the hotel’s Sunset Bar, which has a very strong reputation as the place to be at sunset and therefore it does get pretty busy. Each day we arrived about 5pm and got excellent seats. It is a pity that some people complained about the service because any busy bar at its peak time can struggle. The staff try their hardest to serve drinks as quickly as possible. Our advice is to be patient and wait until the crowds leave just after sunset because because that’s when we enjoyed the bar the most. Candles are placed on tables, the music is turned down and the service is excellent. It has a wonderful atmosphere.

The lounge adjacent the Sunset Bar is also very cool and twice we finished off the night with some flavoured shisha. There are comfortable cushions so it is very relaxing.

We recommend the Africa House Hotel if you are looking for a small hotel with a limited number of rooms that offers the colonial charm from the last century.

Thank you to the staff for being so helpful and making our stay memorable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_and_Chantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, High Class Hotels Ltd at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are glade you enjoyed our hospitality & services.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Your Host,
Team Africa House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Zanzibar Hotel
Zanzibar Hotel
#23 of 33 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tausi Palace Hotel
Tausi Palace Hotel
#20 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forodhani Park Hotel
Forodhani Park Hotel
#19 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dhow Palace Hotel
Dhow Palace Hotel
#13 of 33 in Stone Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Johari
Al Johari
#29 of 33 in Stone Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Africa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Property: The Africa House Hotel
Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Africa House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The African House hotel is located within the prime and historic Stone Town overlooking the open sea and gardens and minutes from the beach and vibrant Shangani square featuring some of the best night life on the Island. The accomodation includes 15 airconditioned rooms, the Sunset Bar, The Sunset Lounge, a Turkish restaurant (yet to Open), Trade winds Restaurant (For Indian / Chinese / Continental / Italian and local dishes). A historical Library, a large conference hall, Hotel shop outlets and sea facing Shisha decks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar Island/Stone Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing